Bernard Brogan

he's played great so far, has great potential but still has to prove it against a real AI contender. end of debate

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 16/07/2009 22:04:07    349065

bernard is definitely better than alan but that still only puts him in the top 20 in the country but from a dublin perspective one more forward than they had last season so has to be watched. dublin have the worst full back line of any of the last 8 teams and a very poor midfield, but other than that will win sam as usual.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 16/07/2009 22:18:54    349088

Bernard Brogan is a brilliant foward would make the starting 15 in any county proved himself againstKerry in o6
Idetect a liittle bit of jeaoulsey from the Meath poster if Meath had a foward like him they might win something

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 16/07/2009 22:25:51    349107

jealousy from me??? read my 1st post, ive nothing but praise for the lad. as for the rest of your comment im not gonna get involved in a childish argument, got over them when i was youngster in the school yard.

it takes at least a few years to be considered the best in ireland, thats all im saying. remember ray cosgrove, or to balance things out jody devine...BB has all the tools to do it tho.

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 16/07/2009 22:37:50    349122

Bernard Brogan is a great player but I don't think he's had a real test yet....he pulled off some really important scores when the pressure was on against Kildare in the last 10 minutes.

Culsheens (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 16/07/2009 22:46:13    349130

Brogan's problem is that there aren't another couple of him on the team. He will be a marked man from now on and forever.
He is definitely a class player but he'll be marked by the best against every team Dublin play.
The likes of Kerry and Tyrone have alot of good forwards. The majority of them might not be as good as Brogan but the thing is it's alot easier to ensure one excellent forward doesn't get a few scores than 3 very good ones.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 16/07/2009 22:55:41    349143

dublin have a gem in brogan fantastic player to watch along with alan!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 16/07/2009 23:06:34    349161

dont get me wrong bernard is a fantastic player but no where near the force of his brother alan i think alan is far more prolific and despite not getting much game time under his belt during the league has been playing quite well and looks like he will repeat some of his performances last year before the summers out bernards a great talent but will never be sas good sa his superior brother alan

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 16/07/2009 23:12:30    349169

have to disagree with you on that one.i have watched them both playing for oper for a long time and imo opinion berno is better than alan.who was marking him against tyrone last year because if memory serves me correct berno got 3 from play that day

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 17/07/2009 22:04:01    350264

the Brogans came from Mayo thats where they got the football.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 17/07/2009 22:40:22    350324

He has his All-Star in the bag.

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 17/07/2009 23:48:02    350368

bernard did get three against tyrone last year but alan went off after ten minutes and thats why you probs dont remember him making AN IMPACT

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 20/07/2009 18:23:35    353853

In fairness the only impact at Croke Park for the game last year was the wall of silence in Hill 16 when Tyrone got their third goal. However getting back to the post I think that both Brogans are class footballers. I also think that Dublin area very improved team from last year and as long as they keep the mentality right they have a good chance of winning Sam since the great heist/theft in 1995 :)

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/07/2009 18:34:30    353880

omaghredhand

HaHa ye I have to agree! A total sickener and a really depressing day, one that I'm sure the lads will want revenge for :-)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/07/2009 18:46:16    353901