Motavational Music

lads surprise anyone hasn't mentioned the rocky soundtrack, pure gold for training,works with Running or Weights equally well. Anything by the dubliners, Rare Ould Times, The Ferryman, and Thin Lizzy 'the boyz are back in town'. Also like U2's stuff.

dubs4ever08 (Dublin) - Posts: 37 - 22/05/2008 15:26:52    22359

ah see ballboy thats where you and your mad team of scientists are wrong!!
Maybe if ye listened to a little more "bull music" and did less sitting in silence.....ye might finally feckin win something!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/05/2008 15:27:49    22361

Actually most drum and bass / hardcore tracks get me pumped to do something. I listen to stuff like that before I go running. If you aren't familiar with electronic music, these are songs with a very fast BPM I'm talking about here. Like, twice as fast as the music you probably listen to (unless you like jazz or something like that). I wish I could listen to it while I was running, but I find it hard to beat-breathe when I've got music playing in the background.
Per Ignem , 22/05/2008 at 14:51

A mate of mine works in Croker near the dressing rooms and he swears he heard 'Sam'' by Olivia Newton John blaring out of the Mayo dressing room before their last two final appearances! You know the lyrics -
Oh Sam, Sam, you know where I am
And the door is open wide
Come on inside
Longing to see you
Oh Sam, Sam, you know where I am

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 22/05/2008 15:29:08    22362

Ball boy....you have some strange theories!!! You see players from the foreign sport across the water to ordinary gaa club players with head phones in before matches. The fact is you wouldnt know as you probably didnt play football too long by the sounds of things. Are you one of these lads that wasnt good enough to make the clubs junior team...so dreamed of refereeing but only ever made it as a linesman!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/05/2008 15:44:59    22378

the green and red of mayo

take me home to mayo

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 22/05/2008 15:51:37    22388

liam its working plenty on average losing 2 games a season league and cup in rugby- i happy out, and i know what im talking about

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 22/05/2008 15:56:07    22392

motherhead the ace of spades, was our motavational song on the way back from kerry there, was a messy weekend and wer wrecked on the way back. then this little gem came on, well we were nearly home in an hour!!!

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 22/05/2008 16:04:15    22404

Rule the world - Take that
Tubthumping-Chumbawumba

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 22/05/2008 16:05:06    22407

I'd say the Mayo side listen to Westlife and the likes, must be the reason why their so soft.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 22/05/2008 16:11:52    22413

ive studies motivation for years my phd is neary complete in motivation, you listen to music to relax you that is why they do it i assume its soccer player you are on about, well they dont really need to get geared up for anything as they are well as physical as hairdressing- im on about real sports rugby- boxing, real football, hurling - listening to rocky music will in my opinion hinder your preparation - roaring and shouting is for rednecks and leave it too them - if you have to listen to a cd to get you pumped.

i know what im on about, i have never lost a game in rugby that i was in charge of a team- i have ioinly coached at underage level - if i was there we didnt lose and i honestly say it was how people were mentally prepared to do their job - its one of my better achievements but then again i cant take all the credit as rugby is a thinking mans game rednecks dont survive

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 22/05/2008 16:17:47    22417

Apparently Mayo listen to these classics before taking the field -
I fall to pieces - Patsy Cline
Wicked Game - Chris Issak
Missed the boat - Modest mouse
Hurt - Johnny Cash
Why does my heart feel so bad - Moby
Pretty Fly for a Mayo guy - The Offspring
Waterloo - ABBA
Help - Beatles
Take me home Country Roads - John Denver
Trouble - Pink
I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow - Soggy Bottom Boys
End of the Line - Traveling Willberries
Fightin men from Crossmaglen - Various Artists

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 145 - 22/05/2008 16:19:42    22419

Ah come on now dessie. Whats with all the mayo bashing? Jealous?

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 22/05/2008 16:26:56    22426

rugby is a thinking mans game rednecks dont survive

Would say your prob wrong there ballboy. Forest gump would have made a great rugby player get the ball and run. if you dont fall you score. Although you best keep the gate closed incase someone continues to run. Thinking mans game thats a good one.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 22/05/2008 16:31:54    22434

Bernard McHugh's Version of Delilah - he off BLIND DATE fame !!!!!!!!!!

STOKES (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 22/05/2008 16:34:12    22438

he could have played for armagh too, couldnt kick a ball dint even know how to kick a ball surely that would have made him an armagh great like mc geeney- both have no football

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 22/05/2008 16:35:58    22443

dubs4ever08

lads surprise anyone hasn't mentioned the rocky soundtrack, pure gold for training,works with Running or Weights equally well. the dubliners, Rare Ould Times, The Ferryman, Thin Lizzy 'the boyz are back in town'. Also like U2's stuff.

Read the first post on the thread.

Dannymc (Down) - Posts: 92 - 22/05/2008 16:40:01    22449

Another great Mayo favourite is Frank Sinatra's "Thats Life" .

"...thats life, thats what all the people say, we're riding high in April, shot down in June, "

matrixroyal (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 22/05/2008 16:40:21    22451

just ask the greatest player of all time (in your eyes only) about mcgeeney. never got a kick of it in 2005 league semi final. if mayo had of had a couple of kieran mcgeeneys or francie bellews in 04 or 06 they would not be the laughing stock of gaelic football.

Armagh men prepare for all-ireland finals in the gym and training fields. Mayo men prepare for them in hairdressers and tanning studios.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 22/05/2008 16:45:07    22456

I was going to say eye of the tiger!! Um...worlds greatest by r-kelly and final countdown are both quite good.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 22/05/2008 16:53:06    22467

sam ye mustnt be too good on the playing fields and gyms so- ye should perhaps head to the tanning place and the hair dressers - wouldnt do any harm christ 120 odd years of the gym how has that worked out for ye? always losers, mc geeney that was the day he punched mcdonald in the back of the head and mcdonald laughed at him, that was the day james gill got a kick in the face from mc grane as he lay injured- autoreply your responses are like your county a joke!

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 22/05/2008 16:57:26    22475