Meath/Mayo: neutrals

Mayo should beat meath and been quite frankly honest if they want to have any hope against kerry they would need to beat them by as much as cork beat donegal or kerry beat dublin. If they do win on sunday i expect they will lose maybe by around 3 points to kerry whereas meath could be up for a similar rout to what some teams endured this weekend. I dont mind meath but that is my gut instinct. No bray no win as well.....

Longjumper (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 05/08/2009 00:39:38    378275

Nobody in their right senses in Mayo is looking forward to any semi-final, we are not underestimating Meath at all (despite what some posters here claiming to be from Mayo might say)

It will be a tight game I think but Croke Park is a big pitch and our forwards I think have that little bit extra. Still no chicken being counted here.

And if we win Kerry is absolutely the best draw possible for us. Still think they are that bit better than us and have more big game experience.

mayosufferer (Mayo) - Posts: 25 - 05/08/2009 01:47:02    378310

im sure yopo was referring to the fact that mayo beat kerry in the 1996 all ireland semi final. In fairness mayo couldnt beat meath in 1996, had two attempts and both times they handed it back to the royals, heart breaking stuff to be there those two days, couldnt even get drunk as i was still too young. third time lucky, bring it on. Up Mayo

mountdaisy (Mayo) - Posts: 37 - 05/08/2009 02:10:20    378322

Mayo will give Kerry a good game if they get past Meath. Kerry will not be nearly as fired up as they were for the Dublin game, and Mayo won't freeze in a semi-final. In between the two all-Ireland final cakewalks, the teams met in the 2005 quarter-final, and Kerry only won by 3 points (2-15 to 0-18). This time, I'd expect Kerry to win by 4 or 5 points.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1037 - 05/08/2009 02:24:59    378326

bogger from meath

YOPO9

Best get your facts straight. Mayo did not face Meath in the semi in 1996, It was the All Ireland Final.

I'm pretty sure YOP09 is referring to semi in 96 in which we beat Kerry, by 4 or 5 pints if memory serves...

Mayo_Chief (Mayo) - Posts: 4 - 05/08/2009 09:08:51    378380

Mayo hav'nt beaten Meath in the championship since 1951 could this be the year, i think we can but it won't be the walk in the park that some mayo post's are saying.

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 05/08/2009 10:10:14    378457

mayo!

& a cork v kerry final ;)

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 05/08/2009 10:25:29    378480

id imagine mayo would give kerry a closer run for their money. They are 100% the draw i wanted and I genuinely believe we can beat them, with a bit of luck. Thats if we get past meath of course. I dont understand how people can base their argument purely on the fact that meath beat mayo 13 years ago. Are they going to spring mcdermott, giles and co off the bench and hope we throw on pat holmes and the lads? Get real, they are 100% completly different teams, and mayo are the better side at the minute.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/08/2009 11:01:45    378559

Expect Mayo to win and would anticipate they would give Kerry a better game than Meath in the semi if they do. Whilst Mayo have often bottled it on final day they do have quite a decent history of beating favourites in the all-ireland semis. Kerry in 96 (I think) and Dublin in 06 spring to mind.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 05/08/2009 11:07:59    378577

Master, I agree what happened 13 years ago is completely irrelevant to sunday's match. I think Meath will struggle to beat Mayo and without Bray it will be even harder. Who's the ref for sunday, I think he could have a big bearing on Sunday's game. Will he let the quick free be taken which would suit Mayo's style or will he be fussy and slow the kicker which would suit Meath. Also I have seen a change in Mayo's style under O'Mahony will less emphasis on Handpassing (basketball) and more emphasis on Kick passing and I believe this will suit Meath on the other hand Meath have been at the handpassing game to some degree and it has led directly to some scores against us as we are alien to this type of game. Hope it's a good game on sunday.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 05/08/2009 11:41:32    378670

Going on all Meath have done in the championship to date but particulary last weekend against Limerick you would have to fancy Mayo here. However having said this Meath are no daws and if ever a team existed who know how to win ugly Meath are that team so write them of at your peril.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 05/08/2009 12:03:05    378730

As the lads said, I don't think anybody in Mayo is taking Meath lightly. They've 2 or 3 point-scoring forwards and a couple of exceptional defenders in Caoimhin King and Anthony Moyles.

The game will be won for Mayo around the middle of the park, however. McGarrity and Heaney (provided he's put there) are just too good for their counterparts. Crawford can be good on his day, but is inconsistent at best, and Mayo have a great ability to hoover up breaking ball.

That said, as Monday showed us - if your head isn't in the right place then any team can beat the other on the given day.

Mayo by 4pts.

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 05/08/2009 15:30:47    379213

Of academic interest now but: 1996 A-I Semi-final result: Mayo 2-13, Kerry 1-10 (would have been more if John Madden wasn't looking up at himself on the big screen and let a 50m shot for a point go straight into the net)... I'm sure John has never forgotten!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/08/2009 16:23:14    379361

Mayo- just to see them get hammered by Kerry!!

CrossBar (Galway) - Posts: 362 - 05/08/2009 16:35:58    379395

I expect Meath to win and don't rate mayo as high as some of the posters on here do.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 05/08/2009 16:40:55    379415

like to see meath win as they would give kerry a better game

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 05/08/2009 18:51:17    379693

Meath

Tyr08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 435 - 05/08/2009 19:22:56    379757

Yop09

377684 well we beat them in 96 in the semi only for john madden to let the ball bounce over his head in the drawn game against ye!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yeah but he did have an American football game coming out on the following week.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 05/08/2009 19:33:39    379767

i doubt the meath supporters are going to stay nice and quiet on hill 16 this sunday. the fact that were playn mayo will just make the lads more passionate!

donaldo (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 06/08/2009 17:53:08    381473

keano while the mayo midfield is very good i think your under estimating crawford and meade, crawford is playing the best football of his career and meade seems to be the perfect foil for him, mcguinness and kenny are fighting for everybreak aswell. i would say the nippyness of the mayo forwards is where mayo will win the game. if we can get quality ball to inside forwards we will score but mayo should have too much

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 06/08/2009 18:20:58    381522