Joe Canning overrated???

Did not have have a good year and died in the second half against Waterford!!

maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 26/07/2009 17:44:55    362658

He is 20 years old, give the lad a break.

Burca (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 26/07/2009 18:40:26    362714

Dead right Burca. Mary, cop on. These are amateur sportsmen who were asked to play 3 high-intensity games against 3 tough opponents in as many weeks. Talk about mission impossible.

Before anyone comes on here lambasting them, let them first tell us how often they have faced a similar physical challenge, and won.

And history will show that I am no great fan of the Galway hurlers; but this team did an amazing job of which we should all be proud.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 26/07/2009 19:19:24    362780

this thread is jus finished on the main page!!dont start it again

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 26/07/2009 20:17:33    362903

canning deserves every bit of praise he gets..the man is only 20 yet the pressure put on his shoulders is unreal..even when he is marked out of it by two or three players at or time or stupidly not brought into the game enough by his team mates the man still steps up to slot a difficult free perhaps having gone almost 10 mins without touching the ball..

mydog (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 26/07/2009 21:20:58    363081

its time to face the facts lads, in my opinion Joe has no pace, very slow to get to a ball and needs to look at loosing a little weight, Ollie is lean and fast, could you imagine Joe if he had the fitttness of his brother. Looks slow but fantastic with the ball but in todays game pace is everything and this is one thing Joe Canning lacks.

Twin (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 27/07/2009 00:37:32    363375

Give the man a break. He's 20. He must have a sore back from carrying the rest of that forward line. Too much pressure on him and posters coming on here saying he's better than shefflin ring and keher. He's top class and will be the best hurler in the country in a year or 2.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 27/07/2009 08:17:35    363483

don't think he is overated but i also don't think he played up to his own high standards this year having said that the ball into him is terrible him running one way and it hit the other, also if a couple of breaks went his way he would have had goals against cork and again yesterday. some player though

pateen (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 27/07/2009 11:10:45    363662

Ye are contradicting your selves lads, saying he's only 20 and he will be the best player in the country in a year or two. Yes i agree in a year or two time but at the moment he is not the best player in the country which is my point, he has a long way to go but has the potential to be the best. And as for saying if the breaks went his way the last day we would have won the match well guess what a break did come his way at the end of the game and he missed it!!

maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 27/07/2009 21:41:25    365073

maryward who said he was the best hurler in the country no one only you so you are the one contradicting yourself
and TWIN how can you call a guy who left one of the best man markers in the game jj delaney for dead to score his goal against Kilkenny.

CountyChamp (Mayo) - Posts: 17 - 27/07/2009 23:17:22    365315

we have to look at each game individually, yes he did have a good match against kilkenny but it does not please me to say not against cork and waterford

Twin (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 28/07/2009 01:04:21    365510

He is a top class hurler, some day he could even be as good as Paul Flynn.

3ships (Waterford) - Posts: 3 - 28/07/2009 01:16:50    365522

CountyChamp i just dont build up the lad like everyone on this thread saying he is carrying other players on his shoulders, he is special but its the likes of you who is putting all this extra pressure on him and it showed in the last two games he played for Galway, you are on about he leaving jj delaney for dead and scoring a fantastic goal well he left no one for dead against clare and waterford. I am only answering what you have brought up I consider Joe Canning as the future of Galway hurling but he is not playing well at the moment this has to be said even though we dont want to hear it!!

maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 28/07/2009 01:33:29    365531

This thread makes me sick. Maryward you have some cheek abusing the best hurler we have. If memory serves me right Joe did not miss a single free or 65 against Clare, Cork or Waterford and I doubt he missed many against Kilkenny. He got three points from play on sunday from limited supply. Only Damien Hayes got as many points as him. I think if they put I Tannion in fullforward next year with Joe at 15, Tan can share the physical toll and the f/f line will make hay again.

Billy50 (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 28/07/2009 08:18:45    365591

Joe Canning can't b blamed 4 anytin,he was told to move out the field,he was in control in the full forward line controllin evrytin,few great catches,ther r other players ye can pick bsides Joe

tommym888 (Galway) - Posts: 95 - 28/07/2009 09:13:54    365613

Leave Joe Canning alone, the lad is only 20 he must be sick to the teeth of people writing him up and down all year. The lad played with a groin strain for most of the year, yet we never heard him complain. He is one of the best players I have seen in years and at only 20 his best is yet to come. Saw how broken he was on Sunday so come on give him a break. JC will be back bigger and better next year.

galwayfanatic (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 28/07/2009 09:16:41    365615

maryward you're not the alter ego of that looder from Meath who pop's up in these forums everytime Joe Canning's name is mentioned by any chance ?

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 28/07/2009 10:53:18    365729

No i am no ones alter ego, i am my own woman who sees things are they are and not through rose coloured glasses. If you knew me you would understand I never ran down Joe Canning, I keep saying he is special, future of galway hurling etc I dont know what ye are getting all upset about, face facts he had a bad year by his standards and let me tell you one thing Galway is a team and you should stop making a big hero out of one of their players no matter how good he can be, this puts too much presure on that individual and it really does nothing for the rest of the lads on the team. They are all good hurlers in their own right and cant be taken the blame if Joe cant get on the ball.

maryward (Galway) - Posts: 337 - 28/07/2009 11:15:56    365770

this is a stupid thread. Hes only 20 years old like. I know he missed the last shot to level the game but that doesnt mean hes overrated. Every county knows his the main treat galway have so the teams try and take him out of it as in marking very very tight to him. Another reason is that galway are not fast or good enough supplying him with the ball, thats why you see joe out near half way line because he is starved from ball. Hes still very young and has a bright future ahead of him so give him another year or two and he'll be even better, but hes still a class act

ghandy (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 28/07/2009 11:44:56    365817

Thankfully d'oul eyesight is still pretty good, don't need spectacles rose tinted or otherwise yet. I've been lucky, nay privileged, to have seen some of the games greats in action. I've seen Frank Cummins (the Kilkenny variety), Jimmy Barry-Murphy, Centenary Man Sid Whelehan, DJ and Sheff, our earlier JC's Connolly and Cooney. Joe sits easily in that kind of company. So, back to the initial question...Joe Canning overrated???...Joe Canning is special. And blasht it anyway previous poster for disclosing the fact that he's not fully fit. Was supposed to be a secret ye lads outside of Portumna weren't supposed to know.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1069 - 28/07/2009 11:53:49    365839