Omagh vs Arboe senior championship

I saw it with my own eyes they were pusing each other and got each other in head locks and the omagh man threw him over his shoulder the linesman tried to get the refs attention but he ignored them

tyrone_lad09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 14/09/2009 18:57:28    425683

Having discussed the game with quite a few men from differing parts of the county, the view is that Omagh were intimidated out of the game. There are two ways to look at that. 1. Omagh should be big enough to stand up for themselves or 2. The referee should have been more strict on what was going on. I have no problem with the physical part of the game, but I felt most definately that Ardboe did very well to finish the game with 15 players. This ref is a junior ref. This view was echoed by an ex-ref that I spoke to after the game who thought that it was one of the poorest displays he has seen in years. However, the fact that Omagh failed to score for a large portion of the second half was a major contributor to their defeat as was some poor managerial choices. The decision to move Starrs to full forward was mind boggling to say the least as was the decision to play a short passing game when the game was obviously going to become more physical. I thought overall that Omagh at the very least deserved a replay but unfortunately thats life. Good luck to Ardboe in the semi, although I hope our dear neighbours win out. (took a lot to type that)

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 14/09/2009 20:29:38    425756

blackwhite,youre not really doing your club any favours by whinging on this messageboard.some of your fellow club men came on here,posted their opinion and congratulated ardboe on the win and left it at that.now,im sure that defeat was hard to take,i would have been gutted had we lost but thats championship football.some you win,some you lose.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 14/09/2009 20:37:55    425762

Have to agree wit Omagh Red hand, it was a poor display by the ref but thats not what lost the game. Poor management/decisions and a gutless performance. Omagh may be sitting 4th in a league table but when there is something at stake they dont have the stomach.

Wilfred (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 14/09/2009 21:50:33    425849

To BLACKWHITE. Seriously, take off the rose tinted glasses! Was it not John McPeake who had went off earlier in the game due to a facial injury??? I think it was.... Then he ran into the Ardboe man & in fairness the Ardboe player did tighten himself & The Omagh player didnt stand a chance because it would have been like running into a brink wall as descibed by someone earlier.... so I think a culmination of the two left the Omagh man in bits! The ref I thought was good for neither side. In the 1st half particularly, twice Ardboes full 4ward gained possession of the ball & two Omagh men were hanging of him each time, I think it is unfair that due to the size of a man he doesnt get a free. The ref however was giving Omagh frees from very scorable positions when it mattered. Also, Joe McMahon struck an another Ardboe player & only received a yellow card.... again hardly fair! But at the end of the day Ardboe kept plugging away, they didnt give up & fair play to them. Think the Omagh lads may have been a bit too cocky & confident going into this one. Good luck to Ardboe & I hope you go all the way. =:)

GAA1. (Tyrone) - Posts: 3 - 15/09/2009 11:19:30    426206

To BlackWhite and anyone else who's opinion is that McConville shoulder charged McPeake with intent- this is Bull. McConville as stated earlier is 6ft 5 or so & of big build compared to McPeake who is alot smaller & lighter. If you were paying any sort of attention to the game you would have seen that mcconville caught the ball & stood his ground firmly, making no charge anywhere. He stood strong, protecting the ball & mcpeake ran straight into him. The reason he didnt recieve a card for this was obviously because the referee was standing in front of this & seen exactly what happened. Obviously when a small man runs into a large man it will look bad but McPeakes own fault im afraid. Basically its unfair in football today that the big man in the game gets it tough all the time. Little respect from referees or opposition!!!! Thought the referee was easily influenced at times during the game also. Joe McMahon lucky to stay on the field after striking an Ardboe player & the referee did see this but thought it right to issue a yellow card. Great game of football, im a neutral & thought it was played with a lot of heart & fight. Great to see in championship, this is the big stage & all players should go out with a bita guts, its what pulls you through in the end, Ardboe showed this on Saturday.

shortstack (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 15/09/2009 13:07:52    426422

Comprehensive then.. shortstack says its bull therefore his word is gospel - I suspect shortstack ain't so short with all his moaning about big players getting a tough time. I suggest you watch Jerome Quinns video footage on Vimeo and tell me he stood his ground then - he took two steps into him and shoulder charged him full frontal. The moments gone I know, but it was a crucial decision wrongly called and it changed the game, thats the only point to be taken from it.

BlackWhite (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 15/09/2009 15:30:39    426645

Ive just watched that video of Jerome Quinns....flip me..mcconville absolutely cleaned him, everyone knows you cant shoulder charge into someones face, and its obvious that he squares full frontal to the omagh man...absolutely no doubt about it, shouldve been a free..end off...whether it changed the course of the game, i dont know..but it seems to have..

SUPPORTER24 (Tyrone) - Posts: 23 - 15/09/2009 16:19:49    426726

Watch it again he doest charge he takes 1 step and shoulders him while the Omagh man sprints over to him. Mc Conville uses the omagh mans momentum to hit him he dose not "shoulder charge him"

tyrone_lad09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 15/09/2009 22:42:42    427247

To be honest McConville did clean him but the fact he is 6ft5in was a major factor.
If he was 5ft6 and did the same thing he wouldnt have knocked anyone to the ground no foul and no controversy.
Was it a foul? Yes
Are they usually blew? No
Did it look alot worse becasue McConville is 6ft5? Undoubtely

These thing happen.

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 15/09/2009 23:00:27    427284

http://vimeo.com/6582269 any of use that dont believe that john's challange is not a foul needs there head checked

tyronegael9 (Tyrone) - Posts: 244 - 15/09/2009 23:01:58    427287

yes as stated these things happen, watched the footage - shoulder charge? No, lets talk abt something else now

shortstack (Tyrone) - Posts: 5 - 16/09/2009 11:51:46    427572

jeezuz omaghredhand. how low you'll stoop in the quest for an AI ticket!!!! but its nice to see you supporting your home parish! ( AI stands for all ireland not artificial insemination)

BigDorothy (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 16/09/2009 12:33:23    427621

Don't get your point Big Dot about the AI ticket, but my home parish is Drumragh, I just happen to live in this parish now

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 16/09/2009 13:12:00    427670

Omagh have made excellent progress since they just about stayed in div. 1 a couple of years ago. They are now real contenders and have a league semi final to focus on. I've watched them a number of times this season and did again on Saturday. It's a pity a pacy, footballing team aren't given more protection from the officials. Cynical tactics and persistent fouling won the c'ship game on Saturday, football certainly wasn't the winner. The fact is that the officals are there to make sure football comes out on top. They failed.

feargorm (Tyrone) - Posts: 10 - 16/09/2009 21:40:39    428283

14/09/2009 17:59:12
redkid

425628 Give Gavin Teague a break, the lads only a year out of minor and is playing in a central position for a grade 1 side, so forgive him if he cannot match the physicallity of some of his opponents. Im sure he will mature into a fine player for both club and county

Interesting to hear that young Teague doesnt like the physical stuff. The capa lads will love to hear that!!

Bluesare (Tyrone) - Posts: 9 - 17/09/2009 22:24:04    429359

Bluesare County: Tyrone Posts: 1 429359 14/09/2009 17:59:12 redkid County: Tyrone Posts: 54 425628 Give Gavin Teague a break, the lads only a year out of minor and is playing in a central position for a grade 1 side, so forgive him if he cannot match the physicallity of some of his opponents. Im sure he will mature into a fine player for both club and county Interesting to hear that young Teague doesnt like the physical stuff. The capa lads will love to hear that!! -------------------------------------------------- Gavin Teague is the best player to emerge from that Minor team last year. To say he doesn't like physical stuff is a joke. He is one of the most determined and committed players ive seen in a while. He is a class act and will only get better through time.

ArdboGael (Tyrone) - Posts: 72 - 18/09/2009 09:31:58    429568

Teague a fine player all right but he aint the best of that minor team- have you seen Ronan Mc Nabb, Niall Mc Kenna or Peter Harte play this season

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 18/09/2009 10:50:30    429637

teague has been the most consistent this season and i have seen a lot of senior football. he may be light but he'll not shirk physical responsibility. a few years at uni will fairly build him up.

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 18/09/2009 17:08:21    430055

Just seen the footage of "that tackle" on Jerome Quinn's videos. Bloody Hell!!!

mossgreen (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 18/09/2009 17:58:24    430102