Who will win the minor hurling championship?

Naomh Brid must win in order to secure a semi final place,but need ballinkillen to slip up ion the process which is not likely....Erins Own will be tough but have yet to be rattled and if that happens tonight they will be brought back down to earth..for neutrals a win for naomh brid would open evrything up....hard to see carlow town defeating ballinkillen tonight although its not beyond possibility...Ballinkillen only need 1 more win to secure the second semi final place,because if they finish on the same points as naomh brid they will go through having defeated them head to head...

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 02/09/2009 11:15:05    412819

The match between naomh brid and erins own tonight is changed from ballinaboley to mcgrath park due to a waterlogged pitch...i think erins own will be too strong for namomh brid and should win comfortably if play to their potential,altough they are missing a few players 2nyt from what i hear..

cmcs (Carlow) - Posts: 8 - 02/09/2009 13:51:38    413080

Yes they are the u16s are playing their semi final Friday night and they might rest them.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 02/09/2009 17:40:52    413418

Minor Result:
Erins Own 1-15
Naomh Brid 0-06.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 02/09/2009 20:48:26    413660

Naomh Eoin will play st.mullins and carlow town play naomh brid in the quarters...bkilln and erins own awit the winners in the semis

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 12/09/2009 14:16:54    423982

Naomh Eoin 0-11
St Mullins 1-03

Very poor standard. St Mullins drove sone desperate wides in the first half and then went in two points down at half time, 0-03 - 0-01.
Second half much improved and very exciting. St Mullins got the goal and a few points and it looked like they had a very good chance of wining it but couldn't get that couple of points which would have put Myshall out of sight. Instead in the last ten minutes Myshall scored six points without reply, some which were well worked and took.

I heard Carlow Town won well but does anyone know the score?

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 20/09/2009 23:46:28    431447

Carlow Town 1 16 Naoimh Brid 8. Carlow Town pulled away in second half.

WHISKEY (Carlow) - Posts: 19 - 21/09/2009 11:24:08    431706

Is the draw made or who plays who now in the semi finals and when are they likely to be played?

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 21/09/2009 19:14:47    432362

Carlow town play Erins own and Ballinkillen play Myshall as far as i know. Very surprised at the each at which ctown beat nbrid. i thought nbrid looking good when i saw them earlier in the year. but thats sport.. David english will be a massive loss if he doesnt make it back from injury.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 21/09/2009 22:07:58    432575

Carlow town totally dogged naomh brid out of the game on and off the ball..The sending off of ciaran nolan was a bit harsh from my vantage point but i think the ref was always going to even it up after shane keoghs departure..linesmen could have been more helpful to the ref as 1 or 2 more players could have recieved their marching orders as the ref did not spot a number of incidents off da ball..perhaps mind games came into which naomh brid players reacted to but whatever it was,it worked favorably for carlow town..they weren't dependant on john doyle either on the day,others such as jamie kenny,brendan hennessey,seamus harmon and paticular pauric ahern really steppd up to the plate...Also Ciaran Moran carried the middle of the field like he has done all year...you hav got to remember that this was an undefeated naomh brid team in the group stages at u14 and u16 level...huge win for carlow town..might not have the quality to defeat erins own but i think that they will be made work very hard for the win...

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 23/09/2009 20:41:57    434712

carlow have a good chance of beating erins own coz dey are missing a few key players..barry lambe one of their best players isinjured due to broken ankle also john corcoran another best player might not be able to play and 1 or 2 other good players...however i still think that erins should have euough for them if they play well and might have a few extra players available fpr the final if they get there

cmcs (Carlow) - Posts: 8 - 24/09/2009 03:31:11    434937

So on looking at your posts Carlow have a chance and Erins own being without a player or two will have to work harder? Shane kehoe sent off for Carlow... what difference will that make?

I there dates for the semi finals yet?

What about the other semi with Balinkillen without English... how good are Naomh Eoin?

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 24/09/2009 11:06:41    435064

Naomh eoin are a balanced side who work well as a team..i believe ballinkillen ar over reliant on david english as evident in the group game between the two sides..cormac dunbar is more than capable of replacing shane kehoe...should be intruiging...Can anyone see a carlow town and ballinkillen final??

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 24/09/2009 18:54:21    435618

cant see it myself. bkillen have 2 other lads who ve played senior this year in marty dalton and daryl roberts, so i think the not completly reliant on english. roberts got 3 4 v btown in last years lge final also..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 24/09/2009 20:12:32    435695

Erins Own have Brian Hourihane injured aswel and David Galway is a doubt but shud be ok and Erins Own are a very young team shud be an intriging semi final whoever wins it (IMO) will win it out. I think this because Naomh Eoin just arent clicking and Ballinkillen are blowing hot and cold. Wheras Erins Own are steady all year and Carlow Town are coming good at the right time.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 26/09/2009 00:08:42    436955

ye roberts is a class act...should be a hum dinger

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 26/09/2009 19:55:25    437284

bkillen won handy enough in their semi despite a bad second halsf where myshall pucked a lot of ball wide and gave their forwards no chance with big high ball in. marty dalton did well for bkillen. dabvid english was again superb, though this time at no 3. myshall hadnt the same bite about them apart from the hardworking jm nolan and their 2 wingbacks did well also too.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 27/09/2009 22:26:14    438074

Yes 2-05 to 0-05 is very low scoring. John Michael Nolan did well and the two wing backs (as you said old yeller) especially Martin Doyle who is still U16 and made some brilliant runs but had no options once he got into the forward line.

IMO whoever wins next Sunday between Erins Own and Carlow Town will win the minor championship.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 27/09/2009 22:51:34    438104

i dunno bout that. i think if carlow town get over a depleted erins own team, bkillen will fancy their chances. Theirs not a minor in carlow, or indeed in a lot of counties goin to hurl english no matter where he starts, so he gives them a great platform to build on. their scoring threat has a few weak links alrite, but maybe a few weeks work will strengthen that up.

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 28/09/2009 12:50:40    438512

actually hurlingguru martin doyle was also marking a under 16 and he only started making those runs when his man got tired near the end! also david english hurled exceptionally last night fair play to him

strimjim (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 28/09/2009 16:56:43    438844