i must say this message board is just crazy!!!!joe canning is not over rated!!!!maybe its healy and hayes who r overrated!!!the YOUNG man is getting wrongful abuse here nd it is just crazy puretown (Roscommon) - Posts: 42 - 30/07/2009 23:08:37 370769 Link 0 |
oh i fprgot about fitzgibbon when he scored 1 16 from frees and was ate by john dalton mc09 (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 31/07/2009 09:35:35 370986 Link 0 |
Joe overrated???? abadref (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 31/07/2009 10:31:15 371044 Link 0 |
Brian carroll got 1 14 fom frees one day v cork up in birr at a league game a few years ago... didnt see no thread on the offaly page bout him.. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 31/07/2009 10:55:29 371092 Link 0 |
Tribesman28 I will put this in a nutshell because I think i am starting to repeat myself. maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 31/07/2009 13:03:35 371316 Link 0 |
marryward, you give that lovely little pub where u stole your name from a very bad name, joe has one AVERAGE game and you come on here, most players in galway are'nt fit to lace his boots. fearnua (Galway) - Posts: 311 - 31/07/2009 13:22:36 371347 Link 0 |
Maryward you still didn't answer the question: You stated that when Kevin Hynes was in possession of the sliotar near the end and Canning was 5 yards away from him in space looking for a pass that, "Joe should have made up that 5 yards" to get the ball off Hynes. What did you mean? Did you expect canning to go over and grab the sliotar off hynes? Are you going to answer the question and back up your comments or are you going to keep deflecting the attention away from it by whatever means possible. This isn't about Joes miss in injury time or Hynes' entitlement to have a shot , or Joes best position or any of that, it's about just that incident. Are you going to back up your comments and answer the question? Tribesman28 (Galway) - Posts: 176 - 31/07/2009 13:35:54 371379 Link 0 |
i would just like to state that joe canning is not over rated. he is only 20 years of age and already has all ireland club and minor medals as well as an all star. however, i do believe that joe could be in better condition. i feel he tires towards the end of big inter county games. i think if he is going to become the player shefflin is he will have to be in better physical condition. he will need the ability to play 70 minutes of inter county hurling on the '40, where i would like to see him play for galway. at the game (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 31/07/2009 13:58:25 371435 Link 0 |
Put it to bed lads. It's bad enough seeing the guff that some posters from outside the county come out with without us knocking one of our own. Joe's the real deal and as Galway fans we should be thankful that he plays for us. Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 31/07/2009 15:01:46 371605 Link 0 |
Tribesman28 I dont know why you are trying to nit pick my comments about the 5 yards, this was a general comment about canning's lack of movement especially in the second half. I only saw the match once and that was live and at the time that is the way I saw it, Hynes picked up a breaking ball he had a look at the posts and he went for a shot, they were still a point up at that stage and he had every right to go for a pot. Nothing more to say on the subject!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 31/07/2009 15:13:54 371634 Link 0 |
You are a bluffer maryward and you have just proved it. You make the most ridiculous comments on this forum and now you have shown that you can't back them up. Nothing you have said in the past was taken with any credibility judging by the comments from other posters, but definitely from now on nobody will pass any remarks on you. In general the standard of this forum has gone down, with less decent talk about hurling. Hopefully it will pick back up again when you, and your like go back to school. Tribesman28 (Galway) - Posts: 176 - 31/07/2009 15:39:23 371687 Link 0 |
Tribesman28 and maryward will ye cop on and finish this, ye are both right in some of the things ye are saying, joe canning needs to get fitter he had no legs to finish out the match so Tribesman28 thats what he meant by the 5 yards it was just a figure of speech just leave it at that. Twin (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 31/07/2009 18:02:44 371930 Link 0 |
I think maryward has you rattled Tribesman28. ganderlegs (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 31/07/2009 18:05:57 371933 Link 0 |
There will come a day when all the above will be seen for what it is, rubbish. Leave the 20 year old that has won nearly every honour in the game as probably the most important part of every team he has ever been on alone. It's incredible that this post was even started, the boy has nothing to prove. Remember, that's what he is, just a boy. Oh and if anyone thinks that John Connolly, Joe Cooney, DJ, Shefflin etc went through their careers without an off day, one stray attempt at a score, then start watching something that really makes no sense, like cricket. And as for his modesty, he was asked to sign a few things for me for charity and couldn't be more generous or helpful, I for one would love to see that famous article too. MaroonKat (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 01/08/2009 07:56:58 372598 Link 0 |
Maryward, You just don't get it do you? Joe was in space and his teammate didn't pass to him but elected to shoot for a point( i think) under pressure and from a more difficult position,the ball was cleared upfield and Waterford equalised.Joe had done his bit,he got himself into a good position to recieve the ball as John Giles might say but was not utilised.That is not his fault.I could cite many other examples when Joe was in good positions but not found by his teammates not just V Waterford but right through the campaign.Hynes (who is a good hurler) had no right to go for the score from where he was,well out the field,under pressure and into the wind! The game was in the melting pot at the time and on such decisions games are won and lost.Hopefully lessons have been learned.Anyway its water under the bridge now but no blame for Joe if you please. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/08/2009 16:57:28 372998 Link 0 |
it is obvious that ye think ye are the experts here and nothing negative can be said about ye're CLUB MAN well get a life I have moved on so would ye kindly do so as well please!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 01/08/2009 21:38:13 373227 Link 0 |
ye must be Portumna men ye wont let go of this Joe Canning thing at all, why dont ye get a life and stop standing up for a fine big man like Canning and he is a man not a boy (you are a man at 18) we will see how he gets on in club and under 21 and then we will comment again. Waterford, Tipp and Clare have a few very young men, I think one is only 18 the rest 19, just give it a rest lads. Twin (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 01/08/2009 22:09:49 373268 Link 0 |
not at all.. shtop yer nonsense minorchamp09 (Galway) - Posts: 254 - 02/08/2009 09:57:00 373459 Link 0 |
Joe over-rated? NO WAY! I think he's a genius. Gaillimhgodeo (Galway) - Posts: 54 - 02/08/2009 22:34:43 374129 Link 0 |
The Lad jus needs 2 be left alone and let Play!! FreeTaker14 (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 03/08/2009 10:40:11 374364 Link 0 |