Cocky Mayo

Gathering of fans
23 May 2008

This post is an attempt to gather as many Mayo fans into one section of McHale Park as possible.

If you log onto bebo.com, or just go straight to this link, there is a list of other fans who are interested.
http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=6747097945

The page has songs/chants made up by various supporters. This is not an attempt to gain 'hits' on bebo. This is a genuine effort to stir up the atmosphere at Mayo games. I urge all genuine supporters to join in.

The plan is:
On Connacht Final day we will meet at the corner in McHale Park, at the scoreboard at the Bacnon Factory End. We'll have a couple of drums/bodhrans etc., flags and so on. With the way it's progressing we'll have alot more than expected, hopefully boosted by everyones support here.

I genuinely hope to see you on the 13th

Come on Mayo!!!
Mark."

Nice motivation

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 26/05/2008 14:08:32    23620

If you will beat Mayo it will be because you have a better team and a Mayo manager not because someone from Mayo posted a comment that they expect to make the Connacht final. Mayo expects to get to the Connacht final and always expects to beat the likes of Sligo, cruel but true. The more things change the more they remain the same.

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 26/05/2008 15:18:32    23706

were not cocky...were just expecting to beat sligo...
sligo winnin connaught last year was a once off...
enjoy the qualifiers this year..;)

MayoMick (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 26/05/2008 21:04:38    23921

Your going to be very upset with your bodhrans and flags when we knock you out of the championship. Sligeach abu.

Rovers_fan (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 28/05/2008 10:06:56    24717

Ye havent a notion of beatin us on the 22nd...

Hows that for cocky?!!!

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 28/05/2008 11:20:56    24781

I dont think the Bebo guy was ment to be cocky (as for the others well thats a different story) i think he was a bit presumptuous.
I was at the game in Rislip the last Sunday and Sligo forwards looked fast and accurate. Im thinking the Mayo - Sligo game is going to be a lot closer then people think

FromTheNa (Mayo) - Posts: 583 - 05/06/2008 11:10:26    28525

let the mayo boys gather their fans and sing their songs, we did it last year in hyde park and we'll do it again this year!!! we'll be out in force!!
yahooooo

HorseFace (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 05/06/2008 16:56:54    28823

mayo 1-15
sligo 0-11

Ciaran mcdonald:0-6(3f)
HE WILL BE BACK

cesc4 (Mayo) - Posts: 238 - 07/06/2008 02:07:09    29495

Cocky Mayo are you kidding??? Of course!!! if were not expecting to beat Sligo at HOME then we may as well give up. Even if things are not that rosie in the mayo camp (whatever helps lift your spirits before the game) I could never see anything but a mayo victory. If mayo play failrly well to good i expect a 5 - 8 point victory. If not then maybe 2 or 3 points. I first started going to Mayo mathces in 89 and from that year to present day I can only remember mayo losing to one of the Minnows 4 times in the Connaught Championship 1991 and 2001 Roscommon, Sligo 2000 and Leitrim 1994. And all of them games have one thing in common - none of them played in Castlebar (i can't be sure about Roscommon 1991 could be wrong on that one) but 2001 Hyde Park 2002 - dump Markievicz park 1994 Hyde Park. So please tell me leaving out Leitrim and Roscommon When did Sligo manage a connaught championship win in McHale Park????? Get out the history books folks, - so if feeling that we have the capability to beat the bottom of Division 3 team at home where we have a tremendous record is cocky - well there is no escaping it cocky MAYO!!!!!!!!!!!! Come on the mighty green and red - Welcome to Castlebar but enjoy the trip home connaught champions no more x

yides (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 10/06/2008 12:57:36    30585

Yides, this sort of attitude is exactly the reason that mayo are despised by so many counties roll on the 22nd we are going out to defend our crown and are not going to give it up without a fight. Hope ye then get dumped out of the qualifiers like derry did to ye last year. Sligeach abu

SirFrederick (Sligo) - Posts: 16 - 10/06/2008 16:27:27    30813

Sligo have little or no chance of beating Mayo, sorry but thats the way it is. Love enniscrone and the fact that sligo won last year too.

mayolight (Mayo) - Posts: 79 - 10/06/2008 22:51:32    30947

Totally in agreement Yides, i'm all for an underdog, but if anyone is being Cocky here it's ye, in fairness now, ye won an brutal Connaught title last year with not one good game being played throught out the connaught championship, my lord above that Connaught final last year was torture to watch! So despite all this and the way ye got dumped out of the Championship coupled with yer abysmal display in the league ye actually think that there is a chance that ye will overturn Mayo in Castlebar! Come on now. And all this bitterness towards mayo because some guy on Bebo, prob a kid wants to get some fans together and get a better atmosphere going at the Connaught Final we will most certainly be in! Unlike ye, Mayo ambition every year is to reach the Connaught final - and win it, no matter if we play Galway in the first round or New york the aim is always the same. Also i'd like to think i'm fairly well travelled and have encountered people from every county in Ireland and as i am a very proud Mayo native and avid gaa fan football is always a highly debated topic, and i can honestly say hand on heart i've not met any one who "despises" them so go back to your little gurteen or tourlestrane or where ever ye come from and just think about what ye've achieved in comparison to mayo and be happy with winning the connaught championship last year and cling on to that for the next 30year and i tell you something before any one comes in with what have ye won besides Connaught titles or anything pathetic like that just don't waste your energy, jealously isn't a good colour on anyone, and even though we've been on the losing side of some all-ireland wheter ye'll admit it or not ye'd love to have been in dublin on all those occassions having the drinks in Quinns and Phil ryans, the anticipation of the match and sometimes it doesn't always go your way but none the less being there is better than sitting in Sligo town secretly wishing it was you but knowing it never will be! So all in all Mayo will alway have won 41 Connaught titles and 3 all-irelands then ye will have the right to expect that you will be good enough to make it to the Connaught final, especially with Connaught football being so bad at the minute and the fact that Galway are on the other side of the draw meaning we will avoid them till the final. So in summary ye'll be leaving Castlebar with yer black and white flags before the final whistle cos ye'll want to get on the road back to the yeats county avoid the traffic and plus the bebo kid might round up his posse early and ye won't want to be stuck in the middle of a crowd singing - "another connaught final" "another connaught final" or songs maybe ye'll be all too familar with "cheerio cheerio". P.s Eamonn o'hara is a mayo man! but ye need all the help ye can get!!! Best of luck lads. Come on Mayo forever!

williejoe89 (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 11/06/2008 11:40:09    31091

God Sir Frederick despises is a strong word. let me get this straight you got together with other Tommy Murphy cup canditate counties and decide ye all despise mayo. Were you the offical pole taker? Well now that you have offically hit us whrere it really hurts telling us were not liked. Again your little sligo pea brain is refusing to accept FACTS!!! You are drawing your entire opinion on mayo football on last year the FACTS are Mayo are one of the most consistent counties in the country unfotuantley we can't show a number of all irelands in recent years because we know all too well our limitations and problems and they are very well documented everybody was diappointed with the performance last championship but even if we had won the connaught title and then lost to derry it would have be treated the exact same way as a total underachievement. Problem is where as beating sligo is just been realistic it will be another Galway v Roscommon match. Point is we don't be shouting our mouths off to teams like Kerry that are better than us have more quality than us have a better manager than us, We know where we come in the great scheme of things!!!! looking down and laughin at Tommy Martin candiates such as yourselves and looking up in awe at to be honest only kerry. So limit your expectations it will only lead to disappointment U will never be anything more than one of Connaughts worst teams (bit embaressing really) .Oh god now i just remembered that if Sligeach were regulated to Division 4 does that mean no back door next year - oh brill im heading on holidays tomorrow so i thought this day couldn't get any better but that has really made me laugh. Can anybody confirm if this is true!!! Keep the Minows DOWN - where they belong.

yides (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 11/06/2008 12:39:07    31156

No. It was decided at congress that everyone gets a crack of the whip next year and it goes back the system used 2 years ago. In all fairness yer definite favourites for the game and that suits Sligo better too. But anything can happen in a game of football as Sligo showed last year. You say that Sligo are the worst team in Sligo but look at Leitrim and Roscommon too they'd be considered on the same level as sligo or worse. How often have you seen that League form doesn't have anything to do when it comes into Championship as has been shown down the years. With yerselfs lst yr bowing out at round 2 aftr takn top 2 spot. And what about this year Fermanagh beatn a 3rd place Division 2 team and Down putting it up to a Division 1 team.
Think what ye want and we'll do the same!!! Of course everyone thinks that ye'll win and rightly so but theres always a major upset every year and who knows if it'll be on June 22nd we'll have to wait and see!!!

datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 11/06/2008 13:30:04    31212

Williejoe 89 and yides-what a stupid rant. Are you sure you are not one in the same person as writing style or lack of style is very similar.
Whether last years Connaught championship was brutal or brillant it doesn't make any difference we won and we'll take it any way it comes. Many of your many Connaught successes would be in the same brutal category so your talking rubbish there.
You are right we would love to have been in Dublin before All-Ireland drinking in Quinns, Ryan's (Big Tree is my own personal favorite). I would be g=hiding in embarresment after the 2 shambolic performances of 2004 and 2006. Turning the biggest day in Irish sport into a farce. Your proud players showing no pride, backbone and letting down all those great supporters shambolic.Embarresment isn't a good colour either and ye were wearing it in September 2004 and 2006.
By the way Eamon O'Hara is a Sligo man through and through-he turned down a lucrative offer from a Mayo club to stay loyal to his cluab and county about 10 years ago. The only players who are playing for a county that is not their own are Andy Moran from Ballaghdereen Co. Roscommon and Parsons from Curry-yes thats County Sligo. Best of luck on the 22nd

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 382 - 11/06/2008 13:53:01    31240

What can you say to all this? Mayo want us not to believe we will win. Mayo want us to go backwards. Mayo want us to believe it is there right to win connaght and for us to hand to them. They written it on all Gaa message boards...galway lads writing similiar things about leitrim.

Why i know....but they'll never believe it because they lie to themselves all the time. You see Galway and Mayo are not in good shape this yr...sligo people know it. There supporters are afraid. There posts stink of fear. There overcompensating on the cocky stuff to make us think weve no right to win. Its childish pyscho babble.

Let me tell this to mayo and galway. We know yer no great shakes this yr. I believe we will win again. You can say what ye want but here and now is all that matters and its all on the day. I know the players believe we will win. We are better than last yr finally getting things right since the league. The hunger is there to prove all the doubters wrong and avoid tm cup. No chance of us going away anytime soon sorry Mayo and Galway.

Sligeach abu

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 11/06/2008 14:10:45    31268

Well said Sligonian. Lets hope we can put Galway out of it and Sligo can repeat last years heroics. Then we can argue about the final later!

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - Posts: 111 - 11/06/2008 17:58:12    31508

lets see a right team win connacht and not pox it like last year

mac11 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 11/06/2008 20:05:31    31538

Well said Sligonian. Fair play to you there. It is fiteen against fifteen. Forget about the past. Throw away the psychological bagggage. Forget about where the venue is. Just go out there and show what ye are capable of. Do yourselves justice & make a good game of it. Believe that we are not any lesser or second best. Looking forward to a good game. Sligeach ABU

Isle of Innisfree (None) - Posts: 68 - 11/06/2008 22:56:11    31581

mac11 you say a right team win it. Sligo obviously had to be the best team last year if they won it. And who was the only team representing Connacht last yr n d Quarter Fianls even though they didn't play at all against Cork??? Although I recall Mayo gettn hammering of over 10 points in previous All-Irelands. Have ya nothing better to do than write stupid comments on this. Go out and count the sheep n d field why dont ya

datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 12/06/2008 14:15:37    31914