Who will win the minor hurling championship?

was there last nite....the point old yellar has made is very through but i do recall james doyle and hugh gahan giving english a torrid time,gahan in particular(3-2 from play a year or 2 ago) but on current form i dont think anyone could get the better of him,very dominant figure...still cant understand why he wouldn't hurl county but there is no doubting that he is class...key to ballinkillens sucess

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 28/09/2009 19:36:32    439067

i wud really tip bk to win the final from viewing the match last night!david english worked tremendously throuout the match !also fair play to the 5 kildavin lads:daryl roberts(midfield),niall murphy(corner back),ian st ledger(wing forward) dermot foley(wing back) and richard jeffers(corner back) for training the whole year an it takes great commitment to turn up every night and ballinkillen would be lost without them boys..the work rate was intense and the miseal forwards never got a look at the goal...

carlowman339 (Carlow) - Posts: 1 - 28/09/2009 20:51:04    439143

1 on 1 i dont think anyone wud get the better of him in the county now. hes a complete hurler. i would go as far and say that not too of our many senior county men would as was evident in his 2 years of senior club hurling. outstandin at no 6 v n brid in senior this year.. but we ll wait and see.. yeah the kildavin lads are a great boost to club and it also great to see them hurling rather than pack it in..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 28/09/2009 22:18:23    439260

Strimjim I know doyle was markin an U16 in Ian St Ledger I just was pointing out his influence that he had in the last quarter. Alan McDonald wouldn't do to bad a job on English. Should be a good semi next Sunday.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 28/09/2009 23:31:13    439359

A little bit of perspective on David English here would be appropriate. There is no doubt that he is a very good hurler but suggesting that he is A GREAT HURLER is in my opinion a bit premature. He had a great game on sunday and I know he can only play whats up against him but that was a very poor Miseal team. One other thing he didnt make himself available for the co. minors this year after playing on team for last two years.

hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 29/09/2009 09:15:12    439459

lads ye are all talking about young english being a great hurler not saying he's not but wat about james doyle. this chap started midfield for the senior team last year. half forward this year..
i think erins own are a great bet.
although missing barry lambe and brian houirhine i still think they have enough to get by carlow.

murto (Carlow) - Posts: 27 - 29/09/2009 12:04:40    439599

Alan mcdonald didnt score a point in the junior final the other day so i couldn't see him getting the better of english who has kept senior county players scoreless..if anyone on da btwn team could gib him a game its james doyle..likewise john doyle of carlow town is also a tidy operator...there are a number of players in this years championship who have hurled consistently well throughout and nevr get the credit they deserve...Ronan nolan of naomh eoin, dermot foley of ballinkillen,ciaran nolan of naomh brid,david galway erins own,marty kavanagh of st,mullins and others like tom huff,sean treacy,ciaran moran and jamie kenny have also hurled well and will never get the deserved credit because limelight is taken by the big name players..its the likes of these which make the likes of david english,james doyle etc. look so good...

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 29/09/2009 20:52:20    440271

i agree we ve seen a few excellent performances to date by individuals in this years championship. english is a special talent and will undoubtedly make it very soon to the county senior scene. as for the minor thing, well he concentrated on his exams so thats his choice after 2 good years at it. enuf said, he wasnt the only one who didnt.. as for btown, well the going well this year to date. james doyle is a classy hurler and i hope he remains injury free for as long as possible. the other 2 lads are a big loss to them. remarkable to see them win the 14 and 16, be in the minor semi, junior and senior finals. fair going. ctown will give them a good rattle alright in the semi. the have a few lads who ll give it socks and maybe the mite cause a shock. i hope the football semis dont cause them injuries and maybe take their eye off the ball..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 29/09/2009 21:15:57    440305

Looks like the minor football semi finals are on Thursday and Friday and the Carlow Twon minor game is on Sunday? Is that correct? If that is so then Carlow have a few who will be playing 2 semi finals, one in football and one in hurling inside three and four days? Does this make sense?

This will surely limit Carlow's chances!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 29/09/2009 22:26:49    440405

Alan McDonald didn't play his best Saturday because he picked up an injury but he has being playing consistently good all year for the minors and juniors and wouldn't be afraid of layin into English. I don't know too much about Carlow Town but I heard they are a very good team who put it up to everyone including us (Erins Own). I also think Patrick Abbey is very underated.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 29/09/2009 22:48:58    440444

ye fair point hurlinguru...time will tell anyway,he mite not get the chance of doing the damage if they dont get through sunday which i think is very possible no matter what anyone says...the game is up for grabs...as a neutral i think a carlow town win would be great for the county

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 30/09/2009 19:53:13    441300

OLd yeller : thats too trite an answer. Lots of lads play minor and sit their leaving cert. so dont try and offer that as the reason he didnt line out with minors. He was playing senior hurling with Ballinkillen prior to sitting leaving cert. this year so thats that one knocked on the head. I think you prob. know the reason he didnt feature just as well as I do. He should have been leading by example and helping the younger lads on panel just as he was helped when he was playing at 16 and 17. HOwever prob. more to do with previous years cock up when they lost points to dublin due to intransigence of certain mentors not unknown to player in question.

hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 30/09/2009 19:56:51    441301

well, that was the story that was given and we have to believe that.. same could be said of one other lad that was there last year but not this year, who gave the same reason.. like i said thats a debate we had before, but its over now and done with and one we could engage in on other lads and their attitude to playing for their county.. but done and dusted. hopefully the other semi is a good game as a lot of the hurling in the other one was poor especially in the second half. some ctown lads will be tired having played 2 matches so soon together and maybe a schools match or 2 also this wk..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 30/09/2009 20:25:38    441326

Yes Knockbeg, Carlow CBS and PDLS Bagenalstown are all involved in junior schools hurling this week.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 30/09/2009 22:50:52    441527

Erins Own & Carlow Town will be close on sunday in my opinion. Erins Own played them in Carlows pitch about 2/3 weeks ago and Carlow battled strong but Erins Own took the win. I'd say it will come down on the day. It could go anyway, but from the perspective of Erins Own being unbeaten all year i'd be saying its for them on sunday. Barry Lambe & Brian Hourihane will be key losses but i believe there is u16's there that are more than capable of making a minor debut. Both teams are strong and as i said it could go any direction on the day.

Personally, i favour Erins Own to secure the MHC 2009.

cooper_hurling (Carlow) - Posts: 5 - 01/10/2009 19:15:38    442356

that other player that wasn't involved this year happens to be good friends with English..Ironic

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 01/10/2009 21:33:37    442488

well i cant comment on that, but so what if so.. thats done and dusted and it cant be changed so think it should be left at that.. yeah both those 2 lads are big loses to erins own alrite. i know the have u16s there but you cant beat lads upto the age and with a bit of experience.. i hope the extra games dont go against the ctown lads in the semi. i still think erins own mite have too much craft for them but it ll be tight i d say. lets hope it a good game anyhow. has been some rite good games in it this year that i ve seen anyhow. we need all clubs to be as competitive as possible to drive it forward. if erins own get through it ll be the repeat of the 16 final 2 years ago if i m rite?

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 01/10/2009 22:08:31    442535

The U16s are brilliant hurlers though playing well all year...............minor and U16.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 02/10/2009 13:23:39    442940

fairplay to carlow town on a good win in todays semi. been a good year for the club in there.. hope we can spoil it next sunday!!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 04/10/2009 20:33:47    444665

Either way will be a major shot in the arm for whichever of the two finalists win. Best of luck to Carlow and Ballinkillen

getonwithit (Carlow) - Posts: 527 - 04/10/2009 21:15:36    444712