Real Rebels

trileacman, I'm a grandad in my sixties,. I've never hidden my age. Was at the 1956 All Ireland Football semi so tomorrow will be the 43rd anniversary of my first visit to Croke Park. Must have attended about 35 All Ireland Finals (Hurling & Football) since then. There are a number of men and women still around whose fathers fought in the Flying Column. I know quite a few from various commemorations etc. paddy, last week when supporting Aberdeen against Celtic you told us you had worked in Aberdeen. You appear to move around a lot doesn't surprise me in the least.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 22/08/2009 23:18:25    400263

Utter rubbish madas, the fact is that Devalera was let run your "free state" after not having the guts to go to England himself and then cosying up to the English. The only proper rebel ever in the free state and ye shot him. "The curlew takes to flight and as he flies over the sad empty fields of west Cork, with his lonesome call he must tell the world that the big fella has fallen and that Michael is gone" I ndil cuimhne ar Oglach Mícheál Ó Coileáin, fuair se bas ar son saoirse na h-Eireann 22u la Mean Fomhair 1922. Ar dheas De go raibh a anam Like it or not, Ó Coileán put the desires and demands of the Imperial Cabinet ahead of his own comrades' when he signed that Treaty. And worse still- he broke a promise to his friends. Níorbh aon aingeal é Dev, ach tá níos mó ná dubh is bán amháin sa stair!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 22/08/2009 23:23:48    400267

paddy i joined the Gaa to play gaa my children too.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 22/08/2009 23:26:08    400270

Folks this is a kind of provisional goodbye post. Last night influenced a little by Arthur Guinness and maybe a little wound up on eve of big match, I posted truthfully but foolishly in response to some provocative posts probably made by lads over 40 years my junior. It could have been worse, I also penned a lengthy reply about Ballyseedy, The Four Courts and Joe McKelvey but thankfully did not press the send button. This morning I am a little annoyed with myself about my reaction and feel today the 53rd and not 43rd anniversary of the first football semi final I attended is as good a day as any to hang up my blogging boots and leave things to the younger generation. I will certainly post tonight to either congratulate or commiserate with Tyrone but after that will take a sabbatical, whether temporary or permanent we will see. Anyhow that's all I want to say so if you forgive me there is someplace I have to go to.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 23/08/2009 09:17:22    400344

22/08/2009 23:18:25
corkcelt

paddy, last week when supporting Aberdeen against Celtic you told us you had worked in Aberdeen. You appear to move around a lot doesn't surprise me in the least.

Corkcelt
Id wager as follows

1. Paddy is garda
2. Paddy sells gates/Carpets
3. Paddy changes job a lot
4. Paddy works for a large multinational with several regional sites
5. Paddy works for a large state/semi state body that involves an element of project work

My guess is either 4 or 5 but I would have thought with four you might not have the time to get the HS hours in so at a huge stab in the Dark Paddy works for a semi state company possibly in utilities/telecoms in some type of a project engineering role. Currently based in Cork so at huge stab in the dark Id guess on Aghada

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/08/2009 09:55:53    400352

ruanua

1. Paddy is garda
2. Paddy sells gates/Carpets
3. Paddy changes job a lot
4. Paddy works for a large multinational with several regional sites
5. Paddy works for a large state/semi state body that involves an element of project work

My guess is either 4 or 5 but I would have thought with four you might not have the time to get the HS hours in so at a huge stab in the Dark Paddy works for a semi state company possibly in utilities/telecoms in some type of a project engineering role. Currently based in Cork so at huge stab in the dark Id guess on Aghada

Runrua your nearly spot on with that. Not Aghada though, think of a rival to aghada that is been built at the moment and a company that is expanding its wind and thermal electricty production assets including wind farms in Donegal.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/08/2009 16:34:26    400586

Cork rebels,....thats gas! and the funny name aint lost on us boys up in the Capital!

Cork,
nowhere to be seen in 1691
nowhere to be seen in 1798,
nowhere to be seen in 1803,
nowhere to be seen in 1848,
nowhere to be seen in 1916,

made a good effort at long last during the war of independence!

We all know where the true 'rebel county' name comes from so its this 'wind that shakes the barley' malarkey cork people try to flog us that makes it even funnier to endure!

Oh, and before ye try and lash out with some 'Union Jack Jackeen' tripe, just google Queens visit to Cork and find all the photos ya like of cork folks out with their union jack flags!

Here in Dublin we understand though that we wear the Jackeen tag given to us by country folk jealous that the fightin race of Dubliners were in the thick of every rebellion this country ever had and our county men leading every rebellion too, Emmet, Tone, Pearse....etc while their sorry county went about paying its rents to the absentee landlords and keeping its heads down!

Thats real 'rebel county' for ya Warbecks Boys!

Great win by the way, but quit it with the 'rebel' stuff. Ye give us a great laugh up here!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/08/2009 16:15:57    405054

snuff & ogall.........one word about sum's up you clowns...SAD!!! Very surprised HS allows this "historical" rubbish be spouted on what is supposed to be a sports
commuication arena. Feel there's more of the green-eyed monster about you two. Dissapointed with you corkcelt.

THE OBSERVER (None) - Posts: 112 - 26/08/2009 18:22:22    405279

Sorry you've decided to go, Corkcelt. You were one of the good ones

St.K (Cork) - Posts: 210 - 27/08/2009 02:56:37    405831

Snuf,

We all know where the Dubs were in '16, on their doorsteps feeding tea and cake to our oppressors.

dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 27/08/2009 10:11:43    405900

What i haven't seen yet in this thread is anyone mention that fact that Micheal Collins was making practical plans to attempt to take over the six occupied Irish counties within months of the cessation of the Civil War, evidenced by Tim Pat Coogan. Sadly he was murdered before this possibility could take place. Micheal Collins was a true Irish Republican, those who teint his name are simply cowards sitting behind the veil of the computer screen. What are you's doing to free all of Ireland?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 27/08/2009 15:35:29    406440

Donegal_abroad

406440 What i haven't seen yet in this thread is anyone mention that fact that Micheal Collins was making practical plans to attempt to take over the six occupied Irish counties within months of the cessation of the Civil War, evidenced by Tim Pat Coogan. Sadly he was murdered before this possibility could take place. Micheal Collins was a true Irish Republican, those who teint his name are simply cowards sitting behind the veil of the computer screen. What are you's doing to free all of Ireland?

Free all of Ireland HA HA

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 27/08/2009 15:50:51    406477

Snufalufagus - Class Post & well said, although please dont tarnish the rest of the country with the delusions of the "rebel" county

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 27/08/2009 15:57:25    406495

as i always understood we were known as the rebel county coz cork people usualy go against the grain. not just wars. i dont know any cork people who say we won the war etc. anybody i know thinks the rebels comes from going against the grain

Tomcork (Cork) - Posts: 112 - 30/08/2009 02:47:17    408891

Tomcork

That would be my understanding also. Cork suffer from "second eldest son" syndrome

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/08/2009 10:43:39    408916

correct ruanua haha

Tomcork (Cork) - Posts: 112 - 31/08/2009 00:37:17    409588