Inspirational quotes

My brother need not be idealized, or enlarged in death beyond what he was in life; to be remembered simply as a good and decent man, who saw wrong and tried to right it, saw suffering and tried to heal it, saw war and tried to stop it.

Those of us who loved him and who take him to his rest today, pray that what he was to us and what he wished for others will some day come to pass for all the world.

As he said many times, in many parts of this nation, to those he touched and who sought to touch him:

"Some men see things as they are and say why.
I dream things that never were and say why not."

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 01/09/2009 13:24:15    411563

And may it be said of us, both in dark passages and in bright days, in the words of Tennyson that my brothers quoted and loved, and that have special meaning for me now:

"I am a part of all that I have met
To [Tho] much is taken, much abides
That which we are, we are -
One equal temper of heroic hearts
Strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield."

For me, a few hours ago, this campaign came to an end.

For all those whose cares have been our concern, the work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives, and the dream shall never die.

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 01/09/2009 13:26:20    411568

Was that the same lad that bombed the vietnamese to dust

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/09/2009 14:53:11    411679

There are some serious quotes in the Carrick/Sarsfields dressing room. ' Win the game lads '

Legan4life (Longford) - Posts: 209 - 01/09/2009 16:12:04    411829

thats just ridiculous leganman,why do you blame people for writing silly comments when you come out with something like that

barryhall (Leitrim) - Posts: 90 - 01/09/2009 23:45:22    412572

"May God have mercy on the enemy, because i wont'

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1677 - 04/09/2009 17:10:44    415742

Fatigue makes cowards of us all - Vince Lombardi

The Face (Monaghan) - Posts: 890 - 04/09/2009 17:27:18    415754

"Who are you? Who are you? I'll tell you who you are. When Im finished speaking we are going to walk out of wexford. Our goal is that the next time we set foot in this, our county, we will be Leinster Champions. On friday night there was a report, on television, from Offaly and in mentioning the word tradition they sang their anthem. It made me think about tradition and it's importance. And about this fantastic county of ours. A county of which we should be so proud. From the beach outside there to Courtown, Gorey, Ardamine, Blackwater, Curracloe, Wexford, Rosslare, Kilmore, Cullenstown, Fethard and The Hook. And back again to Ross, Mount Leinster, Rathnure and Enniscorthy. And of course Boolavogue.
That's who we are and that's where we come from.
Our people have real songs to sing. When they question the blood in our veins don't you ever forget that our county has a proud past and when other counties failed, ours was the only one of 32 countieswherein the people, your forefathers, rose and shook off the chains of bondage. Listen to 'Boolavogue' and 'The Boys of Wexford' and then think of Offaly. Why should we fear Offaly or Kilkenny or any other Irish county? Nothing in our past suggests that we should. Look at your names. Great Wexford names. Think of all the memories that this county of ours holds for you. For many of the bones of our nearest and dearest lie buries in the clay beneath your feet. Like yours will. Much sooner than you ever thought. This s our chance to make history. For which you will never be forgotten. You come from a fighting tradition and don't ever forget it.
Now we are going to walk up this road in silence. Out of our county. With the promise to each other that we will fight to the last- and remember it is only for 70 minutes. Not like your forefathers who had to fight for days on end. We will promise to give absolutely everything in order that the next time we set foot on Wexford soil we will carry back the Leinster Cup.
Today we are playing for a way of life.
Breathe in now, long and hard and as you walk, think of yourself since childhood, all of the matches you played, all of your friends both alive and gone, and make this promise to yourself. Today is the day we will be proud again. And remember:
'We are the boys of Wexford
Who faught with heart and hand.'

the_post (USA) - Posts: 186 - 06/09/2009 03:09:18    416763

Back her out there azy mikey and mind the new piston

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/09/2009 10:54:51    416825

come outta that hiace and dont step on me babby

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/09/2009 11:00:59    416835

Jules Pulp Fiction:
The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he, who in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother's keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with grrreeeat vengeance and fuuurrrious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee.

mr.blue (Mayo) - Posts: 71 - 09/09/2009 11:29:26    420305

Get busy living (winning) or get busy dying (losing) - Shawshank Redemption

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/09/2009 15:30:29    420650

get those bananas out of those panjanas

bananarama (Longford) - Posts: 354 - 15/09/2009 22:47:38    427264

we cant pull a rabbit out of a magicians a*** but we sure as hell can try,come on lads

DIN.FRU (Longford) - Posts: 34 - 15/09/2009 22:50:12    427269

''Jaysus lads the Mayo footballers would put up a better fight than yous did in that half, come on lads!!!''

Never actually heard that but will use it meself one day if the opportunity arrises!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 16/09/2009 14:25:39    427765

winning isnt everything it's the only thing.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1660 - 16/09/2009 14:29:45    427771

If you build it they will come.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12299 - 16/09/2009 15:10:08    427807

The longer we stay in the dressing room......the longer we stay in the championship!!

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 18/09/2009 03:00:04    429513

Breffni39

427807 If you build it they will come.

Shouldn't that be "if you build it, He will come" from the "Field of Dreams"

stingray (Wexford) - Posts: 75 - 18/09/2009 12:09:52    429707

stingray
County: Wexford

429707 Breffni39

427807 If you build it they will come.

Shouldn't that be "if you build it, He will come" from the "Field of Dreams"

Right you are. Should have known, seen the film enough times!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12299 - 18/09/2009 14:24:04    429847