I have always been a Whelo fan. He embodies everything that is great about heroes in the game of Gaelic football...strength, athleticism, determination, agression, skill and passion. The guy has been a hero of mine since 96 when he burst onto the scene. Many opposition fans will say that he was dirty. He was not dirty, he was agressive and in times when he was sent off it was usually a retaliatory strike having been sinned against first. His legendary fielding and picking-off of points from left and right wings will live long in the memory. I remember him knocking over an unbeliebavle point in the first game against Kerry in Thurles in 2001 from the right wing into the Hill on tour. To be followed by memorable goals from Vinny and Darren Homan but Whelo started the comeback. Oh how we could do with that spirit now!! IMO Whelo, if he hangs up the boots now, will be the most talented footballer of his generation not to have won an AI. So in anticipation of an announcement from Whelo I would just like to say hats off to you Ciaran. You will go down as one of our greats and I hope that if you do hang up the boots that you continue to support the team from the Hill. It's in the blood I'm sure. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 07/08/2009 15:47:40 382830 Link 0 |
Joxer, to say I second all your sentiments on Whelan is an understatement. He was the KING!!! Oozed talent, class, skill, speed......the list is endless and yes to see him leave the big stage without that elusive medal is just so sad and such a shame. I think it was also shameful that in his last year he dident start one championship game. What an insult to the man. He was our leader, the lads all looked up to him and he was the darling of the Hill. I reckon Gilroy is the only Dublin Manager to have left Whelo on the bench. Dont know if you recall but that awful day against Tyrone last year when poor owl Pillar was gutted one of the first things he did in his post match interview was praise and thank Whelo....said that despite all that went wrong for them that day he stood out and battled right to the final whistle and did all he could to lift the spirit of the entire team. That interview stands out in my mind for that very reason. As someone who hails from that northside suburb of Rath Eanna, I salute ye Ciaran and thank ye for all youve given us to be so proud of over the last 14 yrs.....You truely are a legend and will go down in the anals........ Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 07/08/2009 16:08:46 382879 Link 0 |
He was a great servant to Dublin football nd owe's them nothing! I alway's liked him as a player but unfortunately had an awful dirty streak, that aside still some player!! mozsyh (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 07/08/2009 16:46:02 382988 Link 0 |
Whelan, You´re standard midfield man. Never had enough to put it up to Dara o Se. Only put in midfield to catch the high ball and lay iit off, but never managed to do it against Dara. Seasoned_pro (UK) - Posts: 27 - 07/08/2009 22:10:51 383367 Link 0 |
seasoned pro you obviously didn't see the Dublin vs Kerry match two years ago ... Whelan wiped the floor with O Se and many kerry posters acknowledged that. Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 09/08/2009 16:26:12 384738 Link 0 |
ARE YE FOR REAL?? the most over hyped player in the history of the gaa!! 1 he IS a dirty player, he should have got red against kerry for elbowing mahony (and thats from a cork supporter) 2 he never played for a full 70 mins and 3 he NEVER got the better of o se on the big day! over hyped by the red top media, he wouldn come near o se, mc dermott or tohill! fatfullforward (Cork) - Posts: 11 - 11/08/2009 20:29:02 388511 Link 0 |
There isnt a player in the country that has wiped the floor with Dara OSE never mind Ciarian Whelan wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 11/08/2009 21:04:22 388550 Link 0 |
The chap never won an all ireland. End of story. bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1826 - 11/08/2009 21:05:15 388551 Link 0 |
No doubting the mans football ability one of dublins best midfielders but he often sullied himself with his tactics, joxer as regards him being sinned aginst first that certainly wasnt the case in 2005 when he put Nigel Crawford out the game at the throw in with no provocation. Actions such as that and last Monday week have taken away from his legacy as a player but i still admire his ability and dedication, just a pity about his dark side. Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 11/08/2009 22:22:57 388674 Link 0 |
he hasnt hung up his boots yet bert09, so get back in your box, ye only beat a rubbish mayo team. end of story......... SamMaguire10 (UK) - Posts: 103 - 11/08/2009 22:30:16 388693 Link 0 |
if i was from dublin i would be happy he is hanging up the boots. joeyboy09 (Kildare) - Posts: 66 - 12/08/2009 02:49:46 388978 Link 0 |
Quite simply , a legend and along with Paddy Chrsitie , one of the best Dubs never to win an all Ireland medal. Hope he has another year left in the tank but if he hasn't thanks for all the effort , blood sweat & tears you've put on the line for the Dubs over the years.........**** the begrudgers!! dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 12/08/2009 10:39:17 389115 Link 0 |
I think they call it Karma. Should've had a more than lenghtly ban in 2005 as aforementined, for what he did to Nigel Crawford but escaped with a yellow. It's a grudge every Meathman has held since and we're quite happy he'll have no AI. holmesholmes23 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 12/08/2009 12:25:13 389263 Link 0 |
Have always liked Ciaran Whelan but do agree with some posts that he hasnt played for a full 70 minutes over the past number of years. Nevertheless, hes a massive presence, brings great intensity to a game and will always give it his best. Hope he gives it another year! canalenddub (Dublin) - Posts: 4 - 12/08/2009 17:01:47 389723 Link 0 |
Agree with the original sentiments expressed above on Whelo. The closest Dublin have come to another Brian Mullins and an absolute legend of Dublin football. If he does hang up the boots can only thank him for all the great displays over the last 13 years. As regards our Meath friends and their begrudgery.....have to laugh at them. I grew up watching great Meath - Dublin battles in the 80s when digs were taken and given but never moaned about afterwards. Men like Harnan , Lyons and O'Rourke were as tough as they come...Whelo would hold his own with them no doubt. Great to see him make the Leinster team of the last 25 years also. Whelo and John McDermott at midfield.....some combination lads! superblues (Dublin) - Posts: 32 - 12/08/2009 17:25:13 389759 Link 0 |
Never been my favourite player but its hard to deny that the man was a brilliant fielder of the ball. I still can't believe he wasn't started last Monday, but I suppose the management are trying to stop the rest of the team being dependant on players like him, Jayo and Ryan. Never liked the dirty side of his game but it just showed the passion he had for it. I think Dublin will be a poorer team if he does decide to hang up his boots but good luck to him. Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 12/08/2009 23:26:56 390182 Link 0 |
Don't think Whelan has any case to answer for in the Crawford incident. He received a slap in the face from Crawford as he fielded the ball and reacted by slapping (open palm) Crawford back in the face when he landed. Crawford went down like a tonne of bricks and Geraghty spoke to the ref out of the side of his mouth, presumably trying to get Whelan sent off. It didn't happen. Again this was a case of retaliating for a strike that he received. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 14/08/2009 10:33:32 391761 Link 0 |
As a mayoman I would like to wish ciaran the best in whatever decision he makes about his gaa career.He has been a great servant to the game and my memories of him catching huge kickouts will live long in the memory.He was a classic midfield player and one whose equivalent is unfortunately becoming rarer and rarer.He was treated like dirt by the dublin management this year and his presence would have served to quicken up ross mcconnells(who I think is going to be an excellent player) progress.So thanks for the memories Ciaran and I hope you enjoyed playing as much as I enjoyed watching. maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 14/08/2009 11:21:32 391832 Link 0 |
Joxer trying to defend what happened 4 years ago is bad enough but dont try to defend what he done against Kerry, im not arguing that he is'nt a great footballer and a "Dublin Legend" but on both those occasions he was wrong and should have been sent off. Pat McEnaney expressed on Newstalk Off the Ball after the Kerry match that he did get the Whelan call wrong and I doubt he would be in the dock over it at the moment if it was "a reaction". Again not denying he is a great footballer with great dedictaion and drive and I admire his longevity and his total effort to your cause but if someone is wrong then they are wrong irregardless of their standing. And before you start yes there were plenty from my own county in the same mould and I never went out of my way to defend them when they overstepped the mark as such actions cannot and should not be defended. Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 14/08/2009 12:18:17 391926 Link 0 |
And despite all that I still think Pat Gilroy was crazy not to start him against Kerry and then expect him to rescue the game when he had paractically no game time all year, but thats managers for you! Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 14/08/2009 12:23:34 391944 Link 0 |