The abuse Dublin and their fans take

Lets try and keep it real here lad and lasses, today was a serious set back to the GAA in Dublin and I cant remember a more demoralising defeat they have suffered than this one. I am genuinely gutted for all the Dubs on here, Liamo, Hipster, Dubinmeath, Tomaoo, Hurlingdub, Jackeen, far too many to mention. I know what this meant to you all and I myself had backed you to win this one, all the way to a 'dream' final between yourselves and Tyrone, sadly it was not to be. There has been some serious crap eminating from all the ususal suspects as well as those who should know better in the aftermath of this game, all I can say is keep the faith, afterall it took us 120 years to win Sam for the first time!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/08/2009 20:19:06    375524

wow....I am a long time browser of this forum but this is a first post. Shocked at the level of abuse Dublin fans get. I do understand the sterotypes but then every county has those. We absolutely did not deserve to win today and it was a VERY poor attempt but leave it out with the abuse of all us fans. To see the word "scum" used is pretty unbelievable.

mad4thegame (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 03/08/2009 20:20:30    375526

loyalfan
County: Wexford

hipster

Leinster Final 2008, the amount of abuse you gave the Wexford supporters with your cheerio cheerio chants, didnt hear Kerry fans sing that to your supporters when you where leaving early 2day. The reason being most GAA supporters have a bit of class not like you lot!!

truest words on this site.... classless support and an embarrassment to a county that really deserves alot better from its sopporters.

meath11 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 03/08/2009 20:24:08    375532

One of the reasons people don't tend to like Dublin is that the fans boo the opposition when taking free kicks. It's time the GAA who invite the likes of our senior politicians to the games provide a suitable environment for noble people like our politicians, one of whom I saw today at the game. Seriously though, the hype would be enough to make one suspicious of the Dubs and what they stand for. They're a fairly average team who were taken apart by Galway in the league and Kerry today. REJOICE!

Oggy (Galway) - Posts: 245 - 03/08/2009 20:28:07    375541

did i not see meath fans burn the dublin flag outside croker a couple of years ago pure class as you say yourselfs

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/08/2009 20:35:02    375560

Really lads, the hate for dublin fans is uncalled for,their behind their team 110 percent as every fan should be,a couple of bad eggs in every crowd, should'ent reflect on the mojority.Love the atmosphere they bring.Had a couple of pints after the game,chatted with a number of dublin fans,they were hughly disapointed but classy in defeat.May we share many more sundays in croker

kingdom65 (Kerry) - Posts: 14 - 03/08/2009 20:39:54    375576

I was never as happy in my life to see a team get such a hiding. I was at the Dublin Wexford Leinster final last year when the Dubs fans invaded the pitch with a couple of minutes of the game still to go, Wexford being beaten by 23 points. It was disgusting behaviour. Dublin fans in the crowd regularly let out shouts such as 'Go back to yer bleedin farms' at the Wexford players, booed frees. More of the same when they walloped Westmeath this year. Also remember them throwing a firecracker at Red Barry in 2005 as he lined up to take a penalty, he shut them up when he stuck the rebound in the net and celebrated exuberantly in front of the Hill. Its bad enough for players out on the field to be getting hammered by 20 points, especially Wexford who were in their first Leinster final in 50 years, they didn't need little gurriers running on the pitch jeering them while they were still playing, if I had been playing I would love to have decked a few of them.
Thats why it made me so happy to see the pain on the faces of the Dublin supporters, see how they like 20 point beatings, its not very nice when your on the receiving end. Its just a pity Kerry didn't take another couple of the goal chances they had. The Dublin fans let themselves down again at half time booing Donaghy. What goes around comes around.

awhtayto (Kilkenny) - Posts: 21 - 03/08/2009 20:43:07    375589

any special pullout tomorrow in the star about the dubs should be good reading. any way to talk football how stupid to be leaving your best midfielders on the sideline just so it can be said how strong yer bench is and then throw them on when game is gone from ye

totalfootball (Mayo) - Posts: 27 - 03/08/2009 20:45:49    375598

All I've got to say is that I'm delighted with today's result. Just what the dubs deserved.

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 03/08/2009 20:48:56    375608

Ya deserve every bit of abuse ya get for the way the fans acted and the players attitude when they were getting hammered

mondred (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 03/08/2009 20:52:27    375623

Too gutted to comment on todays game but i am horrified by some of attitudes on this forum. Yesterday i attended a soccer (yes i like many sports) match in London in which myself and a pal were subjected to secterian abuse from rangers supports because we were irish/arsenal supporters. I was very disturbed by this as i never experienced this before. My point here is that reading many of the posts here from fellow country men is replicating the same feelings i experienced yesterday.

MrHill (Dublin) - Posts: 43 - 03/08/2009 21:06:03    375649

Well put Kingdom65. As a few of us have said, there are always a few bad apples. No true Dublin fan would try and defend them, but with a big volume of supporters, its bound to happen. Kerry were the better team today tactically and physically, and we wish them well. I'm only sorry that it was never a classic contest. I only ever seem to come across this abuse here on the forums, never in or around the ground from fans of Kerry, Meath, Laois, Tyrone, Armagh, Mayo etc. They are absolute ladies and gents. It says a lot for some of the "fans" who lurk at their keyboards after an afternoon on the couch, anticipating a chance to unleash their hatred. I just feel sorry for them.

kkdub (Kilkenny) - Posts: 19 - 03/08/2009 21:07:58    375653

brendtheredhand

375524 Lets try and keep it real here lad and lasses, today was a serious set back to the GAA in Dublin and I cant remember a more demoralising defeat they have suffered than this one. I am genuinely gutted for all the Dubs on here, Liamo, Hipster, Dubinmeath, Tomaoo, Hurlingdub, Jackeen, far too many to mention. I know what this meant to you all and I myself had backed you to win this one, all the way to a 'dream' final between yourselves and Tyrone, sadly it was not to be. There has been some serious crap eminating from all the ususal suspects as well as those who should know better in the aftermath of this game, all I can say is keep the faith, afterall it took us 120 years to win Sam for the first time!

Cheers Bren, can hardly speak with the disappointment to be honest. Its much the same feeling i had after last years hammering. My biggest fear going into this championship realised.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2009 21:12:12    375666

They can give it but they can't take it.

royal_green (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 03/08/2009 21:12:58    375669

A snap poll would suggest that Meath supporters seem to be getting the most mileage of out todays result (understandably given the local rivalry) followed closely by Mayo (I just dont get the supporters from that part of the world, I really dont know what makes yous tick).

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/08/2009 21:27:08    375710

I must have been at the wrong game today. less than a handfull of half wits interupted the minutes silence, of course no other county in holy Ireland has half wits following their teams of course. Well done to theoverwhelming majority of Dubs fans who stayed to the end to support the team. Some really bitter people on here. You should remember it's the Dubs who fund the GAA. I didn't agree with the booing during the interview, but he was taken from the half way line all the way down to the front of the Hill and spent all of the first half prancicg up and down the line encroaching onto the pitch to celecrate scores.. What did he expect? Flower petals? It looked like a set up to me.

No problem getting all ireland semi final tickets now lads.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 03/08/2009 21:30:43    375724

Yes and off those two counties Bren I would imagine bedtime would be fast approaching for those posters!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2009 21:31:08    375725

thistleharps, donaghy was a water guy. Obviously, he'd have to run up and down the pitch. And for celebrating scores, if you looked at the crowd, you would have seen that every person jumps up and down when their team scores.
The Dubs didnt have to boo him.

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 03/08/2009 21:40:10    375751

Cannot believe some of the posts going on here. Words like scum, hate etc...
You guys for real.
It's one thing to say you dislike or think they are arrogant but I think people are really going over the top.
None of the Dublin supporters deserve the awful comments here. I've not seen such vicious comments from any of the genuine Dublin posters on this site in the past.
Sure they maybe arrogant at times but never so hurtful. Not one constructive comment here. Supporters from other Leinster counties should be ashamed none of us have been able to beat the Dubs for 6 years now so I'd keep my mouth shut if I was you.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 03/08/2009 21:50:40    375780

Did anyone see Donaghy hit Griffin today when he was doing maoir uisce. A bit of an argument broke out between Griffin and I cant remember qho from Kerry as they were on the ground near the Hogan stand. As they both got up Donaghy came in and prented to get in between them to break it up. But his first action was to hit Griffin with a closed fist in the face. Should panel mebers be allowed act as officials during a game.

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 03/08/2009 21:54:53    375794