Tipp to destroy Limerick?

Today was a disaster. Everything that could go wrong did. I dont think this is the end of the team or anything of the sort. As Waterford showed this year you can recover with the right attitude. We brought through few new guys this year and Justin will have learnt alot about the players. Best wishes to Tipp and KK and hope they produce a classic

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 16/08/2009 23:17:25    394018

Teams always get shown up in Croke Pairc. Limerick are past it with 3 years and its not they're fault that they got such an easy run but it is terrible for the game of hurling to have such mismatchs in both semi finals. Unfortunately its gotten to the point where teams are peaking for one single match and its just not good enough for a gulf in class like this to be there year in year out. It will ultimately ruin our beloved game.

defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 17/08/2009 10:00:04    394160

How were both semi finals a mis-match?

Waterford put it up to Kilkenny.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 17/08/2009 11:25:59    394236

Limerick are far from past it. We had 5 guys starting yesterday in their 1st season all from midfield forward. We have 2 excellent young defenders coming through. Mark Foley, Ollie Moran could be the only 2 real retirements. They will leave big gaps but we are not far off, Waterford, Galway, Cork and are better than Dublin Wexford, Offaly, Clare. At the moment Tipp and KK are about 5/6 points better than everyone else. We need to not overreact to what happened yesterday. Teams can have a bad day just ask Waterford last year or Dublin or Donegal this year.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 17/08/2009 13:54:55    394445

Agree SirShaughs.

The wheels came off big time yesterday but calmness is needed. I don't see anyone from Tipp getting carried away by the massacre so we should not either. We were hammered and you always get those who make light of it by laughing at the situation, but maybe now serious discussion will take place and a few things may chance.

i hope McCarthy stays & I hope most of the players do too. We need to rebuild. It may have been nearly thirty years ago, but the Offaly players and coaches persevered throughout the 1970's and got their reward winning Leinster in 1980 and the All-Ireland in 1981. We have to do whatever it takes to get quality players through and I think it starts with underage coaching. That's where Cody started, good enough for Kilkenny, good enough for us.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 17/08/2009 14:44:59    394490

Shaughs, Tipp beat Clare by 2, they beat ye by 24. How in the name of Jaysus do you reckon Limerick are better than Clare?

The_16th_Man (Clare) - Posts: 251 - 17/08/2009 14:45:45    394492

The_16th_Man: KK beat Dublin by 6, We beat Dublin by 4, so by your logic Tipp should beat KK by 24 points!!

I reckon we are better than the Clare team who won 1 game between league and championship this year.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 17/08/2009 15:25:17    394541

Shaughs, Tipp beat Clare by 2, they beat ye by 24. How in the name of Jaysus do you reckon Limerick are better than Clare?

I don't go with that sort of logic. In the league we beat Clare by a point, in last year's championship Clare beat us by 5 points. It's much of a much really, I don't think we are better or worse than Clare.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 17/08/2009 15:27:35    394547

No shaughs, it just means that Clare are better than Limerick

The_16th_Man (Clare) - Posts: 251 - 17/08/2009 17:43:30    394745

re: The_16th_Man

Anyone that basis strenght of teams "they beat so and so by whatever and only beat so and so by whatever" I would question their knowledge of hurling. Hurling matches are won and lost on the day and that in fact goes with any sport.

Right Ireland wonce drew with lichtenstein and say they then drew with Italy would that mean Lichtenstein are as good as italy?? And before anyone takes a pop I'm not saying any hurling team are the hurling equivalent of lichtenstein.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 17/08/2009 23:42:45    395120

Waterford did not put it up to Kilkenny it could have been a 15 point win if they wanted it to be. Fact 2 soft goals for the Deise only because they were so far behind and out of the game it was irrelevant.

defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 18/08/2009 14:29:36    395660

Lads, I was embarrased on Sunday.
The limerick team are nothing like this. Any genuine limerick supporter or gaa supporter would know this.
Gavin O' Mahoney and his free taking was very bad altogether which isn't like him.
Our full back line seemed wrecked. You could see how Lucey mis calculated the bounce to let Kelly score the goal. His lack of concentration would be down to playing both hurling, football and working as a doctor at the same time. Lucey is a master full back and he just wasn't himself on Sunday.
Horrendous wides too.
Hickey and Foley seemed to be the only ones working on sunday.

And to the person saying that clare are better then limerick, Im suprised. Clare have only won one match this year in the championship and league together and that was a relegation match. Limerick had an off-day Sunday. It was obvious although credit to Tipp, they are a class outfit and I wish them all the best against KiLKENNY.
Comparing Clares performance against Tipp in the munster championship to Limericks performance in the AI semi final really is pointless in trying to back up an argument as they are both at different stages of the competition dealing with different pressures, diferent pitches etc.
Until Clare can start winning matches (league ones at least!), I don't see any point in saying that Clare are a better outfit then Limerick. Thats just my opinion on it.

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 18/08/2009 15:41:41    395813

SirShaughs
County: Limerick

394445 Limerick are far from past it. We had 5 guys starting yesterday in their 1st season all from midfield forward. We have 2 excellent young defenders coming through. Mark Foley, Ollie Moran could be the only 2 real retirements. They will leave big gaps but we are not far off, Waterford, Galway, Cork and are better than Dublin Wexford, Offaly, Clare. At the moment Tipp and KK are about 5/6 points better than everyone else. We need to not overreact to what happened yesterday. Teams can have a bad day just ask Waterford last year or Dublin or Donegal this year.

Dont think foley is going yet.. ;)
Heard that he is going to try and stay on as long as he can hold up.

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 18/08/2009 15:48:24    395830

True Me Fein you are entitled to your opinion as I am to mine. If you gave the Liechtenstein lads hurls they'd prob have shown a bit more heart than the Limerick lads did anyway. Just my opinion.

The_16th_Man (Clare) - Posts: 251 - 18/08/2009 16:04:35    395864

Waterford did not put it up to Kilkenny it could have been a 15 point win if they wanted it to be. Fact 2 soft goals for the Deise only because they were so far behind and out of the game it was irrelevant. Yourself & Jimbodub need to learn that only the final score counts. Could should would = no good!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6484 - 18/08/2009 16:07:35    395870

I really hope he does stay, His career with Limerick shouldn't end like that.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 18/08/2009 16:11:17    395878

I thought he should have walked away after last year. I was proved very wrong and i really hope he stays around for another season or 2. If Tony Browne can do it so can Mark Foley

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 18/08/2009 16:37:56    395920

Mark Foley is a legend and doesn't get the recognition he deserves. A tireless battler for the cause.

The_16th_Man (Clare) - Posts: 251 - 18/08/2009 18:06:49    396038

Anyone think 45 euro was a bit steep for 1 senior and 1 minor match?

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 18/08/2009 19:23:38    396096

Will Donie be retiring?
He wouldn't be sucha big loss but you'd have to admit that you'd miss him.
The Limerick team wouldn't be the same without Donie Ryan.

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 18/08/2009 20:07:37    396129