Meath/Mayo: neutrals

Just a quick question. Who would the neutrals rather see face Kerry in the All Ireland semi-final? I'm obviously biased but if I were indeed neutral, the last thing I would wish to witness is a Mayo team AGAIN timidly keeling over and failing miserably against Kerry team cruising in second gear. Now, the present Meath team is but a pale shadow of the 2001 vintage, but if I remember correctly, the last time Meath played Kerry they acquitted themselves pretty decently, didn't they?

KidChocolate (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 04/08/2009 19:06:21    377569

Mayo.
not abit sour because of the defeat or anything by the way.
Just have family up in mayo and Id like to see them win.
Although another factor was the meath guys up in the terraces on saturday. They really make me want mayo to win now!!!!!!

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 04/08/2009 20:44:21    377676

well we beat them in 96 in the semi only for john madden to let the ball bounce over his head in the drawn game against ye!

Yop09 (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 04/08/2009 20:48:25    377684

Am staying Neutral I will go all sesame street and go for a team beginning with the Letter M

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 04/08/2009 21:07:07    377723

Choco baby you want a nuetral view and here it is - Mayo are a very good team , they will beat Meath and they will put it up to Kerry big time.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 04/08/2009 21:11:47    377734

I would go for Mayo. Nothing against Meath but just think mayo are classy football team.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 04/08/2009 21:24:24    377768

Yeah them meath boys on the terrace looked scary and aggresive, i hope to god were not going to see this craic creep into gaa, where ya feel intimadated by opposing fans. I have started to bring my kids this year, but i would not bring them if this was the case, would like to know more about it if anbody could tell me.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 04/08/2009 21:38:00    377810

51 ye havent been to the bearpit yet .............

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 04/08/2009 21:52:30    377853

51 we promise to stay quiet for you!

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 04/08/2009 21:55:51    377867

51..i will b shoutn twice as loud n sunday...cumn the royals!!!!:)

fergal5 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 04/08/2009 22:06:56    377898

Definitely Mayo. Remember the Meath collapse of 01, we could have something similiar here. If anyone can put steel in Mayo O'Mahony can. Either way if Mayo are being beat they will take it, whereas the Meathman will drag the game in to the gutter with his antics. So its Mayo all the way for me.

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 04/08/2009 22:25:31    377967

Meath fans are grand......D'ont prod them with a stick and they will be ok !!!!!!!!

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 04/08/2009 22:26:10    377969

gaillimh73

What do you mean mayo will take it if they are beaten? The same way they took it so well in 96? HaHa

clubman17 (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 04/08/2009 22:36:57    378007

Mayo would give kerry a better game

an_baile_nua (Tyrone) - Posts: 224 - 04/08/2009 22:51:02    378049

Mayo and Meath,they deserve each other! Hope its a draw.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 04/08/2009 22:56:37    378068

Galway passed the test with flying colours. The tentative wides were replaced with assertive scoring as Meath heads started to drop. Truth be told, Meath were finished as early as the 50th minute, when Nigel Nestor was sent off for his second bookable offence, hauling down Paul Clancy. The now-prolific Padraig Joyce continued to put daylight between the teams, as Meath were fading fast. A lifeline was handed to Meath in the 57th minute when the Royals were gifted a penalty. The task of rescuing the All Ireland for Meath fell to Trevor Giles, who had been missing in action so far. He gingerly hit the spot kick left and wide of the Galway goal, and Meath were effectively finished.

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 04/08/2009 23:03:21    378086

Didn't Roscommon beat Galway in 2001?

Royalty (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 04/08/2009 23:30:37    378169

I think mayo will win by 5 to 10 points, big strong team with good forwards,meath havent enough up front to test them,as for kerry and mayo it will be alot tighter than people think dublin were found out again for been a poor team,mayo are a lot better than dublin if the get a good start the could be in with a great chance.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 04/08/2009 23:40:58    378193

YOPO9

Best get your facts straight. Mayo did not face Meath in the semi in 1996, It was the All Ireland Final.

bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 04/08/2009 23:51:49    378214

gaillimh. I think you are living in the past and we beat use the last time we played use.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 05/08/2009 00:23:23    378259