"I personally hope Kerry get beaten"..............

I dont give a hoot about Spillane, even though he is one of the greatest players I enjoyed watching him and admire his coaching but his TV appearances is made to wind you up. McGuigan is similar as he he was a great player and togged out for Tyrone when they struggled. But its a cheap shot and makes him look a very tiny minded individual which Im sure hes not. I guess what context was the question asked.
One point Brolly brought up and basically said Kerry people hate the North. That was a cheap shot becuse in Kerry it is far from the truth...

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 28/08/2009 19:19:14    408075

I was the person who instigated the thread and to be honest how on earth anybody can claim that they would love to see another team "stuffed" or "hammered" and then come on and say that they have nothing against the players of that team.

With regard to the Miskella incident and particularly the passage you highlight from my perspective that piece was not part of the same article I read and therefore it would appear you yourself took that from some another news article.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/08/2009 19:19:58    408077

Spillane is petty (even O' Rourke believes so) so he deserves all that he gets in this regard. No sympathy for him. Couldn't happen to a nicer bloke!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 28/08/2009 19:32:29    408094

Squid, it was part of the same article in the Irish News today. In relation to Kerry getting hammered I think it was more a jag at Spillane than Kerry as a whole. Lets be honest Spillane has had the run of it for too long and its about time he got a little back

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 28/08/2009 19:34:07    408099

Omaghredhand maybe Frank McGuigan should be keeping his powder dry for a time in the future when Tyrone next meet Kerry on the football field.

Unfinished business and all that......

It's only my opinion though.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/08/2009 19:58:07    408127

Frank Mc Guigan is a Tyrone legend and can say what he likes because he is speaking as a Tyrone man,not a paid commentator who is supposed to be impartial.I personally wish all the remaining teams the best of luck but as Spillane has been knocking this team for years and Frank has had 3 sons involved the whole thing has probably become a bit more personal to him.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 28/08/2009 20:27:13    408153

squidword
County: Louth

Cant meet this decade again that is his point .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/08/2009 20:36:21    408157

Kerry people have an arrogance that is galling. I remember back in 82 they had teeshirts printed before the All Ireland about the great 5 in a row and there was even a daft song written about it too but a certain Mr Darby wiped the smile off their faces which to the day I die will be a cherished memory. Frank McGuigan is right that it really bugs Kerry that they have not beaten Tyrone in the 3 big championship battles this decade and even if they go on to win the all Ireland this year it will still stick in their throat that they can't beat Tyrone.

REDROM (Offaly) - Posts: 208 - 28/08/2009 20:58:00    408167

Looks very like we have another assignment for George Mitchell on our hands.

Best of luck to all concerned.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/08/2009 21:09:09    408173

Look for Kerry all that counts is All Irelands and if Tyrone beat us ya that annoys us because we want to win. Id like to think anytime we are beaten in an All Ireland Final we were beaten by a better team that year, if so then we cant complain and we dont about any final we lost this deecade.
To be quite honest McGuigan isnt really well know here so wont rattle people. If Peter Canavan said it that would be different as he seems to be a Kerry GAA lover. A very good commentator.

castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 28/08/2009 21:28:09    408187

Of course Kerry would have loved to have beaten Tyrone, just like Tyrone would love to be team of the decade-but neither are going to get their wish this decade-Kerry won't meet Tyrone and statistics show, win or lose this year-Kerry are the team of this decade.

McGuigan is entitled to his opinion which is fueled by the whole Spillane, love and protection of his county and kids football and the media stoking. However, saying you hope one team gets hammered by another does smell of bitterness which is a shame for him. Pat Spillane's comments last Sunday were immature but no doubt fueled by Brollys one sided views but sure this is telly and our shock and sensationalism is what they want.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 28/08/2009 23:53:23    408311

REDROM i hope u feel better after that rant.I hope ur still celebrating 82 well.
actually my throat is prety free at the moment, the last thing stuck in my throat was a fishbone during dinner but that clear now.

If we win the All Ireland, we will have proven ourselves to be true champions as Cork will have been the 2nd best team in the championship(by a mile), well if we lose we will have lost to a the best team this year.
Unlike Tyrone who are prob a distant 3rd this year!

Look everyone, of course it will be alittle tenser between Kerry and Tyrone people, we are both counties trying to be top dog. This year Tyrone fell badly short but that will prob add to their hunger next year. As much as I admire Tyrone i can be honest in that there was still a wry smile upon myself to see them get beaten the last day. And most of Tyrone will be the same way in the final hoping Cork beat us.(yep Meath will be beat on Sunday). That just the way it is with main rivals, barcelona v real ud v chelsea,liverpool etc

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 29/08/2009 00:40:39    408332

Free speech lads - McGuigan entitled to his opinion but so also is Spillane (and shure don't they lien up the HS board for all of us). We need characters like them to feed on.

My guess though is that McGuigan is looking for a TV punditry slot for the final.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 29/08/2009 00:42:27    408333

Squid,

Have a look at the whole interview in yesterdays irish news!! Dunno what paper you read the story in, obviously theyre picking certain pieces of the interview to suit whatever agenda they're pursuing.

Castlemaine,

I think Brolly certainly doesnt think or believe kerry people hate the north, he'll only have to ask his mother and father. I think Brolly might be referring to the likes of Jack O'Connor's perception of northern teams being the 'nouveau riche' in footballing terms and of course the constant whinging by spillane. To be honest I often wonder has spillane a possible political agenda at times as well given one of your current TD's political viewpoint. Almost trying to persuade the kerry public that we cant stand kerry people and that they should reciprocate, thankfully as both you and i mentioned earlier he couldnt be further from the truth.

I can be accused of being a cynic or paranoid or maybe both, i'll let you decide!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 29/08/2009 09:29:26    408402

Spillane is a legend, one of the finest footballers of all time with more all Irelands than Tyrone will ever have, his comments were from the heart the truth.Now i want to know, why you lot would prefer him to hide his true feelings on tv.Do you know what it really boils down to is jealousy, Tyrone boys and then ya have another from louth spouting off about Kerry at every oppurtunity, get over it bucks, ye don't carry the same gra for the game and never will.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2009 11:44:22    408442

Fair play to McGuigan. Spillane is a work of art. Heard of a letter with the below addrerss that Spillane actually received. Says it all really. Spillane The ---- Co Kerry

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 29/08/2009 11:47:40    408447

Frank McGuigan has earned the right to say what he wants about the GAA and who he'd like to see win a game.
I could be mistaken but I think if the truth be told 31 counties will be soughting for Meath on Sun and if Kerry makes it to the all Ireland 31 counties will be soughting for Cork. In other words No One wants to see Kerry win anymore All Irelands. A Meath V Cork Final would be great.

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 29/08/2009 12:21:59    408471

Speak for yorself there co.Tyrone, i want Kerry to win the AI and i'm from Mayo.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/08/2009 12:51:28    408490

Why would you prefer Kerry to be the winners and not Cork or Meath?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 29/08/2009 13:11:56    408501

"Spillane is a legend, one of the finest footballers of all time with more all Irelands than Tyrone will ever have, his comments were from the heart the truth.Now i want to know, why you lot would prefer him to hide his true feelings on tv."

2 points 51longago

Spillane is a legend, one of the finest footballers of all time with more all Irelands than Tyrone will ever have

Pat spillane has 8 All-Irelands, it would be a lazarus style comeback if he won any more, I've no doubt Tyrone will have 8 in the near future, that's a ridiculous statement,

his comments were from the heart the truth.Now i want to know, why you lot would prefer him to hide his true feelings on tv

because he isn't on the sunday game as a pundit to offer his opinion, he's there as a presenter and is therefore supposed to be impartial.

northernpower (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 29/08/2009 14:10:47    408530