Hurling Tipster Competition 2008

Lads Jayoc says he cant do hurling as well because it would be too much to take on. We need someone to stand forward for this one lads i cant do it myself at the moment i wouldnt have the time, its either that or we do it here on the thread just? Im open on it if thats the case i will keep an eye on the thread and try my best to put league tables up.

What do yous want to do? Id love to see a hurling one myself.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 21/05/2008 16:18:57    21878

I'll volunteer, if there's enough interest.

This weekends matches:

Armagh v London
Laois v Offaly
Dublin v Westmeath
Derry v Monaghan

E-mail your predictions to [email protected]

Please indicate your preferences and WITH your USERNAME by 10.00 pm on Fridau 23rd May.
Your E-mail addresses will be kept private.

As with the football, 2 pts for correct win prediction, 4 pts for a draw.

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 22/05/2008 13:45:23    22220

Come on lads if someone is willing to do it give it a go, Jayoc, Snuff, Liam, Clash, CLG etc get involved in this one its about time we had some caman talk on this site!!

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 22/05/2008 14:47:03    22311

5 players so far:

Clash of da ash
Beeduybe
North Side Gael
Tyrone Dev
Ballbhoy

...and I cancelled the Greek Islands trip this summer thinking I'd be bombarded with entrants!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 22/05/2008 18:02:38    22562

Ok mines in. Can I make a suggestion? Limit matches involved to just those in the Liam McCarthy Cup (which would mean just 2 games this weekend). Your call though.

CLG (None) - Posts: 23 - 22/05/2008 19:17:41    22585

Liam McCarthy only or all provincial games - what do you think?

I'll go with the majority view. I think the more games the better as it will create more variation in the predictions. If you have a view either way let me know.

We have 14 entrants so far.

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/05/2008 08:34:59    22690

Reminder:

This weekends matches:

Armagh v London
Laois v Offaly
Dublin v Westmeath
Derry v Monaghan

E-mail your predictions to [email protected]

Please indicate your predictions WITH your USERNAME please, by 10.00 pm this evening (Friday 23rd May).
Your E-mail addresses will be kept private.

We have 15 players in it so far.

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/05/2008 10:52:37    22775

I think do them all its better crack and the posters from the weaker counties might come on board!"

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 23/05/2008 11:05:09    22791

16 entrants to date, with 3 missing HS usernames. If you've e-mailed predictions but don't see your username below, please let me know.

CLG
???
horn neck
Legend92
Loyal2TheRoyal
BallBhoy
tyrone dev
North Side Gael
beeduybe
clash-of-da-ash
JayoCluxton
JamesMayo
???
???
Tiobraid
GMG

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/05/2008 13:02:01    22888

The Armagh v London game kicks off tomorrow (Saturday) at 2pm so I'll extend the deadline til 1.30pm tomorrow, to try to increase the number of entrants. C'mon, have a go.

17 players so far:

CLG (All)
Jim (Wexford)
horn neck
Legend92 (Donegal)
Loyal2TheRoyal
BallBhoy
tyrone dev
North Side Gael (All)
beeduybe
clash-of-da-ash (Galway)
JayoCluxton (Dublin)
JamesMayo
Rich Dublin
Gazzo?
Tiobraid
GMG
rebeltothecore

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/05/2008 17:41:37    23043

Last chance to get your hurling predictions in!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 24/05/2008 12:43:58    23146

OK, we have 20 players and some brave tipsters amongst them. Only 8 went for the 'safe bet' of wins for Armagh, Offaly, Dublin and Derry. There is lots of support for Dublin (all 20) and Derry (19) but 3 of you tipped a surprise in Portlaoise tomorrow. Predictions for the Armagh v London game in Newry this afternoon are divided at 11/7. Could that be a draw?

The most stand-out prediction and the biggest gamble is a lone tip for Monaghan! Good on ya Legend92. Let's see if fortune favours the brave!

6 in a row: Armagh, Laois, Dublin, Derry
BallBhoy: Armagh, Laois, Dublin, Derry
beeduybe: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
clash-of-da-ash: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
CLG: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Gazzo?: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
GMG: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
horn neck: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
JamesMayo: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
JayoCluxton: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Jim (Wexford): London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Legend92: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Monaghan
Lifford Gael: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Loyal2TheRoyal: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Marooned_East: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
North Side Gael: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
rebeltothecore: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Rich Dublin: London, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
Tiobraid: Armagh, Offaly, Dublin, Derry
tyrone dev: Armagh, Laois, Dublin, Derry

Good luck!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 24/05/2008 13:37:34    23153

just givin the rest of yis a head start lads!! :P

Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 25/05/2008 22:26:04    23323

Armagh 4-16 - 2-23 London
Derry 7-23 - 3-13 Monaghan
Offaly 4-22 - 2-12 Laois
Dublin 3-21 - 0-11 Westmeath

Well done to clash-of-da-ash, CLG, Gazzo?, GMG, JamesMayo, Jim (Wexford), Lifford Gael & Rich Dublin who got all four preditions right this weekend thanks, partly, to a point for London against Armagh late, late into injury time. The other 3 games went as expected although I didn't expect Laois to be as poor as they were; Kilkenny don't have much fear from Offaly on June 14th.

Legend92's gamble on Monaghan beating Derry never paid off but a shock did look possible in when Westmeath held a half-time lead over Dublin, but it wasn't to be.

The league table after week 1 looks like this:

clash-of-da-ash: 8
CLG: 8
Gazzo?: 8
GMG: 8
JamesMayo: 8
Jim (Wexford): 8
Lifford Gael: 8
Rich Dublin: 8
beeduybe: 6
horn neck: 6
JayoCluxton: 6
Loyal2TheRoyal: 6
Marooned_East: 6
North Side Gael: 6
rebeltothecore: 6
Tiobraid: 6
6 in a row: 4
BallBhoy: 4
Legend92: 4
tyrone dev: 4

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 26/05/2008 09:44:45    23376

OK, time to start thinking about your predictions for next week. The 3 games are:

Clare v Waterford (at Limerick, 2pm) Live, TV3
Down v London (2.15, Casement Park)
Antrim v Derry (8pm, Casement Park)

Will Clare be able to take advantage of facing a Waterford team missing their talisman Ken McGrath? Can London follow their recent successes against Tyrone and Armagh with yet another win? Derry amassed a huge 44 points total against Monaghan yesterday. Will this give them enough of a boost going into a match against the province's Liam McCarthy representatives Antrim?

E-mail your predictions to [email protected] as soon as possible and by 1pm Friday if you can.

Feel free to join in, even if you missed the first week's matches. I'm sure there are some of you knowledgeable or lucky enough to close the gap in the coming weeks.

Good luck!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 26/05/2008 13:38:05    23589

E-mail your predictions to [email protected] as soon as possible and by 1pm Friday if you can.

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 27/05/2008 11:43:40    24172

10 from 21 in so far, including 1 new entry.

Feel free to join in, even if you missed the first week's matches. I'm sure there are some of you knowledgeable or lucky enough to close the gap in the coming weeks.

Good luck!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 28/05/2008 12:52:03    24870

16 from 23 in so far, including amnpther 2 new entries.

Newcomers welcome!

Marooned_East (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 29/05/2008 10:15:18    25328

Anyone know when Waterford are naming their team?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/05/2008 11:09:03    25379

Hi There,

I will join in as well, i have sent over my predictions

EamonCorcoran (Tipperary) - Posts: 167 - 29/05/2008 15:10:56    25600