Can Meath get more than seven scores this time.

This has the makins of a great game,Limerick's forwards are deadly but Stephen Bray and Peader Byrne are capable of doin a lot of damage,Byrne in particular is goin to be a great player in time.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 31/07/2009 12:11:41    371223

True fredrick, Peader is in flyin form at the moment & is he continues like that, Meath will be very hard stopped by Limerick. He is the main link man from Midfield t the forwards.
Crawford is starting to come into his own again in the Middle which should hopefully help us too.....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 31/07/2009 12:40:42    371272

Jinxie did you enjoy the game last year?

I couldn't make it to last year's game but I was in Clohessy's bar afterwards & there were a few Meath lads there who I can only describe in one phrase - 'shell shocked'. Then the RTE news showed the scoreline and the whole place cheered at which point the Mrath lads finished their drinks & moved on.

Anyway hope this weekends game is a good one, can't see that many goals this year but I fancy a narrow win for Meath on a scoreline of 1-12 to 0-13

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/07/2009 13:27:51    371355

slayer
County: Limerick

371355 Jinxie did you enjoy the game last year?

I couldn't make it to last year's game but I was in Clohessy's bar afterwards & there were a few Meath lads there who I can only describe in one phrase - 'shell shocked'. Then the RTE news showed the scoreline and the whole place cheered at which point the Mrath lads finished their drinks & moved on.

Anyway hope this weekends game is a good one, can't see that many goals this year but I fancy a narrow win for Meath on a scoreline of 1-12 to 0-13 ..........Doesnt say much for your supporters

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 31/07/2009 13:46:20    371401

Lads, bring all your friends up to portlaoise.
Hire a minibus for all I care.
We have to travel up in big numbers and support our county football team.
The more the merrier (cant spell merrier).

CMON LIMERICK!!!!!!!

mefein (Limerick) - Posts: 131 - 31/07/2009 14:13:35    371476

Slayer,

Do you enjoy going to the Dentist? What do you think?
But ive no quams about it, Limerick deserved it & fair play to them. However, I cant see the same ambush being allowed this year....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 31/07/2009 14:57:22    371597

I have to disagree with Corkcelt's assessment of Meath's form coming into this match... The match against the Dubs was close on the scoreboard, and the ref certainly didn't do Meath any favours at the end, but it was only close because the Dubs attack on the day couldn't hit the rear-end of a jackass if it was sitting on their knees! They obviously improved after (or else they'd now be playing Tyrone). But insofar as any attempt to read form is worth anything, the matches to look at are Meath v Westmeath, which Meath won by 10 points (I think) and Meath v Roscommon, which Meath would by 7 (a couple of goals and a point). The Dubs beat a less demoralised W/meath by 27 points, and Mayo beat less injury-hit Rossies side by 20. At the same time Limerick should have beaten Cork, who were probably caught out on the day by over-confidence and by the fact that Limerick really are a decent team, with an astute manager... it's no wonder Meath are reluctant to give him a copy of their game against the Rossies! On the basis of these previous performances, Limerick should really come out on top, especially now that they've been wound up by the Meath country board's decision... but it's rock, paper, scissors when it comes to form, so it should still be very close, and I still have a hunch towards Meath...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/07/2009 15:06:23    371618

I would predict a very close game but think we will sneak it by a point or two.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2003 - 31/07/2009 15:35:29    371677

Heard someone saying this a few days ago and i had to laugh....." I prefer England to win the Sam Maguire ahead of Meath" HA!

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 31/07/2009 15:36:55    371680

Your hardly bitter ballinaman?

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 31/07/2009 18:33:37    371967

Nope...bitter is nowhere near a stong enough word! ha

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 31/07/2009 19:33:22    372042

re ballinaman, 31/7 19:33
I can see why some people from Mayo give the rest a bad name on this forum.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 31/07/2009 19:55:38    372075

Meath by a couple of points i think, limerick are a good team but our boys have huge incentive after last year. By the way jimbodub you need not be highlighting the fact that Meath have won the all ireland seven times in the last 60 years when the dubs have won it 7 times in the last 71 years, bet not too many of the experts on the hill are too well up on that fact!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 31/07/2009 21:37:20    372212

Ballinaman perhaps the reason why your county cant go forward to date is because you dwell too much on the past!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 31/07/2009 21:40:39    372214

The bookies have Meath odds on to win it at 8/15 with Limerick 2/1.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 31/07/2009 22:10:38    372246

Il be having a punt on Limerick at 2/1,brilliant price.

markus (Roscommon) - Posts: 17 - 31/07/2009 23:28:20    372375

nah meath victory. 4 or 5 points. they looked ok when they lost to the dubs, albeit that was a terrible game. a third leinster team in the quater finals might get rid of the "leinster football is in a bad state" talk

BrianLand09 (Dublin) - Posts: 56 - 01/08/2009 00:42:06    372529

I think a really good game,let's hope the weather is ok,Meath where in disarray before the Limerick game last year, a lot of in of fighting between management and players,a 7 week break,players that should not have been playing,and the like of effort on the day,this time around Meath are better prepared,have a better team available,but Limerick are a good side,I have seen them a lot and this game tonight will show the real worth of both teams,have Meath more class? Perhaps,but I worry about Moyles at full back,Reilly is a huge loss,and Joe playing on the 40 is again a huge error by management,god I'll call it Meath to sneak it by 2 points and set up a game with a really good Mayo side next week.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/08/2009 09:52:09    372625

Well jimbodub your question has been answered we got more than seven scores and but for that stupid second goal (which has been clearly identified as a square ball, but a defensive blunder none the less) we would have won this game much more comfortably. A deserved Meath win and great to be in the quarter finals for the second time in 3 years brings good experience to the younger players. Now jimbo you can turn your attention to monday and stand beside all those dubs who disgracefully get to go to an all ireland quarter final cheaper than supporters from donegal, cork, kildare, kerry and tyrone. And they say the GAA doesnt take sides!!!! I think not!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 01/08/2009 21:15:51    373197

Richieq - Thats it just log on to have a go at me.....can I point out a few things about the game, if you dont mind but before I start well done tonight, and as you failed to congratulate Limerick in your previous post...I'll do it for you... unlucky tonight Limerick but far too many very bad mistakes tonight at this level....

1: That was a terrible game of football....come on...! were you even there! Maybe you were one of the other few Meath fans that bothered to show up..... The standard was shocking tonight...

2: Limerick were awful. I'm sorry Limerick fans but you were!!!. how many hand passes to absolutely no one at critical times of the game did you give away!! running into every tackle.... nothing from the line. Hand passing the ball to air!!! terrible standard of ball at this level!!...

3: 2 minutes at the end.....very very questionable... of course you were up in arms regarding it in the Dubs game....better not bring that up aye this evening though right!...

4: Meath must have had 12 men behind the ball the entire game and they still let in two goals against a shockingly average side.

5: Terrible attendance..I can understand Limerick not travelling but Meath have no excuse!! Fans really let the team down tonight IMO... No doubt you'll all be looking for tickets next weekend. Terrible attendance from you boys tonight.... there was more Dubs in Thurles than there were Meath men at that game tonight!

6: Meath Captain sent offf.... direct red card for off the ball incident. I'm sure your CB will appeal it.! how many Meath men were booked tonight? I thought they were very dirty and very cynical tonight and left the boot in a couple of times when Limerick men were on the ground.

7: Lucky decision at the end....2 MINUTES AT THE END..ARE YOU FOR REAL!!!................ and one of the Meath back room team pointing at his watch on the line, telling the Meath players to waste time.... it was clear as day on the box. It shows you the lengths that Meath had to go to beat Limerick tonight.

8: A shocking West Meath team, Roscommon and a slightly above average Limerick team that you just scrambled over. = Quarter Final (JOKE) The entire qualifiers system is a joke and where would ye be without them.

9: But apart from all that..... fair play to you...... and trust me I've done nothing but worry about the Kerry game... we could easily be beaten or we could easily win.... but win or lose we still beat you this year and we'll go out as Leinster Champions....i.e Champions of Meath ;)

All in all the standard of football tonight was shocking stuff...and if I was a Mayo fan I'd be licking my lips...but I'll be shouting for Meath... Handy enough Sem-Final for us... if we get there...! We are going out to play against one of the greatest Kerry teams ever....! If we are up for it and we win...then trust me...I want Meath bad....!! beacuse we are going to do you boys some damage. No more 17 wides........ no more "Oh the ref ripped us off" because the ref ripped off Limerick tonight.... 2 MINUTES!!! no more pathetic Meath excuses... just us singing as you boys head for the Hills with 20 minutes to go....

LEINSTER CHAMPIONS 2009. win or lose.....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/08/2009 22:23:19    373278