I like being wound up...keep going! Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/08/2009 16:00:25 382865 Link 0 |
Mollymalone, dont delude yourself, Dublin never won 22 All_Irelands. The man who knows everything about GAA in the Irish Times put Dublins first real All Ireland win was in 1958. Before that the team was made up of country boys. So since then ye have beaten Kerry TWICE, once in a final and once in a semi. Ye have butt licked them and blown up a great rivelry. Kerry love it as they wallop ye each year. Galway, Down, Offally, Tyrone and Armagh actually have a better record v Kerry but all we hear about is Dublins two wins since 1950. The only difference about Dublin pre 1958 and today is this ;post 1958 it was all culchies on the team , today its their sons and grandsons that play. ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 08/08/2009 15:48:50 383913 Link 0 |
Yes you can also argue that the real competition stopped when the second chance back door system was introduced. Dublin won all of their 22 AIs with one throw of the dice unlike certain other counties that I care not to mention. In fact if the competition was as it should be, straight knockout, Kerry would not have progressed beyond Munster this year or last. Just like Dublin they have been beaten once in the championship this year. Unlike Dublin they got a second chance. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 08/08/2009 19:55:57 384111 Link 0 |
Joker Dublin should take a note from Kerrys book If there was no back door this year Kerry would have wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 08/08/2009 22:33:42 384283 Link 0 |
Maybe the backdoor route and a few away trips to Derry/Limerick/Galway etc might install that bit of mental toughness in Dublin. Not trying to be funny or smart but the hype at the business end of the Championship in Croke Park is crippling Dublin and that's what makes it harder to take when it all goes wrong. If the Dubs were to go this backdoor route and win a few games away it might give them the self belief that is lacking. It's mainly a psychological block with Dublin and Ulster sides had it for decades when they competed in the All Ireland. There were some cracking Ulster Championship matches in the 70's & 80's but it all collapsed in Croke Park when our champions went there. What you can't fault is the desire and loyalty of Dublin supporters given the sore results they are taking. The media have to sell stories & papers but their build up and overhype of Dublin prior to big games is also installing false belief. On purely a footballing arguement while acknowledging that Dublin have some excellent individual players I don't think currently they have the overall quality in their squad that Kerry & Tyrone do to win an All Ireland and I have said that for a while. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 09/08/2009 01:03:00 384437 Link 0 |
Ulsterman I agree with everything that you say there. WFKerry you don't know what you're talking about. Dublin haven't been bursting a gut winning Leinster. Isn't that the problem??? They've been untested. Winning a Leinster final playing most of the match with 14 men. Unheard of!! Are you also suggesting that Kerry are deliberately losing Munster titles? I don't think so, Cork are a superior team at the moment and I expect them to take Sam. Kerry won't be tested by Meath and weren't by Dublin either. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 09/08/2009 22:47:36 385336 Link 0 |
Ontheroad, most of the Dubs teams in the 20s were natives. A lot of them were also freedom fighters unlike the draft dodgers in three quarters of the 32 counties. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 10/08/2009 08:18:55 385577 Link 0 |