Very fair comments lostcat and I agree with all of them. My views may come across as being a bit extreme but you have summed it up pretty nicely in your post. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/07/2009 14:12:03 353202 Link 0 |
What exactly do people mean by over rated? In my view hes seen as the best prospect in Hurling since Shef, not as good as him yet but has the potential to be. At only 20 he has numerous AI club titles and an All Star, which King Henry didn't have and Hes probably the best player I've seen hit a placed ball. JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 20/07/2009 14:32:44 353258 Link 0 |
I think people are over reacting to what Loyal is saying. I personally think that Canning is a super hurler but I'd have to admit that he hasn't been as good as he can be from open play yet this year. His free's, 65s srl have been exceptional but he has not cut loose yet from play. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 20/07/2009 14:41:13 353284 Link 0 |
Ack lads come on now, he's a terrible singer! Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 20/07/2009 14:45:57 353300 Link 0 |
JuanVeron, you are spot on! Over rated comparing him to Ring, Keher even Shefflin! He has a lot of hurling done for 20 but still has a bit to learn, only over rated comparing him to a great player! He is good but not up to eoin Kelly's level yet (as much as I dislike him he is a great player in a poor team) lostcat (Dublin) - Posts: 49 - 20/07/2009 14:55:06 353317 Link 0 |
Loyal. wackallen (Wexford) - Posts: 53 - 20/07/2009 14:56:34 353320 Link 0 |
The fact that so many threads are started on the main forum about one 20 year old says enough. this debate grows old, lets see Joe prove himself for the rest of this year (which he will do) and then we can discuss it. tribes4liam09 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 20/07/2009 14:57:41 353322 Link 0 |
The fact that people are comparing him to Henry Shefflin at all is a major compliament to the young pretender! The most valuable individuals to any team are ones who (like Henry), despite their individual brilliance, are still part of a team. At 20 Joe is already the focus of a lot of defensive planning by opposition teams and this brings benefits to Galway, which Joe himself doesn't always have to exploit single-handedly. There are a fair number of good hurlers who have passed their Galway careers without an A-I medal. I don't see the same thing happening to Joe or the generation he hurls with. That will be the true measure of his contribution when it's counted, and not the number of All-Stars or Player of the Year awards he wins... or even if he breaks scoring records... Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/07/2009 15:13:16 353370 Link 0 |
He has potential buy he is far from the finished article. solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 20/07/2009 15:18:52 353379 Link 0 |
No other hurler in Ireland has me switching on the box to watch them play like Joe Canning does, i think thats a testament to his quality. bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 20/07/2009 15:20:42 353385 Link 0 |
Comparing him to Shefflin is stupid for many many reasons. Shefflin is a master hurler end of story BUT he is surrounded by the best talent in the country maybe ever. Canning does not enjoy as much support. Galway hurlers are good but Canning takes them to a different level altogether. pwalsh67 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 20/07/2009 17:00:32 353667 Link 0 |
no, what planet are you on son ? johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 20/07/2009 17:39:56 353766 Link 0 |
Jeez, would have to agree with solo alot.... It's nice to speculate tho... throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 20/07/2009 18:43:38 353894 Link 0 |
Canning is undoubtedly an exciting prospect, but his performances from play in intercounty games, save the exception of the Cork match last year against a full back who was past it, have been very average. I'd have expected that with all the hype we'd have seen a hell of a lot more from the "Joe Show". Maybe he'll step up to the plate in the rest of the championship, but since the Cork game in 2008 he's played in 7 big games: CodyisGod (Kilkenny) - Posts: 20 - 21/07/2009 16:43:55 355561 Link 0 |
Say what ye like lads, but to us he is a great and all the talk is irrelevant and a distraction. Judge the kid at the end of his career. He isn't going around claiming greatness, just going out every week working like a dog, which to me is a mark of the man. Shefflin is the only one at the moment you can compare him to and they (KK) are a settled team confident of there abilities, so HS can concentrate on his own game. Joe has a lot more responsibility at the moment. Henry in my view is still King at the Moment, but give Joe time, he is heading in the right direction and is the likely incumbent of Henrys title, and in the meantime as a Galwaegian, boy are we glad to have him. gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 21/07/2009 20:53:59 355937 Link 0 |
Well said CodyisGod. For me Canning can be put in the same bracket as Aisake O'Hailpin or Michael Webster with the added addition that he is a dead ball specalist who never misses a free from inside 80 yards. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 21/07/2009 22:21:20 356073 Link 0 |
loyal your comparin canning to aisake??the only thing aisake did the other nite was fall over. lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 21/07/2009 22:34:30 356095 Link 0 |
Yeah Aisake was terrible last week. I said after the Tipp game he just wouldn't cut it and the Galway game proved it. Obviously, Canning is ten times the player Aisake will ever be but their styles are quite similiar I think. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 21/07/2009 22:40:55 356104 Link 0 |
Bald Eagle mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 21/07/2009 22:41:23 356105 Link 0 |
lowerormond Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/07/2009 22:47:57 356121 Link 0 |