I have to agree with the comment re Caherline supporters..... saw both their quarter final and semi final wins and although I was impressed by the team on the pitch their supporters really do leave a lot to be desired....... and not just from the youth either - i was beside men in their 40's or 50's and the abuse they were roaring at their own players and officials was really uncalled for. winners_loosers (Limerick) - Posts: 13 - 01/10/2008 09:40:51 111654 Link 0 |
God help us they must be harvesting lemons out west,because ye don't half sound bitter.Looking back over some previous posts it becomes alot clearer where yere coming from.I'd love if our club had half the support Caherline has.I was at the 1/4's and semis,and if our players had to take the filth dished out to some Caherline players from newcastle and Glenroe hatchet men, i'd be getting frustrated to say the least. pullhaard (Limerick) - Posts: 195 - 01/10/2008 10:47:09 111706 Link 0 |
Comments on Caherline supporters not too far off the mark although they do have a big following so I'm sure its only a percentage of the total that are the real culprits. Eastgael is living in denial if he doesn't realise this is going on. Its a pity because Caherline are one of the few success stories in Limerick hurling currently. Centreback (Limerick) - Posts: 33 - 01/10/2008 10:50:05 111710 Link 0 |
Im from the west and i cant believe caherline beat glenroe...but im delighted for them. Glenroe are no angels lets not forget. Really shocke dwith the game but fair play to caherline the team is unrecognisible from 3-4 yrs ago even tho mostly same lads. Think the monkey was off the back when they won the junior and now playing with no pressure and its showing great hurlers...and like the fact the are ruthless they take the goals when on offer and not tip over the bar like many other teams. I hope they win it now because will be tough next year if they dont. gandwalways (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 01/10/2008 11:18:33 111748 Link 0 |
Its sad to see some of the begrudgery against Caherline, going on about there supporters. Its a pity other clubs don't display the heart and passion their players and supporter show. There was hardly a cheer raised at the two senior semi finals in the gaelic grounds. I hope they can go on an win it now. It would be give all other small clubs a great lift. Bruff will be favourites for the final but I'd expect one titantic struggle. journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 142 - 01/10/2008 11:42:02 111769 Link 0 |
re centre back,no ones living in denial,i've seen at least 12 of the 16 intermediate teams in action at various stages.For instance at the Glenroe v Knockaderry 1/4 there was plenty "bantor" between rival supporters,abuse some might call it,plenty aimed at players and officals also ,and plenty of the same carry on at lots of other games so far this year. If there are a few culprits at every game ,i'd say confidently every club/parish has them, shock/horror. Also didn't someone else post how awful the Ballylanders/Glenroe supporters were,more bull. Thought most were sound. eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 01/10/2008 12:53:14 111858 Link 0 |
I posted the comment regarding the ballylanders/caherline supporters. I have played in some tough matches and given as good as I got just like most posters on this website. However I draw the line at some of the vitriol I have heard coming from the stands for next to nothing. I appreciate that there will always be banter and slaging amongst players/supporters however when things get personal/overly insulting then something has to be done. I wouldn't agree with the comment with western fans being overly sensitive. I can assure you that they can be as cutting as you meet-especially your own! However they don't generally call players ancestory/sexual preference/ethnicity into question or worst of all.... dodgyknee (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 02/10/2008 13:17:26 112613 Link 0 |
Where are you gone batman, pigseye, peckory haven't seen any comments since knockaderry where beaten. I think yer identity is showing a bit. Altho i agreed with a lot of batmans comments its sad to say that you critisce your own clubmates. gandwalways (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 02/10/2008 14:48:17 112664 Link 0 |
How are things Gandwalways?I agree with your prediction on the county intermediate final.Their scoring forwards should prove too good.Think Batman is in hibernation and sharpening his knife for knockaderry again next year. peckory (Limerick) - Posts: 46 - 02/10/2008 16:29:11 112759 Link 0 |
don't worry my good friend i'm gone nowhere just said i'd give some1 else a chance!! bruff should win it alright but it will be very close. i think batman is upset after kierans losing the west final. must upset him when monagea are trained by a knockaderry man! pigseye (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 02/10/2008 17:13:32 112811 Link 0 |
Ah gud to hear from ye peckory and pigseye. Should be a good final all the same and will be a bit of excitment with caherline in it. I hope they win would be great. Bruff are a lovely team to watch and wouldnt begrudge them winning it either. gandwalways (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 03/10/2008 09:14:42 113088 Link 0 |
they don't know much about the big ball either!! i argee 90% of what he said was true but the other 10 was way off the mark. i think danaher was the man (or his brother) but in fairness they were strong down the middle. 1 3 6 8 9 14 would have made any jr team in county. he still brought the best out of his players though and seems to be doing it again. ps i was only joking about kierans they are 1 of the few clubs that are not in decline at the moment pigseye (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 03/10/2008 13:55:13 113339 Link 0 |
Cant remember much of that team two moloneys where on it 3 and 6. Cant remember the midfield hanley suppose wasnt that hes breakthru and the yank in the forwards, collum, always hated him when we played them...altho would admit a good hurler. gandwalways (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 03/10/2008 15:40:01 113433 Link 0 |
pa downes was other midfielder that day. centre back this year. played well that year whenever i saw him playing. a bit harsh on dowling was guilty of the odd mess up but blocked rockets in both west and county finals and had a good puck out. hope no jr b players read your text! a championship full of passion! pigseye (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 03/10/2008 23:10:14 113609 Link 0 |
No havent gone away, totally wrong on being a Knockaderry man, said in previous post I am from a Senior Club in West Limk, so Pigseye there are only 3 Senior Clubs in West Limk, even you might be able to figure it out!! Hard to know what way the Intermediate County Final will go, Bruff very impressive for 50 mins V Mungret but were poor in last 10 mins, almost blew it, Caherline were very good V Glenroe although Bangers injury curtailed him a lot even thou he managed a goal before getting sent off, a lot depend on weather condiions for next week, think Bruff by a pooint or two, might take a second day to seperate them, In Seniors think Adare will do 2 in a row, Ahane seem to depend too much on Niall Moran, Adare might just have too much around the field for them once they can cut down on their wides batman (None) - Posts: 177 - 04/10/2008 15:43:18 113708 Link 0 |
Congrats to bruff on well deserved win. Was a good game to watch and great crowd present for the game...so well done on county board for not taking it to gaelic grounds. Browne half forward the star player took hes 2 goals very well. A nice young team if they can survive up senior next year will be great as young lads should only improve. Caherline give it their best and had they got a goal would have made it a little more interestin. They can be pleased with their year, but you wonder if they will get back to a final again in next 2-3 years. Probably caught glenroe in the semi off guard and really the old boys will all be back in it again next may along with attalaca. gandwalways (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 13/10/2008 12:20:37 117863 Link 0 |
just wanted to say congrats to Bruff on a fine performance yesterday, all six forwards as well as two midfielders scored, their young forwards just had a bit too much for Caherline and Davy Clarke did a great job on McCarthy, personally I thought Jason Hayes, Paddy O'Leary and Paul Browne stood out. Hopefully Bruff can stay in top flight as there is some good talent coming through over next 5-10 years to keep them up their, again well done to all. Have to say though was really annoyed at location of match, Ballygran pitch is poor and place was a bottleneck for both sets of fans, once again GAA powers show alot of disrespect to Supporters, and ?12 entrance for one game was too dear by ?2. Again GAA need to market their product and prices accordingly. As a contrast Bruff Rugby charged ?5 for home game to Thomond the day before and that was real value for money. Sean Wall (Limerick) - Posts: 141 - 13/10/2008 16:22:00 118116 Link 0 |
congrats to bruff on winning a great game yesterday. fine young side who deserve their chance at senior. well done to davy and browne on great games. a tough championship to win.well done pigseye (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 13/10/2008 19:25:19 118298 Link 0 |
Well done to Bruff on a well deserved victory. Cant agree that Ballyagran is a poor venue though, very good facilities and although traffic was a bit hectic, it would have been the same in Bruff, Kilmallock or any other country venue for that matter. Id credit the county board for moving the match to Ballyagran and I feel this contributed to a good atmosphere at the game. Ted316 (None) - Posts: 22 - 14/10/2008 13:00:20 118748 Link 0 |
Congratulations to Bruff,worthy champions.Well done Ballyagran on their successfull hosting of this years final. 12 euro a bit stingy at the gate though.Brown is a fine hurler,hope to see him in the green of Limerick. James Hourigan was excellent for Caherline,5 points from play no mean feat. eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 15/10/2008 10:48:57 119336 Link 0 |