No Loyal your missing the point. Joe does huge work on the field even when he hasnt the ball. He works,tackles,reads the game and most importantly encourages other players around him. He brings other players into the game with his great vision. conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 19/07/2009 22:02:36 352111 Link 0 |
Joe so far is brilliant from frees, less than brilliant in open play. tw (USA) - Posts: 12 - 19/07/2009 22:41:37 352165 Link 0 |
He is probably the best thing to happen to hurling in years. still only twenty years of age, with the best yet to come. hoglegend (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 20/07/2009 00:14:11 352406 Link 0 |
hoglegend (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 20/07/2009 00:23:35 352421 Link 0 |
Is Loyal2theroyal a hurling fan? hoglegend (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 20/07/2009 00:40:32 352448 Link 0 |
ive seen him play numerous times for portumna and galway and he's just unreal, gonna be one of the greats premierman21 (Tipperary) - Posts: 429 - 20/07/2009 10:26:24 352639 Link 0 |
loyal2theroyal starts these threads anytime Joe Canning scores less than lets say 1-6 from play or something. He conveniently forgets the workrate and passes he lays on for other players as well as his impeccable placed ball shooting which is invaluable in itself. He creates a buzz in the crowd when on the ball ala DJ or Shefflin. He creates space for other players as he is 2 man or 3 man marked most times. Remember DJ was held scoreless from play by Cork in AI finals but ye didn't see Cody or others saying he was overrated or should be dropped. People were complaining Galway were a one man team. To me its a great thing if the other players can contribute more to scoring from open play. JC is still the leading scorer in the championship and as long as he plays as badly as loyal2theroyal says he's playing I for one will be delighted so the more threads on this topic the better I say. Wouldn't you agree loyal? tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/07/2009 10:29:56 352646 Link 0 |
L2BR - Did Joe nick your bird in Copperface's one night ? Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/07/2009 10:44:24 352664 Link 0 |
It's hard to overrate someone who's that good, that young - he hasn't put a foot wrong yet. He's going to get physically even stronger and more experienced over the next few years, which will allow him even more latitude to showcase his skills. Provided he stays fit, who'd fancy marking him when reaches player maturity (generally around 24 onwards)? Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/07/2009 11:18:48 352724 Link 0 |
Do I think that Joe Canning is over rated? It depends on what you rate him as. Personally I think he is over rated as a great player. As a full forward I think he is probably one of the better full forwards this year, Liam Rushe, has been disappointing in senior level, Richie Power never really got going post League (good game vs. Galway), Eoin Kelly's have struggled, although Blaa Kelly has moved out to the corner and around, where as Tipp Kelly has been unlucky with Injury. Diarmaid McMahon never looked good enough to Threaten Shane Kavanagh for Clare. Stephen Banville wasn't having a good time against Dublin, Brady had him in his pocket until he got injured. So Joe has worked hard? He never chased one ball yesterday that the full back won, he was back in his own defence, and then hitting long balls to where he should be, I'm not going to attack Joe or anything I'd love if he started to play to his potential but he is not Player of the Year, he is not even Galway's best player this year. I'm sick of people banging on about his age, if he is good enough age doesn't matter. He wouldn't hold a candle to Shefflin at 20. Richie Power consistently puts in a hard graft and some great passes but doesn't take frees so no headlines!! Overall Joe Canning is a GOOD hurler, a great hurler comes with performing on the big days (club hurling is different playing against lesser hurlers than county men). I think Joe Canning needs 2 more years to show what he is really made of and then he could really be dangerous. And one more thing I don't think a non hurling fan would be on here saying stuff about a guy like that, so I presume L2daR is a hurling fan. lostcat (Dublin) - Posts: 49 - 20/07/2009 11:42:35 352773 Link 0 |
A couple of points Tommy: 1. I didn't start this thread. 2. Joe Canning, in seven intercounty matches has never scored more than 1-06 from play. 3. I haven't conviently forgotten about his freetaking, if you read back through this thread, you will see that I have acknowledged that he is the best dead-ball specialist in a very long time. However, he contributes little from open play. 4. Like his scoring from play strike-rate, his workrate and his general contribution to the Galway cause (outside of placed balls) in his last three games has been well below average. I am not making this up, please point out a few things in the Kilkenny, Clare and Cork matches that might suggest otherwise. 5. He's the leading scorer in the championship and deservedly so, he hasn't missed a free or a 65 that he has taken. But in his last 200 minutes of hurling, he has managed to score the grand total of 0-1 from play so you can see what a misleading statistic you have there. 6. I wouldn't say Galway are a one-man team. The likes of Aonghus Callinan, John Lee, Ollie Canning, Chunky Hayes, and Andy Smith are rare talents in their own right. In fact, I would say a lot of their performances go under the radar a bit as people get caught up in the hype about Joe Canning. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/07/2009 11:53:05 352802 Link 0 |
And finally on the subject of Prince Joe versus King Henry. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/07/2009 11:58:58 352822 Link 0 |
Conor15 wackallen (Wexford) - Posts: 53 - 20/07/2009 12:02:34 352836 Link 0 |
Agree completely with Pericles, how good was Shefflin when he was 20?? JC will have tounaments named after him when he is older. throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 20/07/2009 12:07:07 352847 Link 0 |
Haha...jesus loyal u must be sick of this topic at this stage?! In fairness u stick to ur guns at all time though!! Ar.an.talamh (Kildare) - Posts: 320 - 20/07/2009 12:31:27 352916 Link 0 |
I don't need your pity Loyal. Any supporter will tell you that you see an awful lot more when you attend a game than you do when you watch a match on tv. By your own admission you have never seen Joe Canning play in the flesh. You are in no position to judge him much less castigate him. That is not a lame arguement, it is a fact. Get up off the sofa. Leave the tv control behind you and go and see this lad play. Trust me you'll enjoy it. You'll also admit you were wrong. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 20/07/2009 12:45:12 352965 Link 0 |
Loyal, maiden (Down) - Posts: 85 - 20/07/2009 13:07:43 353037 Link 0 |
Sory lads but at 20 Henry Shefflin Won a Leinster Final scoring 1-06 from play in the final! lostcat (Dublin) - Posts: 49 - 20/07/2009 13:32:18 353100 Link 0 |
Henry Shefflin class act! Member that goal against wexford in 06. pure class..! Canning has alot of hurling played for 20. Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 20/07/2009 14:00:22 353163 Link 0 |
Joe is an absolute legend, end od story sixtyfive (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 20/07/2009 14:01:37 353170 Link 0 |