I celebrated when Kerry won yesterday, but i feel all the abuse levelled at Dublin fans only serves to annoy the true fans, it's the fools who tarnish the county that won't care about themselves, sure now the season is over for them they probably wont watch another game, considering there are a few mouth watering clashes left... So for that reason i think some of it needs to be seriously curbed, i think most of the Dub's on here are the loyal fans, i work with a few lads who were gutted yesterday, and of course there was a bit of slagging, i do express a serious dislike for Dublin fans, but it's in reaction to the abuse i have recieved and i understand that the majority from it was from the boo boys.... but i feel sorry for Gilroy, at least Dublin now have a manager we can all empathise with, unlike Caffrey... But dont worry lads, we'l avenge ye in the semi's.... Mayofan21 (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 04/08/2009 13:25:15 376854 Link 0 |
Frederick do you think I made it up. I didn't. If you look at the replay on it it is definite that Donaghy used a clenched fist into the the Dublin man's face. My question is should Donaghy have got involved at all. Also while I do not condone the booing for Donaghy's interview why was the interview done in front of the Hill. I dont remember any other interview beeing done from that particular spot. Obviously RTE knew what the reaction would be and done it for such reasons. Do you think that if the Hill was packed with Mayo, Tyrone, Armagh etc fans that there would not have been a similiar reaction if an injured Dublin player was being interviewed. Of course there would be! Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 04/08/2009 20:09:35 377618 Link 0 |
Connolly tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 04/08/2009 21:01:19 377710 Link 0 |
Connelly............the answer is no because we have respect for all players and we have manners unlike some people Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 04/08/2009 22:08:12 377903 Link 0 |
cant add too much to the argument really, just to say for many country people hoping the Dubs lose is pretty much up there with hoping England lose at soccer. Its just an extension of the Culchies V Dubs joking that goes on. Theres just as many people hyping up Tipp down here just with the media based in Dublin ye get it in the neck. i was hoping ye'd do it alright but Kerry are pure footballers, have never seen as good a display of football in Croker, right up there with Kilkennys display in final last year LondonOranges (Tipperary) - Posts: 45 - 04/08/2009 22:17:57 377941 Link 0 |
mondred (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 04/08/2009 22:25:41 377968 Link 0 |
QUESTION TO ANY NON DUBS????? seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 04/08/2009 23:25:59 378152 Link 0 |
seany16 tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 04/08/2009 23:34:03 378179 Link 0 |
you"s can give it,but cant take it.face it you"s havent got it. hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 04/08/2009 23:48:16 378209 Link 0 |
BELIEVE...... Believe what excatly??? ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 05/08/2009 09:21:43 378387 Link 0 |
ballinaman tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 05/08/2009 10:21:38 378475 Link 0 |
ballinaman tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 05/08/2009 11:06:47 378572 Link 0 |
I was at a League Final between Dublin & Donegal sometime in the mid ninties, I can't remember much about the match but that Keith Barr was dropped for disciplinary reasons. But what I do remember is coming out of the match after and witnessing 2 or 3 male Dublin supporters spitting on a couple of female Donegal Supporters.I know its not fair to tarnish all Dublin Supporters with the same brush but hese guys were clearly animals... actually the genuine Dub are very very wity and funny people.. Faithful_Fan (Offaly) - Posts: 34 - 05/08/2009 12:15:38 378754 Link 0 |
Would ya ever g'way outta that, writing poems to yourself....Nelson Mandela in the making ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 05/08/2009 12:16:17 378757 Link 0 |
hardcore Dublin09 (Dublin) - Posts: 433 - 05/08/2009 17:06:45 379496 Link 0 |
I think this board may get back to something resembling sense when the schools go back and most of you kids will be stuck doing homework at night. witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/08/2009 17:17:43 379523 Link 0 |
You just cant help yourselves lads can you, easy from behind a keyboard aint it? If any of you have ever mixed with us before or after a game over a pint you wouldnt be talking such rubbish. We may have bottled it against kerry but we achieved QF's in both codes this year, how many of your counties did that? MrHill (Dublin) - Posts: 43 - 05/08/2009 17:33:39 379566 Link 0 |
I think you'll find that you can thank the media for the hype surroundin Dublin! I'm sure it's annoyin for other counties but it's not our doing. Most of us arn't any more arrogant than supporters from Kerry, Mayo or Tyrone. So don't take it out on the players and the real fans who were crushed on Monday. Every single person on this forum has been there and it aint pleasant! MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 05/08/2009 17:39:42 379587 Link 0 |
As a Dub who lives in Kerry I am well used to ball hopping and slagging and certainly have had it this wek. That is all part of the GAA. But am genuinely sad to see some of the comments in the postings. I cant understand boorish behaviour on the part of a small number of Dublin people who attend matches (I won't call them supporters) but I accept it happens. But the anti-Dublin things seems so over the top sometimes and to be honest a lot of people can trade stories about comments passed by one county towards another, all that proves is that there are stupid people everywhere. i'm often surprised at the level of the mantra about 'THE HYPE' in Dublin, I certainly have never heard a dub when asked if he/she was going to the next match that 'No I will wait for the final!'. I was told that the MEDJA were pumping for dublin, yet the majority of pundits, correspondents etc are not from Dublin. Bottom line should be that we all enjoy Gaelic games as an expression of what is best in our country, not just as a vehicle for demonising and bashing other counties. The best team won Monday and won well, that is that, take it on the chin. Firiesdub (Dublin) - Posts: 5 - 05/08/2009 18:03:02 379628 Link 0 |
Meath 11, I didnt intend to get into a tit for tat, but one or two obersvations. Leaving match on Monday - The Kerry Supporters were very gracious and certainly didnt add to the despondencey of the Dubs leaving. Firiesdub (Dublin) - Posts: 5 - 05/08/2009 18:10:45 379636 Link 0 |