Real Rebels

Watch out Rebels --here come the Real Rebels,Tyrone Abu.

DUNGANNONABU (Tyrone) - Posts: 511 - 22/08/2009 12:55:27    399816

No chance the boys who beat the Black and Tans were the boys from the county Cork

That is why we are and always will be called the Rebel County

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 739 - 22/08/2009 13:02:08    399825

funny that since cork are called rebels for being too scared to fight and the tyrone folk well the last few decades have shown ye were as well to run cause ye got your asses kicked and rightly so- rebels surely does fit the bill!!

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 22/08/2009 13:02:24    399826

The 22nd of August would not be an appropriate day to be mentioning corks bravery/rebel culture

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/08/2009 14:27:51    399887

does anybody understand what that mayo fella said?

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 22/08/2009 16:44:58    399949

I'd say that Liathroid boy the historian that he is - is referring to the battle of Kinsale where Cork refused to fight and the Tyrone boys legged it back.

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 22/08/2009 17:06:50    399961

Cork were the anti-rebel county in 1798 when the north Cork militia were sent to Wexford to do the dirty work for the Brits.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 22/08/2009 17:18:31    399971

Ye other counties should pay us tribute. If it wasn't for Cork, ye'd be like these poor Tyrone posters here, still under the thumb of the sasanach.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 22/08/2009 17:38:59    400003

Pure true redhot
If youse boys had'nt have hid behind that rock 87 years ago sure wed all be in the same boat as tyrone

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 22/08/2009 17:45:32    400012

Well said wexford and mayo.... Rebels.. more like rabbits...

tyronepower1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 22/08/2009 17:57:26    400019

This is from another forum on the site

Regarding the Rebel County.
Contrary to popular belief the rebel county got its name from the exact opposite to the reason that is spun today.
It was in 1491 during the English War of the Roses that the people of Cork came out in support of a lad called Perkin Warbeck who was a pretender to the Throne of England. It was because of their support for this royalist that they got the title of 'rebels'.

G'on the rebels?

northernpower (Tyrone) - Posts: 40 - 22/08/2009 19:06:18    400070

Utter rubbish madas, the fact is that the coward Devalera was let run your "free state" after not having the guts to go to England himself and then cosying up to the English. The only proper rebel ever in the free state and ye shot him. "The curlew takes to flight and as he flies over the sad empty fields of west Cork, with his lonesome call he must tell the world that the big fella has fallen and that Michael is gone" I ndil cuimhne ar Oglach Mícheál Ó Coileáin, fuair se bas ar son saoirse na h-Eireann 22u la Mean Fomhair 1922. Ar dheas De go raibh a anam

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 22/08/2009 19:56:59    400100

Omaghredhand

ever hear of sarcasm - I think you will find upon a re-read that my post was directed at Redhot. I threw the tyrone bit to see if any of you boys were awake
I fully support Micheal Collins - In fact his willingness to concede on the six counties was his finest hour

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 22/08/2009 20:25:35    400114

Joe Brolly Quote" Tyrone are the real rebels of Irish life . They stand against the Capitalist obsessions of modern world,where the Individual is king.they are working tirelessly to entrench that sense of community which is the essence of civilised life.
Cork meanwhile,are not rebels.They only had one after all,and they shot him. This is a group that embraces the ideals not of the GAA,but of the GPA clutching their Club Energise bottles to their hearts during interviews,telling us how much they love the Jersey,while planning to go on strike.They might as well be Cork City FC. I for one will be cheering on Tyrone on Sunday,ALL ULSTER GAELS should do the same." Well said Joe , Com'on TYRONE AND ARMAGH ABÚ!!!!!!!

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 22/08/2009 20:57:47    400134

My father fought at Crossbarry and Kilmichael with Tom Barry , his brother died in the war of Independence,. it saddens me to read some of the posts on this thread,. you would wonder why did they bother. I'm extremely proud of my heritage and my County,. I will not respond in like manner by throwing insults at Tyrone. I salute the true Gaels of Tyrone and look forward to a great game tomorrow. I hope of course for a Cork win but if it doesn't happen for us, I will wish Tyrone all the best in the Final.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 22/08/2009 21:43:00    400177

Well said corkcelt

The Cork people have always been very faithful to the North and their clubs have a good relationship with ours up here. We have sent teams down to the rebel for weekends and short stays and vice versa. Indeed Justin McCarthy is held in very high esteem in Ulster hurling circles as he has always been very good to us bringing his various county sides here. I hope it's a good game and although I want Tyrone to win I hope Cork lift SAM if they triumph.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 22/08/2009 22:04:22    400195

williewentwell

I for one will be cheering on Tyrone on Sunday,ALL ULSTER GAELS should do the same." Well said Joe , Com'on TYRONE AND ARMAGH ABÚ!!!!!!!

I'm entirely glad you'll be cheering for your own county. I dont know who to cheer for, I live in Cork so i'm exposed to the daily delusions of there own self importance. I have worked all over this country the Dubs, Donegal, Galwegians and Waterford folk have class and modesty some thing which is clearly lacking in Cork people. I think i'll cheer for Tyrone

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/08/2009 22:04:40    400196

Corkcelt and proud you should be of your heritage and county and I agree that neither side should respond to insults thrown to either county or any county I was young in 1973 when a great Cork team showed the Tyrone team and its followers how to play the game. Tomorrow, I hope Tyrone can beat this great Cork team and have one final crack at Kerry to finalise the debate of who are the team of the naughties but if Cork win, I wish Cork the very best for the final and the future. This I write to Corkcelt as he reflects the opinion of a true Irish Gael.

Beardies (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 22/08/2009 22:12:29    400206

If the cap fits ogall, if the cap fits!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 22/08/2009 22:58:19    400239

corkcelt

My father fought at Crossbarry and Kilmichael with Tom Barry
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Seriously? Jaysus you're way older than I imagined corkcelt.

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 22/08/2009 23:01:05    400240