Joe Canning. Is he overrated?

Joe is a savage hurler with great ability. He is not the best yet but maybe he will be someday. Hes probably one the top 4 hurlers in the country at the moment and hes only 20!. Thats my rating of him. Is that over or under rating?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 22/07/2009 14:50:40    356929

Joe is a very special talent .Hes free taking ability is class we missed scores from frees in the first half form out half forward line but Joe was able to put them over from behind even his own half back line. Having someone with that ability is such a great bonus for a hurling team.

As for his contribution in open play I seem to remember he set up the crucial goal made scores for other players and scored point from play.

No questioning the guys class

decCork (Cork) - Posts: 109 - 22/07/2009 15:09:28    356960

Joe Canning is a class act. Ignore the begrudgers. I notice that most of his critisicm is coming from a meathman...need i say more??

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 22/07/2009 15:13:59    356969

Is Joe Canning over-rated?? No, he's class.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 22/07/2009 15:22:36    356991

MyUsername

356969 Joe Canning is a class act. Ignore the begrudgers. I notice that most of his critisicm is coming from a meathman...need i say more??

Yeah please do. What has that got to do with anything?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/07/2009 15:37:06    357023

Here here MyUserName, never a truer word spoken!

Tribesman28 (Galway) - Posts: 176 - 22/07/2009 16:02:27    357075

Meath are the aristocrats of Hurling!!

TribalCharlie (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 22/07/2009 16:18:15    357104

Apologies Meathmen, this thread was started by a Laois Man..... Maybe they know more about Hurling than Joe Canning!!!

TribalCharlie (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 22/07/2009 16:20:40    357106

If he got the support Henry Shefflin or Eoin Larkin got he would get 3-10 from open play a game almost. Add that onto the frees and you're talking about the greatest hurler EVER.

Paddy_D (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 22/07/2009 16:22:18    357108

Whats the difference between Joe Canning and a mini bus?
A mini-bus can only carry 8, Joe Canning has to carry 14!!

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 22/07/2009 16:32:28    357134

And who can carry Wexford?? Fitzy?? Time to let him go before ye go into Christy Ring or Nicky Rackard or what ever subordinate level yee are playing for!

TribalCharlie (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 22/07/2009 16:39:11    357142

Work has been halted on the construction of a new shopping centre in Gort, Co. Galway.
During the excavation works an All-Ireland Medal was found. The Fraud Squad have been called in to investigate..

kleenex (Wexford) - Posts: 392 - 22/07/2009 16:46:38    357155

I think people are deliberately missing the point. For Joe to lay claim to be one of the best in the land, he has to prove he can do it on a fairly regular basis, which with his poor scoring return from play this year, he clearly has not yet done. What he has proven is that he's one of the best placed ball specialists I've ever seen, and he gave an exhibition of free taking against Cork especially. I agree with a previous poster who said he may destroy a team on his own fairly soon, but he's taking a long time about doing it. When he does, I'll be the first to say "that's more like it".

Chances are he will prove that he can do it on a regular basis from play, but he has patently failed to do it so far, and his scoring stats prove that. He's proven he's absolutely top drawer from frees and sideline cuts, but only good to average from play. The likes of Eoin Larkin, Noel McGrath, Seamus Callinane, John Mullane, Martin Comerford, Henry Shefflin, Aidan Fogarty, Lar Corbett, Ben O'Connor, Stephen Banville, Richie Hogan, and Dotsy O'Callaghan (to name but a few) have all produced inter county performances in 2009 which Joe hasn't come close to in 6 attempts. Why is that? If Joe is already the best thing since sliced pan, why isn't he shooting the lights out in at least every 2nd game?

As I've said, Joe has the hurling world at his feet in terms of raw talent, but underage medals and performances against a Kilkenny club team which contained no inter county panellists, does not prove he's anywhere near the best. Yet.

CodyisGod (Kilkenny) - Posts: 20 - 22/07/2009 17:12:29    357221

CoadyisGod

Your incorrect on a few things but also about Joe Canning playing against a Kilkenny club team with absolutley no Kilkenny panelists

FYI - Both Henry Shefflin and T J Reid play for Ballyhale

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 534 - 22/07/2009 17:41:16    357264

Apologies, I obviously meant defenders. What else am I incorrect on?

CodyisGod (Kilkenny) - Posts: 20 - 22/07/2009 17:52:48    357284

You people that watch the scoresheets miss the whole point of the game of hurling and Cannings REAL value to a team. 2 great saves from the Cork goalkeeper kept him out of the net but he set up OTHERS for scores plus he did lots of other things that don't end up on a scoresheet. Wake up.

pwalsh67 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 22/07/2009 18:06:00    357301

i honestly dont no how people are slatin this guy!pwalsh your rite about him settin up other scores!!he is a super talent

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 22/07/2009 19:11:24    357378

Who's slating him? From my own point of view all l 'm saying is he has not yet proved that he's the greatest thing since sliced pan. He hasn't been as impressive from play as most people claim and the stats prove that. If and when he does it I'll be the first to recognize that but at the moment he just hasn't done enough from play.

People are pointing out what he contributes in general play but the goal he "made" on Saturday was a missed one on one chance, nothing more. Eddie Brennan scores those for fun but Joe hit it straight at Donal Og instead of keeping it low. I don't recall any passes to team mates on Saturday that ended in scores and apart from 2 frees he earned against Kilkenny, he had no other assist. The other point people are making is that he's a team player and works hard. A Junior C standard player can do that for you.

Hopefully he'll cut loose against Waterford and justify what all the fuss is about. We know he can do it from placed balls but can he sustain serious performances from play at inter county level? Time will tell.

My guess is that he will prove to be great, but leave out his undoubted placed ball prowess, over 6 inter county games in 2009 he's been only reasonable.

CodyisGod (Kilkenny) - Posts: 20 - 22/07/2009 21:06:47    357496

Cody:

You should know better than to say stats PROVE anything. Were his backs or midfield FEEDING him the ball enough or did he have to go GET it himself? He did EVERYTHING for Galway against Cork except standing in his own goals!!! He sets up OTHERS for scores, he passes brilliantly, he's always marked by at least two guys when the ball comes his way, etc. Please wake up. Just the fact that some of you EXPECT so much scoring from him proves my point. Just the fact that so many of you point to Shefflin and DJ also prove my point too.

pwalsh67 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 22/07/2009 21:57:25    357559

Just came across an interesting stat:

In 4 games last year Henry Shefflin scored 6 points from play.

In 3 games last year Joe Canning scored 2 goals and 14 points from play.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 22/07/2009 22:26:33    357621