Bernard had a great game against kildare buh can he keep this great form throughout the rest of the season? Kildare dont have the greatest defence in Ireland buh when he comes to meet the likes of O'Se, Lynch, Ricy? or was this just a one off for him? smacky (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 15/07/2009 01:06:41 346466 Link 0 |
You'll see more of Bernard this summer... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/07/2009 09:37:06 346580 Link 0 |
Grand day for fishing!he is a class act but still you are right to a certain extent,we'll find out just how good against the top teams. jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 15/07/2009 09:53:09 346595 Link 0 |
Truth be told, both defences on Sunday were not on top which made scoring easy, Kildare scoring 18 points from play (the top twelve teams left in the championship will be happy to see the weaknesses in Dublin's back rows)! Dublin half back's goal was a good example of Kildare's poor defence! Bernard is a great player but Tyrone with their puike football will snuff out any chances for forwards (winning is everything). Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 15/07/2009 09:58:54 346600 Link 0 |
Coyote I disagree. If you look at losing teams scores this year there are plenty losing matches with 15/16 points. Derry are supposed to have a mean defence and Monaghan (without TF) scored 20 points. Defenders are reluctantly to pull down forwards for fear of yellow and it is rewarding attackers. It should also be noted that Kildare scored 12 points in the first half and only 6 in the second - with the extra man for the duration so credit to Dublin management there. As regards Bernard Brogan - form is temporary - class is permanent. BB has been unlucky with injuries up to now. If he stays injury free and Dublin get to Semis he will be an All Star. The guy has it all and to hear people suggest a player like McMenamin would hold him (legally anyway) is laughable. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 15/07/2009 10:20:06 346622 Link 0 |
pains me to say but thus far bernard is ff elect at this stage. joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 15/07/2009 10:26:06 346626 Link 0 |
JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 15/07/2009 16:03:46 347154 Link 0 |
Class act. Dont believe for one minute Mayo, Galway, Cork or anyone else will be able to hold him. To have any chance against the Dubs you'll have to go at them which will leave gaps and when he gets gaps its see ya later baby. derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 15/07/2009 17:18:35 347295 Link 0 |
what really impressed me was the fact that he kicked them points when they were most needed. its all well and good watching the dubs(or anyone) demolish a team, with everyone scoring fancy points etc when the pressure is off, but in this tie he stepped up in last five minutes and showed the leadership and bottle to win it. (they have missed this in recent years i think). dublin would have lost the game without him. jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 15/07/2009 17:32:49 347316 Link 0 |
Best forward in the country at the minute...a class act. rudolf (Kildare) - Posts: 64 - 15/07/2009 17:33:24 347317 Link 0 |
Bernard Brogan great player but not sure how effective he will be against the top 4 or 5. Kildare well improved team but they have not the know-how and experience of the tyrones, kerrys and corks. Marking man out of a game is far from a 1 man job, tyrones 2 man job on paddy bradley, anthony lynch on gooch when service was poor due to pressure further out the field, to name just a few. I dont think Kildare applied that pressure. Brogan is a great player but he will not be hitting 4 or 5 points from play against the tyrones of this world, i can guarantee that Lance (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 15/07/2009 17:36:38 347322 Link 0 |
brogan is a top class forward,no doubt orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 15/07/2009 19:08:00 347424 Link 0 |
Yes Brogan had a great game against Kildare and can be a true leader for Dublin but beware of the hype as one swallow does not make a summer !! We will see how he performs when he has two men tightly marking him in future games !! Great players consistently have great games so we shall wait and see !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/07/2009 19:26:35 347445 Link 0 |
class against what opposition- yet to feature against a big team same with all the dub, leinster is junior b standard in fairness- imagine if kerry or mayo were in leinster sure they would look brilliant!! dubs have no full back line and cluxton had yet another moment of madness- scoring against useless opposition is one thing - but not able to defend against useless opposition is dublins problem- the big teams would run riot against a terrible fullback line and keeper!! liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 15/07/2009 20:26:28 347505 Link 0 |
He is a very good player. Big and strong, not easy put off the ball and good feet!! wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 15/07/2009 20:55:52 347561 Link 0 |
Some of the posters here are making me ill with their patronizing remarks about Bernard Brogan.These posts go along the line of yes he might be a half decent player but he will not be able to score points once he comes up against any of the defenders from either Cork,Kerry,Tyrone are you for real.Lets take Cork and Kerry's defence for a start in their last games they have struggled to cope with both sets of forwards from Limerick and Longford and neither of these teams would be put in the top 5 teams in the country.On Sunday Bernard Brogan kicked points under pressure off both feet at a crucial time in the game and showed leadership and brought Dublin over the winning line.He is a class forward and will show this for the rest of the summer. Dublinh16 (Dublin) - Posts: 86 - 15/07/2009 21:04:39 347568 Link 0 |
liathroidboy JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 15/07/2009 21:20:00 347583 Link 0 |
I have had my run-ins with the Kildare lads (sure ye have to leading up to a game) but fair play - they have seen BB first hand and speak of his talent without any begrudgery. Kildare fans gone way up in my respect again - its embarrassing. And lads I wish Johnny D was a Dub too. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/07/2009 00:26:57 347872 Link 0 |
Dublinh16, wat are you talking about, cork conceded 11 ponts against limerick and kerry 11 against longford, not great opposition i no but holding a team to 11 points is really acceptable in my eyes. I am not saying Brogan isnt a great player but I dont think you can read too much into his performance against Kildare. Also I cant help but think how Dubs have a serious advantage above other teams. Would Brogan get that sort of freedom in a tight game in Killarney or a wet day in Clones, me thinks not. He is always playing on the most open best field, on the best surface, in the best stadium in 95% of his championship games. Please dont get me wrong I do think he is a good player but just trying to put the thing in perspective Lance (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 16/07/2009 08:28:45 347945 Link 0 |
Lance you talk about perspective well let's do that.Firstly you go on about this rubbish of Dublin having as you call it serious advantage over other teams because they play most of their championship games in Croke Park ye some advantage no All-Ireland final appearance never mind title since 1995.As i said in my earlier post it's the patronizing of Bernard Brogan which you yourself have now added too with the insulting suggestion that Brogan could only play like he did on Sunday last in Croke Park and would not be able to give the same sort of display in another ground or if it was raining what an insult.Bernard Brogan has been playing on tighter pitches and in the rain and putting in consistent performances like last Sunday for his club the last couple of seasons.And as for the number of points Kerry and Cork conceded this was not down to their defences if Limerick or Longford had a least one forward who could have taken even half the chances they created Cork would be in the qualifiers and Kerry would be out of the Championship and that is putting it into real perspective. Dublinh16 (Dublin) - Posts: 86 - 16/07/2009 21:41:07 349034 Link 0 |