Kerry minors used more subs than allowed!!!!

It does appear that Kerry made 9 substitutions. Either 6 in normal time or 4 in extra time (One substitute was made on 60). Seeing as it's Kerry that's involved I'm sure this could be dealt with by way of a fine rather than forfeiture of the match. Somebody should raise the matter. 2.4 (i) A maximum of five substitutions shall be allowed. A substitution is not allowed in the case of a player ordered off. (ii) For extra time, a further three substitutions shall be allowed. A player ordered off, in any circumstance, during the drawn game, may not play in extra time but may be replaced. In the past results have been reversed at senior because of this and there is a rule. http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2002/0320/kildare.html

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 04/08/2009 17:32:46    377410

Are ya sure none were blood subs?

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 04/08/2009 17:39:21    377427

Think there may be loophole for them in the fact that Eanna O'Connor (who is the son of Jack I think, though I'm not entirely certain) was taken off in normal time and came back on in extra-time.

JOKERMAN (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 04/08/2009 17:50:36    377449

nope no blood subs! & end of the day rules are rules! Kerry broke them let's see what happens?????

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 04/08/2009 17:53:44    377457

For god sake man, whist up! Sur you like myself are from a county that doesnt matter to the powers that be.. ye got an all ireland minor a few years ago, we ve got a pair of christy rings, sur shudnt we be happy...!! A rule is a rule for us, but not for the bigger counties.. well spotted though. Will there be an objection do you think?

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 04/08/2009 18:37:22    377532

I guarantee you if Roscommon had used too many subs, the game would be replayed but as it's Kerry involved, they'll probably get a slap on the wrist and it will be forgotten about.

Ram.Robber (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 04/08/2009 19:58:01    377604

Eanna o'connor did come off and went back on again in extra time...

Peter Canavan did the same albeit not in extra time against Kerry in 2005...

...still if you're from Roscommon ...you'll try anything ...

Eams (Kerry) - Posts: 5 - 04/08/2009 19:58:03    377605

One sub was made on the 60th minute. If there were not blood subs, did the substitution make any difference to the result in normal time? Who was in possession when the normal time whistle went. Would the time taken to bring on that sub have made any difference? In any case there was extra time to settle the result which would seem a lot fairer? If a rule is broken, fair enough. But if the rule was broken which would have made no difference to the end result and would probably result in the game being handed to Roscommon (who over 80 minutes deserve to lose) would'nt it be very unfair to have the result changed?? What if the tables were turned?

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 04/08/2009 20:46:06    377682

in reply to john boss, even the most hardcore kerry fan at yesterday game knows Roscommon at least deserved a Draw, we fought back twice & by the time 60mins was up they had given there all, so many roscommon players were flat out

we would have be beaten in 2006 Final also if it went to extra time ;)

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 04/08/2009 21:17:23    377750

If this did happen I think it should just be forgotton about.
I was happy with our performance and the fact that we produced yet another very competitive minor team.
Time to move on and concentate on our Co. Junior and Club Championships.
Best of luck to Kerry in the Semi Final

ross (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 04/08/2009 21:51:16    377848

sure in the minor game a roscommon man done umpire that is a disgrace lucky nothing happened

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/08/2009 22:10:38    377917

I think Kerry won fair and square,no complaints.It was a great game minor football is so honest.I would'nt think that the extra sub made that much difference (or an umpire(?)).It is terrific for a small county(28 clubs) like us can compete with the traditional powers like Kerry at underage,in the last 4 years we have had very strong minor teams and hopefully down the line we can start makin inroads at senior level.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 04/08/2009 23:40:45    378192

Lads is there not a rule saying that a team can start with any fifteen players from their panel in extra time, as if it were a new game.

Maybe kerry made one change between normal and extra time...this would not be counted as a sub

clubman17 (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 05/08/2009 00:21:42    378256

in Reply to fredrickwood, yes i thought the same as i walked out of Croke park, but hardly FAIR if they did indeed use 9 subs? afterall one of those subs came on in extra time & scored 1-1!!!!

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 05/08/2009 02:51:01    378332

If they used too many subs, then they should be penalised. Rules are rules, and whether or not the extra sub(s) affected the result is irrelevant. Of course nothing will happen though. A few years ago, Cork used too many subs in a Munster senior football final against Tipperary. According to the rules, the game should have been awarded to Tipp but the GAA just ignored the incident. I find it incredible that team managements can mess up like this - how bloody hard is it to count up to 5?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1041 - 05/08/2009 07:08:39    378360

How have yee done it in Roscommon at underage? Fair play.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1899 - 05/08/2009 09:08:37    378379

Hardly matter lads, Armagh's going to win the semi final anyway :)

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 05/08/2009 10:08:27    378454

if a sub was made on sixty minutes was this during the break btwn full time and extra time as i think extra time is deemed a new match, this goes i think as far as if a team has a man sent off in normal time they can start extra time with 15.

i may be wrong but i think a ref told me this one time...

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 05/08/2009 10:16:44    378467

I could be wrong here, but im pretty sure im right. Extra time is considered a new game, even if a man gets sent off , you can still start with 15 in extra time, now ya can't start the man who was sent off but ya still can start a fresh 15, same applies to subs ithink and persume. Otherwise i don't think it would bo logical to be allowed ignore a sending off, and not be able to use fresh subs, if ya get what i mean.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 05/08/2009 10:40:49    378516

Offaly got away with this in the past againt Kildare, so the precedent is set.

AI2009 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 05/08/2009 11:10:51    378583