I may be from Mayo but i am from a true Hurling area and have Family connnections to Loughrea and Portumna...And i think its an absolute disgrace that anyone question JC... Onion (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 03/08/2009 16:58:56 375045 Link 0 |
FreeTaker14 (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 03/08/2009 21:57:08 375804 Link 0 |
Well said Onion. With all the hurling this kid is doing he is bound to be carrying injuries and going off the boil. We ain't seen the best of him yet and he is learning as will the mgmt how to use him best. All I can say is thank god Galway have JC on their side. gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 03/08/2009 22:15:15 375849 Link 0 |
Ya lets be positive Onion, Galway to win All Irelands in hurling and Football next year, lets do it for the West, because to tell you the truth Mayo are going to be sent home with their tails between their legs this year as well, just like the Dubs. ganderlegs (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 04/08/2009 15:32:21 377130 Link 0 |
Lads did ye see that 18 year old playing for Tipp yesterday, outstanding!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 17/08/2009 10:46:27 394190 Link 0 |
It's becoming a bit jaded at this stage lad...why don't you take it up with joe personally? i'm sure you wouldn't be half as brave then, he'd have ya for breakfast P.Joycestick (Galway) - Posts: 158 - 17/08/2009 13:14:50 394382 Link 0 |
Maryward you're clearly on the wind-up so just give it a rest at this stage. Resurrecting an old thread to tell us how fantastic Noel McGrath is (and he is good in fairness) but it's completely irrelevant to anything JC does. JC was even better last year against a much better team than Limerick. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2397 - 17/08/2009 15:25:49 394543 Link 0 |
Very Much Overrated indeed. Great Freetaker and Great Club Hurler, however, as a county player he is well below the standard of John Mulane and not in the same parish as King Henry. While there is no doubt he has the skill he does not get on the ball that much. giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1287 - 18/08/2009 07:35:24 395221 Link 0 |
Youre right giveitlong he's hopeless....and against Cork last year shure anyone would score 2-12 wouldnt they? Port Insider1 (None) - Posts: 147 - 18/08/2009 10:26:46 395318 Link 0 |
Stupid post. Anyone that thinks Joe Canning is over-rated knows nothing about sport let alone hurling buffer (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 18/08/2009 11:19:06 395365 Link 0 |
2-12 Great score against poor cork team on the way down which were still quite a deal better that galway on the day. Very good player, would got on the Cats team, but not in the same league as Henry or Mullane, at least not yet anyway. In addition to Joe being overrated the Galway Hurling are grossly overated. In about 4th place now where there are only 8 real teams.. giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1287 - 18/08/2009 12:00:42 395421 Link 0 |
To be fair John Mullane wouldnt be my cup of tea, Henry yes, fantastic player has it all, if Joe moved like him then he would be the best player in the country, ye will have to get him a few irish dancing lessons they say its great for being light on the feet, look what it did for Padraig Joyce!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 18/08/2009 12:47:15 395500 Link 0 |
Genius and a great competitor.Is already one of the All time greats. Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 18/08/2009 13:57:14 395604 Link 0 |
Joe is not overrated,he has just had a poor year by his own high standards,its the media that have Joe built up.Noel McGrath has had some year for Tipperary and you dont here much about him,he has scored 1-13 from play in this years championship and again better opposition than the likes of Laois or Antrim.He is also younger tan Joe.People on this site here say Joe is slow i would like to see them mark him. manawatu (Galway) - Posts: 34 - 18/08/2009 14:31:39 395666 Link 0 |
Before I make any comments I want to first say that no I am not from Portumna. Joe Canning is THE player that every other team in Ireland wish they had, its not so much that he's going to win every game by himself (although he gave it a fair shot against Cork last year) but its the little pieces of magic that he and only a few other players in the country can create that makes him stand out. I'll admit that this may not have been the season we were expecting him to have but in all fairness he is young and was carrying a groin injury. I'm sure the best is yet to come from Joe, and threads like this do nothing to help. We should be gettin behind Joe and the rest of the Galway team, us Galway fans aren't exactly wonder supporters are we. As for missing the final shot to level things up against Waterford its a pity, a pity that not one of the other Galway players had the gall to take it themselves, how many of them had an option to take it before Joe (the youngest player on the field) had to step up and take it. Sure he missed it and if he had put it over I doubt this thread would be here. Who here can honestly say if they were picking the Galway team in the morning Joe Cannings name wouldn't be the first one on the sheet. Well thats my tuppence worth anyway. blackhound (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 18/08/2009 22:10:47 396325 Link 0 |
Well considering he's been playing for Galway with a serious injury all year that requires ONE YEAR to fully recover from maybe some people here should give the lad a break. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2397 - 19/08/2009 16:26:32 397273 Link 0 |
This subject is absolute scandolous canning is rated as 1 of the top hurlers around the country and at the age of 20.....hes been expecteed to play at championship pace after coming back from an injury that usualy takes a year too recover from...the real question is that so called supporters are expecting too much from young players!!! KickingKing1 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 21/08/2009 21:57:02 399564 Link 0 |
a pathetic post. absolute rubbish.joe is a top hurler and will become a legend of hurling bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 21/08/2009 22:10:24 399580 Link 0 |
People seem to forget those massive performances against Cork in 08' & Kilkenny this year. The cheek of some people to come on here and say he is overrated.. At 19 years old this man won an all star, he is the leader of the forward line and will be for many a year. Some people are just very narrow minded, I expected some people from other counties to say he is overrated from sheer jealousy but from a fellow Galwayman to say he is, is just pure and utter bull.. Burca (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 21/08/2009 22:46:34 399608 Link 0 |
when i started this post it was nothing to do with putting down Joe Canning, it was to get opinions of what people of all areas thought of him as a player, not just portumna people who only see the good. Personally I love to watch joe canning especially from the dead ball, but his mobility was always a question and this was without the injury that has arisen lately. Even looking at some of the under 21 now there is no better than him when the ball it lobbed in or given directly into him, he will do damage he is strong and acurate and has the confidence to go for goals. all through this thread I only questioned his mobility and I still stand over that. All im saying is what would he be like with just a bit more movement!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 22/08/2009 15:21:47 399914 Link 0 |