Cork hurlers to strike?

couldnt agree with you more blindassasin,then again,arabrebel prob wasnt even in Ireland during the league (as were most corkonians on HS)

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 20/07/2009 20:55:04    354136

Very ugly thread this.... it caps off what's been a very ugly year in the GAA.

I've been guilty of some very bad posts said in anger after the sheer level of bitterness that broke out in here regarding the strike, looking back I was wrong. It's as simple as that. Hands up.

I'd hope that this thread drops off the radar soon.. many believe that what the Cork hurlers did was anything but in keeping with the spirit of the GAA.. But may I also point out that this entire thread is also anything but in keeping with the spirit of the GAA.. Kicking a team when they're down is very much a soccer thing. It's truely a terrible thing to see it on Hogan Stand, It was such a horrible situation that I hate to see it brought up again,

I thought Cork gave Galway one hell of a game the other night... the same Galway team led Kilkenny by 4 or 5 points at one stage in the 2nd half.

Galway got the goal at the right stage of the match against Cork, and got the luck with the ball falling right in their path after what has to be said was a stunning reaction save by D Og.. Galway didnt look back but Cork left with their heads held high.

To the Cork lads; Dont get involved in this again, I know it's hard to resist with the passion and understanding of the situation that you have, BUT all this crap needs a line drawn under it, theres too many in here that would be only to happy to twist the knife, dont humour the bitterness further.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/07/2009 20:59:05    354144

cork people on this site keep going on about all the success they had over the years. They go on about the weaker counties being jealous of their success. It's not a case of the weaker counties being jealous, it's a case of looking at a county with a population of a million plus, 32 players go on strike , while they could have 4 or 5 quality teams in any one code. It makes people from counties that have to concentrate on one code sick, because they have only a pop of 50,000 plus. If every county had cork's pick , cork would have the least amount of titles because they would be on strlke every other year.

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 21/07/2009 03:44:21    354618

blindassain,if waterford n wexford are entited to a say in their manager why not cork??its not long ago both counties voted against their managers and both vacated their positions!!if you have 30 people who do not want your services,its time to go.

arabrebel (Cork) - Posts: 42 - 21/07/2009 08:12:12    354646

do you recall that duffy 89,in case you forgot,wexford players voted against john meyler last year,and he left!!anyway the next time a yellow belly will be seen with liam mc is on crimestoppers,

arabrebel (Cork) - Posts: 42 - 21/07/2009 08:20:17    354647

Well said jimbodub,and best of good luck to Galway,hopefully their time has come and they will go lift sam this year.great game on sunday no excuses cork were beaten by a better team.

arabrebel (Cork) - Posts: 42 - 21/07/2009 08:26:47    354649

Jimbodub, i have to disagree as this is not people acting like soccer thugs. I think it goes to show how everyone felt after what the cork players did and is more of an attack against the players to show them that it is their own fault that the season has finished before August. Everyone knows that when you are born in Cork you have a chip on your shoulder but even they can see that by the strike it has caused them to lose in the first round of Munster and go out very early in the championship. I have to admit that i do not like Cork winning, however when they are together as a team they have got to be one of the top 3 teams in the country and therefore it is the GAA who are missing out on them. Hopefully if the situation ever arises again the supps of Cork can get through to the players that they are playing for the county and by going on strike does not do the county any favours whatsoever.

ced1980 (Roscommon) - Posts: 62 - 21/07/2009 10:14:16    354728

ced1980 County: Roscommon Posts: 10 People made their opinions perfectly clear a few months back during the strike..now the same posters are kicking them when their down..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/07/2009 10:25:53    354734

richiescats
County: USA

354618 cork people on this site keep going on about all the success they had over the years. They go on about the weaker counties being jealous of their success. It's not a case of the weaker counties being jealous, it's a case of looking at a county with a population of a million plus, 32 players go on strike , while they could have 4 or 5 quality teams in any one code. It makes people from counties that have to concentrate on one code sick, because they have only a pop of 50,000 plus. If every county had cork's pick , cork would have the least amount of titles because they would be on strlke every other year.

I dont know where you learned your Geography but their isnt 1 million people in Cork 350,000 people in the County. A lot of them would not be interested in Football or Hurling. A Classic case would be on Sunday when i got back from Galway on Sunday i got a Taxi from Pana up to the house. The taxi man saw my bags and asked where i was. I said i was back from Galway after being at the Connaught final. He then asked me was i playing. i said no and looked the other way. Cork arent all that bad. The supportetrs are genuine enough and i always shout for them when their playing. They'll be back at some stage. i Firmly believe a Period of transition is in the offering and Cork wont be competing for the next few years.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 21/07/2009 10:35:13    354742

Pardon my french, 460,000 in County Cork

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 21/07/2009 10:37:33    354747

richiescats
County: USA

354618 cork people on this site keep going on about all the success they had over the years. They go on about the weaker counties being jealous of their success. It's not a case of the weaker counties being jealous, it's a case of looking at a county with a population of a million plus, 32 players go on strike , while they could have 4 or 5 quality teams in any one code. It makes people from counties that have to concentrate on one code sick, because they have only a pop of 50,000 plus. If every county had cork's pick , cork would have the least amount of titles because they would be on strlke every other year.

ha ha ha. maybe u mean Cork in America, im very embarressed for u. i wonder if you know the population of Kilkenny, clearly not as its double what u said. Then maybe u can figure out the hurling population of the world along with the amount of cats in Kilkenny or the name of the Kilkenny minor captain in last years AI final. Didnt think so now stop posting before u shame your county anymore. I doubt u have been in Kilkenny recently saying ye only concentrate on 1 code.

defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 21/07/2009 10:58:37    354778

arabrebel

maybe if they spent the winter training instead of trying to take over the county team, they might have been fit enough to match galway

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 21/07/2009 11:59:01    354887

Cork still have alot of good players but they havent been good enough to challenge kilkenny for a number of years, the players blamed mccarthy for this but i think they just werent good enough and were looking for excuses. However that is in the past and should probably be left there. Unfortunately they dont seem to have too many quality young players coming through, aisake is not good enough to play for cork regardless of his family name. Naughton should be starting in the forwards. Alot of rebuilding for Cork to do over the next couple of years.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 21/07/2009 12:22:03    354935

who knows whiterbannas,Galway are a better team this year than they were last year,and they are not relying on just Joe Canning for scores,when was the last time a Mayo team beat Galway in SHC can you remember??

arabrebel (Cork) - Posts: 42 - 21/07/2009 12:28:32    354949

Cork hurlers got what they deserved. Slate wiped clean, lets just forget about it now.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 21/07/2009 12:34:23    354969

Mick14
County: Limerick

354969 Cork hurlers got what they deserved. Slate wiped clean, lets just forget about it now.

Exactly= "lets just forget about it now. "

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/07/2009 13:09:12    355065

Forget about what?

defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 21/07/2009 13:17:11    355090

Perhaps comments like 'I don't like Cork' and 'everyone knows Cork have a chip on their shoulder' reveal a certain bias by some.

There is no doubt that Cork are the most successful GAA county by a long shot. It is very likely that that is mostly due to our large population, which probably, but not definately, generates a large number of players. However jealously of Cork's success is most certainly a factor with SOME who continually seek to put them down.

It's like Man Utd's consistent success in soccer. Their success is most likely (but not definately) largely due to their financial resources. That doesn't stop the fans of many other teams (myself included) being jealous of them.

It is quite clear that some posters on here have made absolutely no attempt to understand the players strike. In their desperation to take a swing at a team they are jealous of, they actually expect us to believe that men who have lived, slept, and breathed hurling for their entire lives, had no interest whatsover in tghe betterment of the game. Instead, they just went on strike in a completely selfish attempt to blame their inadequacies on Ger Mac. They would also have you believe that these guys simply didn't think far enough ahead to know that when Ger Mac left, they would still be inadequate. It is quite clear that many people actually chose to believe that. It has become quite clear to me that there is little point in trying to explain, to those who do not want to understand.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 21/07/2009 13:51:36    355171

Its not such a big deal as Kilkenny have started to cop it already. Next year ye will all be feeling sorry for Cork and saying i hope any1 beats Kilkenny and maybe even Tyrone aswell. ABC's at the moment maybe ABK's and ABT next year wait and see.

defeatest (Cork) - Posts: 270 - 21/07/2009 14:03:10    355208

arabrebel

when was the last time a Mayo team beat Galway in SHC can you remember??

I cant remember ararebel. Im sure that question has some relevance but i cant see it. I think i'll go for a pint tonight to celebrate the cork hurlers getting their commupance

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 21/07/2009 14:08:51    355223