Joe kernan

I hope that he can find some midfielder or make the midfielders we have into decent footballers. If we had a decent midfield, I think we'd be up to speed with most teams. We'd certainly be able to take on Kerry and Cork and Tyrone. Remember that we have the attackers - Meehan and company are as good as you will get. Meehan is capable of tearing a defence apart, and Armstrong and Nicky Joyce aren't all that bad either.

Oggy (Galway) - Posts: 245 - 31/08/2009 22:11:26    410885

Heard Kernan got the job this evening. Not ideal from a Mayo perspective as I think he wil be a very good manager for Galway but the it might raise the bar in connacht which will help us all.

Mayonaze (Mayo) - Posts: 426 - 31/08/2009 22:15:14    410895

Hard to know what to think, we all thought when Ger Loughnane got the hurling job that he was the man to bring us to the promised land, and look at the disaster that turned out to be. Also as a few people have already pointed out here, he is quite a defensive minded coach, which does not work for Galway.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 01/09/2009 00:14:36    411072

So what does work for Galway gilly? Maybe you should get the job?

I'll believe that he is taking over when he is formally ratified. Until then I will assume we will be managed by some pleb.

Charlie (Kerry) - Posts: 513 - 01/09/2009 11:04:02    411296

Grimley to join Kernan?

Armaghgeddon (Armagh) - Posts: 539 - 01/09/2009 16:57:23    411920

Armaghgeddon that would be ideal!

shlapya (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 01/09/2009 19:12:03    412165

got it from a good source defo will be kernan it'll be announced this week

pateen (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 01/09/2009 19:36:29    412208

Personally I feel it was mental strength that Galway lacked more than anything this year. They were shaken by the unexpected loss to Mayo in Tuam during the league and they never recovered. If someone like Kernan will help them with that, then the possibilities are endless. Furthermore I wouldn't worry too much about Kernan changing the style of galway football too much. One man is not going to affect how the whole county plays.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 01/09/2009 22:00:37    412418

I wouldn't care if we won every game 0-1 to 0-0 if it meant we were winning games.

Charlie (Kerry) - Posts: 513 - 02/09/2009 07:06:41    412672

Do the established members of the County panel have a say in the appointment of the new manager. If not it could lead to mutiny coming towards the end of the season.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3161 - 02/09/2009 10:47:12    412783

Joe will have the team doing the warm-up in Tuam Stadium and sprinting to Loughgeorge for training!!! Can see him having a big shake-up with the panel. He will probably look for men who fit his plans in terms of strength and size and try to bring on their football ability rather than the other way round. Should improve the team in terms of hunger and steel anyway...

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 558 - 02/09/2009 12:02:25    412889

Yea lads all ill say is the pitch in loughgeorge wont be very pleasant while Joe has anything got to do with the team.

Burca (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 02/09/2009 12:21:51    412926

Its pretty bad when you continually have to go outside your own county to get a Manager. I feel bad that your about to introduce the Northern style of play with Joe Kernan, where shalle we have the wake to mourn the Death of the Great Galway football tradition.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 02/09/2009 12:33:14    412943

The players dont have a direct say but the pannel selecting candidates includes to of the senior members fathers so they will have a good idea of the players reaction to candidates.

On the worry of a deffensive statogy. It was only peter ford that did that and they didn't go along with it cause they had no respect for him. That wont be the case with kernan.

I think he is the perfect choice but he wont magic up 2 midfielders for us. what he might be able to do is get a system where more breaks are won and that an oppositon player wins the ball it iis hard for them to play it.

Letterman (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 02/09/2009 12:33:25    412945

I think Galways style of football is going to change for the worse if Kernan comes on board
Galway always played free flowing football always a joy to watch Kernan has a poor enough
record won 1 AI it was more Kerry losing it than Armagh winning it

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 02/09/2009 14:06:16    413105

Would be a great appointment for us have to say. As far as i know Joe was a big mid-fielder himself (our biggest downfall) and a great man for a score, by all accounts a great tactician, and a man with a bags of heart pride and determination, remember the half time stunt in '02 when they were losing to kerry, when he hopped his all ireland runners up plaque off the wall, if that couldn't motivate a fella to give 110% i don't know what would, something that we have been lacking since the last all ireland we won.

Jeeves (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 02/09/2009 14:17:09    413126

paddy dont feel bad we only have to do this for a manager maybe ye should go outside the county to get players

pateen (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 02/09/2009 22:22:31    413803

Folks, I would welcome Joe Kernan as a manager. Heard he and PJ are very pally. JK as manager, Padraig Joyce as a selector along with Alan Mulholland would be my dream team. Joe took over as manager of Armagh in 2001/2. Armagh had been winning Ulster titles towards the end of the nineties but were not making the breakthrough. I remember we beating them during one of the back door games in 2001, by a point (courtesy of Paul Clancy in the last seconds after an Armagh fightback). Joe took over the following season and won the All-Ireland. And they were unlucky not to win in 2003 due to a super blockdown in the last few minutes. That Armagh team were good but Joe Kernan gave them that little extra.
We're not as bad as we appeared this year. As a county we need outside managers. As with the hurling (who have an outside manager lest we forget) Galway football clubs do not get on with each other. Between the rubbish that is written about the the true home of football, be it the North East or the West, be it Dunmore, Tuam, Corofin, Oughterard etc. An outside manager has no loyalties to any Galway club which is a good thing.

Broadminded (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 03/09/2009 00:06:08    413919

Pateen, Mayo have won zip since before the Beatles existed, Galway have won 9 A.I.'s, 2 in the modern era, now, I would like to see Mayo win one but let's us not put down the mighty tribe, they have not won in Croke Park since 2001 but when they get some Northern Steel and a couple of head shrinkers the good times are just around the corner

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1236 - 03/09/2009 02:09:20    413990

Folks, I would welcome Joe Kernan as a manager. Heard he and PJ are very pally. JK as manager, Padraig Joyce as a selector along with Alan Mulholland would be my dream team. Joe took over as manager of Armagh in 2001/2. Armagh had been winning Ulster titles towards the end of the nineties but were not making the breakthrough. I remember we beating them during one of the back door games in 2001, by a point (courtesy of Paul Clancy in the last seconds after an Armagh fightback). Joe took over the following season and won the All-Ireland. And they were unlucky not to win in 2003 due to a super blockdown in the last few minutes. That Armagh team were good but Joe Kernan gave them that little extra.
As regarding our style of football, well I'd rather win. Kerry adopted a style which is a hybrid of their natural flair with a massed defence and it has worked to a certain extent. We can go down that road. Armagh played the mass defence but not to the same extent as Tyrone. Tyrone's style has now evolved since they won their first AI and are quite a good team to watch.
Look, we have won one championship match outside of Connacht since 2001, and no match in Croke Park. WE need something different. I agree Peter Forde was introduced a negative aspect to our game, but then he never won an All-Ireland which JK has.
We're not as bad as we appeared this year. As a county we need outside managers. As with the hurling (who have an outside manager lest we forget) Galway football clubs do not get on with each other. Between the rubbish that is written about the the true home of football, be it the North East or the West, be it Dunmore, Tuam, Corofin, Oughterard etc. An outside manager has no loyalties to any Galway club which can only help.

Broadminded (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 03/09/2009 08:13:49    414009