Niamh Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/07/2009 23:18:46 357706 Link 0 |
Marooniac - You're right. That's the way it was explained on the Road To Croker last Friday. Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 22/07/2009 23:20:34 357709 Link 0 |
thanks for clearing that up Niamh, think Ballinderry shouldnt have been thrown out of the Championship over this sorry debacle but thats just my opinion... and hope Del never makes it onto a County Board or becomes a Judge! lol Rahilly_Man (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 22/07/2009 23:28:25 357715 Link 0 |
Rahilly_Man Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/07/2009 23:39:26 357728 Link 0 |
Sorry a couple of mistakes in my original post, it isn't the Ulster council who outlines the 48 week ban it was a Derry hearing committee who are independent to the county board. Also, the reason for James Conway is because he didn't own up when initially questioned about the incident and came forward and admitted it at a later date. Also Dell, you are so biased, when Ricey and Tommy Mc Guigan were in the dock earlier in the year you were backing them to the hilt, you are the most inconsistent poster on this board. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 23/07/2009 00:11:14 357766 Link 0 |
By the way Dell, I dont want to cause offense to you here but you seem very righteous about another couny's issues. Would you not agree that potentially making another player sterile is a lot worse than giving your opponent a broken jaw? many slapas are handed out in Football matches and just because one landed I assume you think the same punishment should be handed out for any intended assaults like this that never materialised in injury. Surely, as a vervent supporter of the rules you would agree that intent is the issue here. One punch could result in a missed haymaker while the other as we have seen here can result in a broken jaw. I would. Yet you never condemmed Ryan's knee against Kerry which in effect was an attempted assault and you advocated a reduction from his 8 week ban. Here you are looking for conway to be granted a doubling of his 48 week ban to a 96 week ban. Any consistency to your beliefs. Or are you just Partisan when it suits? thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 23/07/2009 00:34:57 357786 Link 0 |
Theres a lot of history behind this whole thing. The 'Tyrone men' dont sit comfortably in Derry and never have. Its just the latest episode in a long - running battle between Ballinderry and Derry officialdom. Apart from the Tyrone thing a lot of Derry clubs are probably jealous of all the success Ballinderry have had over the years at all levels. BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 23/07/2009 00:39:04 357789 Link 0 |
The man broke a players jaw...........in my opinion he has let his club, teammates, family and himself down...there is absoloutly no place in our sport for that.... critic101 (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 23/07/2009 02:05:11 357827 Link 0 |
Dell you can be awfull righteous at times, lets be honest conway never set out to break kielts jaw, how many men have got in a row and thrown a punch and never even got booked for it, i agree that yes he deserves his supension but in no way did ballinderry club deserve to be thrown out of league and championship that just seems a bit over the top! exact same situation happened in our club 2 months ago and our field is no closed for rest of the season. fiannablue (Tyrone) - Posts: 326 - 23/07/2009 10:23:29 357949 Link 0 |
Maroonatic panboxty (Leitrim) - Posts: 129 - 23/07/2009 10:46:32 357987 Link 0 |
superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 23/07/2009 11:24:05 358037 Link 0 |
Dell has a point about the Club not releasing the identity of the player when requested to do so. Also Rahilly_man made a fair point on court etc but in the event of Mr Kielt taking a civil action against Ballinderry, The Officers of the club (asst Secretary up to Chairperson) can be held personally liable if a judge finds against them. A number of years back in Meath, an action was taken against a player and club over a serious assault and the Judge was extremely critical of the club officials and referee for not co-operating with the relevant investigations and adjourned the case for said officials to re-think their stance. In the end the case was settled out of court prior to the re-convening and the judge did comment when informed of the settlement that he was prepared to fine heavily/jail the said officials fo non co-operation. Club officials in my opinion should consult their lawyers in such matters for proper guidance. Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 23/07/2009 11:34:06 358061 Link 0 |
In fairness for a Tyrone man Dell you have a big interest in the Derry disciplinary problems. fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 23/07/2009 13:24:42 358331 Link 0 |
Ah jesus you'd wanta have killed a man to get that length of a ban! MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 23/07/2009 13:34:21 358363 Link 0 |
Myusername, Graham Geraghty got a similar suspension for a Paul Galvin like incident and nobody was hurt. Eventually got it reduced after 9 months Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 23/07/2009 13:43:54 358388 Link 0 |
panboxty fair play to ye. It's all a bit of a headspinner. To go off on a tangent slightly this is partly why the Provincial systems (which I think are outdated btw) for one thing still exist. Too many vested interests and too many lads wanting to hold onto power. A bit like the public sector :) Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 23/07/2009 14:43:42 358543 Link 0 |
Niamh Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/07/2009 16:28:24 358797 Link 0 |
cant comment on the circumstances of the incident and wont, but i think its fair to say most people in derry wont be too shocked. our county board, as far as i can see, arent very popular and this is right up their street. a complete overhaul is needed i think. pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 23/07/2009 16:58:16 358861 Link 0 |
pig.ignorant Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/07/2009 17:25:55 358936 Link 0 |
Can I just say I think people in this board have too much of an opinion and are quick to hang a man when they dont even knows what went on. I dont know conway, i dont know kielt, i wasnt at the game but people dont know if anything was said in is his ear, if he took a hit earlier in the game, or was provoked in some way. I feel sorry for Kielt, quality player, havent seen much of him but havent really seen a dirty side to him when I have, but conway done something in the spare of the moment, that split second, seen that red moment that most players who play the game and have a passion for the sport have had at some stage. It wasnt nice for Kielt one bit but all I am saying is that I am 100% certain he didnt intend to break his friends jaw, he threw a punch that be's thrown in id say in 1 of every 3 club games that takes place in every county in Ireland and had the misfortune of catching poor kielt better than he expected. He aint a bad person, he got carried away in the heat of the battle. Lance (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 24/07/2009 08:45:07 359642 Link 0 |