Joe Canning. Is he overrated?

Ah come off it with the excuses. Last year when he was anonymous against Kilkenny in the U-21 semi final (when a non senior county panelist didn't give him a sniff) we were told he was injured as well. He's had a poor year from play despite numerous opportunities to prove himself.

He is already up there with the best from placed balls though. Beautiful striker of the ball, Pure class.

CodyisGod (Kilkenny) - Posts: 20 - 31/07/2009 14:01:28    371443

aftr seein the point he scored against waterford,i tink he shuld play football

mememe (USA) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2009 14:51:20    371584

lads canning aint overrated.
Firstly look at what he has done at LIT. seen a few of his college matches and he always stands out and that is against college teams with a mixture of senior and U21 county players on them.secondly, look at what he has done with portumna. he was unreal against prob the 2nd best club in the country, Ballyhalle.
sure he scores frees, but someone on any team has too. 1-05 from play out of 2-13 against cork in 08 and the goal from play against kilkenny this year and brilliant for a lad of his size.

also i can tell ye now that his groin and stomach are giving him problems. he wasnt 100% this season. i was at a galway training session in athenry before the clare game and he pulled up in the teams 15 v 15 game. then every other training after that he didnt go full out. sure anyone at any galway championship game this year could tell you that he didnt go full hog during an pre-match warm-up drills and was defo heavier then he should be or could achieve.
so the points above point to a lad who has alot more to give and show given the right time and fitness. hes only 20 still so we should lay off and give him a chance. he still has time to prove his doubters wrong & those people are intitled to their opinion.

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 31/07/2009 15:07:45    371623