Greatest game of all time

Ok Reddoctor.....You are a thorn in my side again.

Theres a thin line between taking the hand and blatant hatred, wise up you seem to be obsessed with Derry because more often than not your posts involve Derry in some shape or description even if the topic doesn't invove Derry!

'if my posts are getting to you derry wans i suggest win in ballybofey on sunday and brag all you want'- at the minute Derry hold more silverware this year than Tyrone, so if anyone deserves the bragging rights at the minute, its us.

'and as you can see from fermanaghs result on sunday -the beating you got last year from monaghan might be a better indicator of where this great derry team, joe brolly not me,. '- this just doesn't make any sense

On the 26/05/2008 at 10:30:21 you claimed 'i will promise not to slag derry of anymore until next monday'

and at 26/05/2008 13:41:41 you said 'its obviously hurtin too much to face the reality of another potless season'

that promise lasted long didn't it?!

Anyway onto more pressing matters, I suggest you stop slagging off Derry and look a bit closer to home, Tyrone have hardly set the scene alight recently. You say Tyrone, Dongal, Derry and Armagh are fighting it out for Ulster, you have completely dismissed Down not to mention Monaghan, I think you may have the edge on them but they will put it up to youse. So get your priorities right, winning comes first, bragging rights come second not the other way about. To be fair, if you do beat Down I can't see you getting past Armagh. But lets not count our chickens eh.

Doire abú

Also, while I got a little off-topic there great games I have watched before are:

Armagh v Dublin- 02
Kerry V Monaghan- 07
Derry V Dublin- 93
Derry v Armagh- 07 (I know this match wasn't televised, and there wasn't many Derry supporters at it but I can honestly say it was one of the best matches of last years championship, I think any other Derry, Armagh, Wexford or Fermanagh people or neutrals at the match would agree really nail biting stuff, just point for point)

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 26/05/2008 23:23:07    23977

** so I meant to say Fermanagh, not Monaghan!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/05/2008 10:33:24    24084

The greatest game of all time was without doubt the U12 'Millenium Shield' final between the mighty Lucan Sarsfields and the cowardly St. Judes in 1988 played at the St. Judes club grounds!

The game proved to be another first in GAA history and I should really post this on my own Myths and Legends thread as yet another great GAA story to come from one of Irelands most beautiful villages.

The brave fighting lads of Lucan like the bould neighbours child 'Paddy Sarsfield' who went before them battled hard but lost by a single point in front of a huge crowd to some absolute giants from St. Judes!

We were duly awarded our silver runner-up medals by the County Board chairman and were dissappointed!

But our manager smelt a rat!......Something was amiss!

Our manager recognised some of their players from an U14 match a few weeks previous and lodged an appeal with the county board who duly investigated and found that no fewer than 9 of the St. Judes players were over the U12 mark.

Two weeks later we had our end of season awards day where we watched 'Time Bandits' and gorged on the usual trio of a Mars bar a packet of Tayto and a bottle of 'Cadet' lemonade.
When the presentations were being made our manager pulled the Millenium Shield from a bag along with a handful of gold medals complete wif the old millenium crest in the middle and announced to us that St. Judes had been disqualified.
He proclaimed the Lucan Sarsfields U12's as the only team in the history of the GAA to come "First AND Second" in a competition!

I still have my gold and silver medals from those super days 20 years ago, back when boys were real boys, and that game is still spoken of with reverence around the pubs of beautiful Lucan village to this day!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/05/2008 10:39:10    24093

Ha thats an interesting post Snuf!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 27/05/2008 15:09:25    24345

Whats the story with Dublin clubs fielding illegal players. Its everywhere....inelegible lads playing for clubs second teams...players that arent even transferred and U16's playing adult...only county I hear of it happening

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/05/2008 15:14:21    24355

Whats the story with Dublin clubs fielding illegal players. Its everywhere....inelegible lads playing for clubs second teams...players that arent even transferred and U16's playing adult...only county I hear of it happening
tiobraid , 27/05/2008 at 15:14

Yep tiobraid - that would probably be my greatest game of all time too !!!!!!????

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 27/05/2008 15:17:56    24361

Ah yes ...the medal presentations were never short of a few bottles of 25p cadet lemonade. We were reared on mainly score red lemonade and cavan cola up north....

ball girl (Leitrim) - Posts: 194 - 27/05/2008 15:40:15    24375

Cavan cola!!........I'd say t'was pure water so!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/05/2008 16:13:10    24404

Aye it was....

after about twenty twelve year olds took a schlurp out of the one wee bottle....!!!

ball girl (Leitrim) - Posts: 194 - 27/05/2008 16:27:17    24415

Ball girl,
Awh C,mon yer not that poor down in Drumshanbo!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/05/2008 16:38:04    24418

think snuf has found a wee country girl :)

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 27/05/2008 16:44:18    24426

Thanks ball (hyphen) boy.
She'll have some competition for me from Niamh in here already!

Nah, sure I've said it already. I went out with a country girl before!
She was from Swinford, ......but her teeth weren't that bad!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/05/2008 17:07:27    24451

where on earth did you find a swinford woman now that is a rare species indeed snuf!!

went out with what i thought was a wicklow girls before snuf, can you imagine my disappointment when she told me the truth snuf but she was a good sport she took off her ear rings and we had great craic jumpin through them :)

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 27/05/2008 17:43:11    24486

after about twenty twelve year olds took a schlurp out of the one wee bottle....!!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 27/05/2008 21:53:30    24600

Its tough to pick a greatest game of all but il have to go with the wicklow and kildare game just gone :)

Concept82 (Wicklow) - Posts: 440 - 27/05/2008 22:32:10    24607

Offaly vs Limerick All-Ireland Final 1994 - "the 5 minute comeback!!"

biffo4life (Offaly) - Posts: 47 - 27/05/2008 23:24:12    24621

cough***

so anyway the greatest game of all time in my opinion was the 93 all-ireland final between Derry and Dublin

ball girl (Leitrim) - Posts: 194 - 28/05/2008 09:52:28    24707

Ah, Ball (hyphen) boy!

At least when she took off the ear rings and the green circle on the inside of each of your legs cleared up you knew it was nothing contageous after all!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/05/2008 11:02:20    24758

I agree with Ball Girl. One that's rarely mentioned but an absolute cracker of a match - Derry V Dublin in '93. 0-15 to 0-14 or something like that. Johnny McGurk kicked the winner at the death. An unbelievable match. It was a semi-final though; Derry beat Cork in the final. And Dublin were better that year than they were in '95.

Robbo (Monaghan) - Posts: 52 - 28/05/2008 12:21:07    24848

YE...APOLOGIES. Forgot that was a semi final. God tohill was immense back then too. Contagious!

ball girl (Leitrim) - Posts: 194 - 28/05/2008 14:49:29    24985