As a devoted Mayo supporter I am relatively new to Hoganstand but in the past 3 months I have taken notice of the amount of negative posts regarding Mayo football and people. I find it most frustrating to have to listen to tripe from people who hail from counties with no football pedigree. The only thing they are famous for is "not being famous for anything". In recent days I have seen comments from people from Antrim, and Louth about how Mayo choke and how predictable they are. Life in Antrim and Louth must be quite mundane when it is nearly always a given that whatever team ye are unlucky enough to face first will undoubtedly send ye packing to the Tommy Murphy Cup. In this past decade I will be the 1st to admit the Ulster football has done well, which was a welcome change. However I don't feel that anyone other than Tyrone should be offering advice. campbelltommy (Mayo) - Posts: 103 - 10/08/2009 18:51:11 386656 Link 0 |
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/08/2009 19:51:33 386727 Link 0 |
Tommy you are what is wrong with a lot of folk and part of the reason why Mayo get so much abuse directed at them - your disalousined with Mayo's place in Gaelic football, I wouldnt even put ye in the top 6. Ok you may have gotten to a few AI finals lately but ye have been hammered out d gate in most of them! And as for looking down on Louth - the last time they won an AI was in 1957 a full SIX years before ye're last. So take your head out of the clouds man and tell ye're fellow county men and women to do the same. Maybe then ye can end the famine!! nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 10/08/2009 20:03:13 386741 Link 0 |
what a hypocritical post!!!!!! kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 10/08/2009 20:32:27 386775 Link 0 |
I totally agree...........j..........there should be a test before you join to see are you mentally stable or not because alot here are not sound in mind Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 10/08/2009 20:33:11 386776 Link 0 |
Derry and Armagh, If Mayo need advice on how to win an All Ireland and then disappear off the radar we shall no doubt contact both respective counties.Don't you have to be ON the rador before you can disappear off it ?? Mayo would love to disappear off it Also you say ' have more than one good spell " Ever heard of CAVAN and DOWN ? ( yes, from pre 1990 ) Are you new to GAA or shall i send you a starter pack? Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 10/08/2009 20:50:52 386799 Link 0 |
well said tom derry are rubbish, but theres always 2010, i hate to burst your bubble but the only silverware mayo minors will be taking home is the spoons from whatever hotel there staying in. and your right how dare anyone from antrim lecture anybody from mayo bloody disgrace. reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 10/08/2009 20:53:35 386801 Link 0 |
10/08/2009 20:53:35 kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 10/08/2009 21:59:21 386884 Link 0 |
Agree totally Cranky, will you be the first to take the test? As for campbell well if that isn't the biggest load of self pitying feeling sorry for yourself nonsense I have heard in a long time. You say you are new to these boards so obviously you are not aware and haven't followed the Mayo wind ups, insults, boasts etc that we have been accustomed to on HS for a long long time. The only reason I started to reply to some of these was because no one else was and somebody had to take them to task. Of course Mayo fans are disappointed but sport, and life, are hard and unfair and it's a big bad world out there. What makes it far worse is if you can't back up your words with actions and the Mayo team, though talented footballers, can't. So yes you are entitled to feel sore but get over it and stop digging the big hole for yourselves every year. I have received far far worse in sport, work and at home than a few slaggings on HS. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9837 - 10/08/2009 22:00:22 386890 Link 0 |
Fair play to you writing that but what a waste of half an hour, What are you trying to achieve? Call me naive but if Derry got the teams Mayo got this year we would of got to the semis, I used to have time for yous mayo men but I have lost hope in the mayo lads this year Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 10/08/2009 22:22:50 386921 Link 0 |
Give it a day or two and the Mayo mafia will be back with a thread - Mayo, favourites for Sam 2010. You wouldn't mind if they were only pulling your leg but some of these guys actually want us all to believe it, agree with them and often take offence whenever others question their title credentials year in year out. mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 10/08/2009 22:28:51 386935 Link 0 |
Why did your parents give you a first name for a last name and a last name for a first name? RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 10/08/2009 22:36:24 386953 Link 0 |
Campbelltommy appears suddenly and claims to be from Mayo?................ I SMELL A WIND UP! Lads why do ye keep falling for these? Ignore them and they get bored and feck off for a while. Any northern team fans i have met are nearly all sound skins who love their football as much as the rest of us. Their football record is good in recent years so cut the scutther........ These posts are getting boring now, really boring. Empty vessels and all that........... Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 10/08/2009 22:42:36 386969 Link 0 |
ElTel (Longford) - Posts: 125 - 10/08/2009 22:57:01 386999 Link 0 |
The bitterness is strong in this one. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 10/08/2009 23:22:20 387044 Link 0 |
campbelltommy My apologies Real Louth Fan aka RALF has knocked many on here including many who would be close to home so my advice to you would be pay no heed to this individual and or his follies. Squid squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 10/08/2009 23:24:20 387052 Link 0 |
Theres so much wrong with that post i dont know where to start. Actually, its late, maybe i should just leave it... Omen (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 11/08/2009 03:06:44 387214 Link 0 |
Well said Omen. The fact is thae Mayo people on this site seem to have a major chip on their shoulders. When did they last win an all ireland anyway? Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/08/2009 11:40:43 387466 Link 0 |
Brolly paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/08/2009 11:51:34 387477 Link 0 |
Sounds like someone needs a hug and a hanky... Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 11/08/2009 12:03:07 387500 Link 0 |