Hill 16

just want to say well done to all the lads on the hill on sun great colur and support and you were all in full voice done the county proud,out numbered the mayo lads 10to1.hope to see even more there up there againist kerry cause will we need every help we can get. HILL16 IS NOW ROYAL ONLY.cheers dublin for keeping it warm for us while we were away.

meath4sam (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 10/08/2009 17:06:15    386479

I agree, great atmosphere on the Hill and great support during the whole game.

The one thing I disliked though is the booing of the oppositions free taker, the same already happened in Portlaoise. This just drops our standards to Dublin's supporters standard and we should rather focus on supporting our own team than booing the opposition....

Green_and_Gold (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 10/08/2009 17:36:31    386552

Fair play to all the Meath lads in the Hill. You could hear the old 'COME...ON...YOU....BOYS IN GREEN' loud and clear. It created a great atmosphere. Visually the hill looked great decked out mainly with green and gold. I was ragin i couldnt get into the hill. Damn those season tickets!

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 10/08/2009 19:02:53    386664

Green_and_Gold

Were the Mayo fans not booing Cian Ward when he was taking the penalty? I was in the canal end and the whistling was deafining. This is always going to happen, especially if its a dodgy refereeing decision. I didn't think the meath fans were booing excessively anyway.

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 10/08/2009 19:22:38    386696

Excellent craic in the Hill alright, nice the way you can have a fag as the final ten minutes begins without some do-gooder getting on to you. Best atmosphere on the Hill in in ages.

Every county has supporters who boo. Its not unique to Dublin supporters. If you don't like it then grow a pair and say something to them there and then and don't be giving out about them on an anonymous message board such as this.

royalmick (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 10/08/2009 19:35:51    386708

Yeah great atmosphere on the hill. Great noise and colour. lets deck it out for the Kerry match

Theheinoking (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 10/08/2009 19:52:43    386731

hill was brillant ystrday..will defo b dere against kerry cheern n da lads...Cumn the Royals!!!
(JUST A QUESTION?-will the hill defo b open against kerry??if it isnt their will b no atmosphere atal..)

fergal5 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 10/08/2009 20:22:49    386760

Lebowski, I agree other counties boo freetakers too but then again it does not justify us doing it. I just think it does not show the respect that the players deserve.

royalmick, I am also a season ticket holder and hence could not be on the Hill like I would normally have been, so I could not comment in person.

Again, I think it was a great atmosphere and this was just something that I think does not belong into any sport. No criticism to our supporters but why can we not start not to boo players

Green_and_Gold (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 10/08/2009 21:46:13    386858

Lebowski, I agree other counties boo freetakers too but then again it does not justify us doing it. I just think it does not show the respect that the players deserve.

royalmick, I am also a season ticket holder and hence could not be on the Hill like I would normally have been, so I could not comment in person.

Again, I think it was a great atmosphere and this was just something that I think does not belong into any sport. No criticism to our supporters but why can we not start and set an example by not to booing players

Green_and_Gold (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 10/08/2009 22:00:16    386889

The hill was brilliant on Sunday.
Even tho im a season ticket holder, if gave that to a mate & went on the hill myself. Super athmosphere & great support for the lads.

It should be open for the semi as croke park would get serious slack for nor giving the option of the cheaper ticket, considering Meath fans have already paid more for their quarter final ticket than kerry.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 10/08/2009 22:34:33    386950

Fergal yes the Hill will defo be open for the semi, tickets are the same price.

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 10/08/2009 23:10:21    387024

Green and gold .. "This just drops our standards to Dublin's supporters standard" , get a grip pal , before i go any further id just like to say i have NO PROBLEM WITH MEATH OR YOUR FANS , but its small minded people like yourself that give gaelic games supporters a bad name , yes we do boo and YES it is UNACCEPTABLE but to blame the booing soley on the dubs is childish , take a look at yourselfs before you comment on the dubs or any other fans in the country for that matter . is it just me or is this thred in particular is full of newcomers to the forum when meath are actually doing well , the likes of you green and gold , royal mick , the heinoking , fergal5 and meath for sam , where were yous last year when yous got embarrased by limerick , or when yous scraped past them this year ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 11/08/2009 00:03:50    387124

waynoI, just to clarify, I am not a newcomer to the board but I normally do not post here. I am not sure if there is any place where you can view the details of my profile but it was created years ago. Low number of posts does not necessarily mean a newcomer.

I mentioned above that it is not only Dublin or Meath supporters that are responsible for the booing. Again I am just saying this is something that should be avoided out of respect to the players and all supporters should focus the energies on supporting their own team.

Green_and_Gold (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 11/08/2009 00:31:28    387156

Well we at the matches, and I'm not really an internet social guy, until their was something to actually talk about on the web. Yeah I know yiz don't all do it but its a fact that you have a higher propertion of fairweather primaraly soccer supporters that treat the GAA like Old Trafford, that yous cause that much trouble yaz get the few Meath fans thrown outta the hill and throw vodka bottles at them and boo kieran donegy for trying to give an interview and boo cuz Mayo want to warm up at a random end of the pitch... But yeah it was more the booing when they came back from the 2nd half that annoyed me... its not like their is any intense rivally between us and Mayo or that they were playing dirty.

holmesholmes23 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 11/08/2009 02:25:38    387210

Embarrassed by Limerick maybe,but what would you call Dublins demolition by Tyrone last year and Kerry this year. And as for a bandwagon there is nothing like the Dublin bandwagon in the whole of the GAA.

Spirit_of_1996 (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 11/08/2009 09:14:40    387265

From my experience the Dubs are some of the best supporters. Unfortunately most counties have a type of fan who will boo at opposition team when frees are being taken and most counties have fans who expect the ref to give all decisions their way

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/08/2009 09:25:34    387281

Anyone who sat in the old Nally and had bottles and objects raining down on them wouldn't have anything good to say about the dubs

Dickie (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 11/08/2009 10:29:08    387349

No tickets on sale for the hill!!!!!
But they are for the other semi?
Whats the deal?

Scarface (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 11/08/2009 11:31:19    387449

was just n ticketmaster and there is no tics n sale for the hill...hopefully this is jus n ticketmaster..bu if its not going to be open i say we all complain to the gaa..we are goin to hav to buy a ticket for 45 and it will also result in their being no atmosphere atal..If they only opened a section of the hill you would nearly fill it..

fergal5 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 11/08/2009 12:40:27    387558

croke park said hill will be opened..tickets arent on sale at moment. probably waiting for everyone to buy the 45e ones.

Lreilly (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 11/08/2009 12:58:10    387586