Am always open to peoples opinion but to say the least this thread is pathetic.... not only on the field but off the field Joe Canning is prob one of the finest sports personalities we are lucky enough to see. please stop commenting on this issue so it will quickly disappear off the first page of the forum. portabu (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 28/07/2009 12:55:52 365969 Link 0 |
|Maybe we should start a new thread about ollie canning. An absolute giant on sunday. Never seen the man bettered, no off days, no not getting the right ball, no excuses.. and hes an "auld" lad! old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 28/07/2009 13:00:12 365981 Link 0 |
maybe a few of the posters on this thread are too young to remember Joe Cooney he was some talent also and could play anywhere, its just my humble opinion but I think this young Canning has still abit to go to surpass Mr. Cooney. ganderlegs (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 28/07/2009 22:34:13 367303 Link 0 |
Its not Joes fault that the manager moved him out to half forward and left him there while his teammates lobbed high balls into healy and hayes! Joe Canning is the best hurler at his age (20) that I have seen.He has n't had a great year but too much is expected from him.I suspect he is carrying an injury, hopefully it will have cleared up by the 22nd of August when the U21s play the Munster champs. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/07/2009 11:14:19 367893 Link 0 |
Apologies to all in galway we truly did steel it off ye. However we were hungry for a shot at revenge on kilkenny. On the subject of Joe Canning, He's a truly outstanding hurler, but, he needs to learn the concept of modesty, I read and article recently where he was interviewed and he said he was going to revolutionise the way the game of hurling is being played and that the likes of Christy Ring would soon be overshadowed by him. These are very very strong statements and while he has plenty all-ireland medals underage surely he cant be making ridiculous comments like this about one of the games greatest patrons in christy ring?? anyhow this is just my opinion and I wish Joe and all the galway players the best in 2010, hopefully we'll meet ye as defending champions. DeiseDestroyers (Waterford) - Posts: 11 - 29/07/2009 12:05:03 367993 Link 0 |
Why is it that when high profile players have a bad game it is put down to injury or team mates not giving them the right ball. I am sick of this the sooner players take on the responsibility of playing up to their profile then and only then will Galway win anything!! The same goes on when picking players in trials to represent county in the first place, picking lads on pure reputation and that are playing pure ***** even in club football, and they will be brought into big matches for Galway and we wonder why we dont win important matches. maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 29/07/2009 12:43:10 368098 Link 0 |
I don't know where you read that article Deise but it does not sound like Joe one little bit. He is a very modest, quiet lad and it is the media who are blowing him up and trying to put words into his mouth he didn't utter just to sell a few more papers! tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/07/2009 12:43:32 368101 Link 0 |
ya i agree often heard Joe canning being interviewed would not be his form to utter statements like that. This Christy Ring if playing in today's game would be sent off as often as not, i did not like his style of play acturally i thought he was a dirty player and i think there are many players in Ireland past and present much better players than he was. ganderlegs (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 29/07/2009 12:51:20 368126 Link 0 |
Maryward they weren't giving him any ball never mind the right ball.K.Hynes sent an aimless high ball into NOBODY with Joe 5 yards away looking for a pass near the end.This was typical of our display. Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/07/2009 16:13:00 368481 Link 0 |
DeiseDestroyers - What publication were those comments in, who was the journalist that interviewed him ? Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 29/07/2009 16:38:55 368519 Link 0 |
Barnowl94 Did you ever think maybe joe should have made up that 5 yards, this is called 'movement' and to go looking for the ball to get himself into the match, this will come with experience. I would have great respect for joe and all the skills he has, but he lacks a bit of urgency!! One thing is for certain joe would never say he would overshadow any player and comes across as a very modest lad. maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 29/07/2009 18:31:11 368718 Link 0 |
I must agree with maroonatic,Joe Canning is special,he has always come across as a very modest young man,I am sure he will win many major honours in the years ahead mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 538 - 29/07/2009 19:24:12 368780 Link 0 |
mary this is shocking if ur a galway supporter mikeyjohn (Galway) - Posts: 305 - 29/07/2009 22:23:07 369032 Link 0 |
maryward if he had a good year you would on here saying he was underated some people are never happy, jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 30/07/2009 00:35:31 369248 Link 0 |
Mary will you stop embarrassing yourself like a good lad. You are on there to barnowl about Joe 'making up 5 yards' to get a pass off Hynes!! What did you want him to do, run over and grab the ball off Hynes?? The fact is, he was standing in space in a shooting position on his own. Hynes on the other hand had two Waterford men around him and still elected to shoot a ball that went 15 yards wide. That is the point that barnowl is making. Canning was at this stage out on the half forward line 'looking for the ball to get himself into the match' as you said. Give the lad a rest. Tribesman28 (Galway) - Posts: 176 - 30/07/2009 09:27:32 369338 Link 0 |
it is you that is embarrassing yourself, coming on here pretending you know everything, Hynes is a galway hurler you are not, he made a decision as he saw it and thats that, go open a joe fan club!! maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 30/07/2009 10:14:36 369385 Link 0 |
Ok Maryward, if you know so much about hurling so, lets argue the validation of your points. What did you mean by saying that "joe should have made up that 5 yards" to get the ball off hynes so? Did you want him to go over and grab it off him? Tribesman28 (Galway) - Posts: 176 - 30/07/2009 11:12:29 369499 Link 0 |
dident he get the last ball to level match he did the same as he did in the famous county final a few years ago when he missed a very scoreable free to draw the match. not up to it under pressure. mc09 (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 30/07/2009 18:49:13 370357 Link 0 |
Mc09 you got to be *****ing me about joe canning and pressure serioulsy - are trying to be the eamonn dunphy of the forum world. cop on lad, all ireland minor, all ireland clubs, fitzgibbon - main man everywhere he goes. that ball in the last second was on the sideline after 70 minutes of abuse with waterford lads haring down on him. you tell me sheflin would have score that 10 times out of 10. you are a fool to be jumping on a lads back because of some sort of club envy that you have, this is what was wrong with Galway hurling which I hope has changed a little this year and a lot more next year. anygivensunday (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 30/07/2009 19:57:11 370437 Link 0 |
The difference between good and great was illustrated by mullane on sunday. Hit 4/5 bad wides but had the courage to run across from the other wing, receive the ball, and lash it over in injury time to win it. Fair play to him. Canning is a classy bit of stuff. A difficult shot to tie it up, but you would have expected him to nail it. He s been off form a bit from play this year though his frees have been immaculate. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2631 - 30/07/2009 22:34:12 370689 Link 0 |