weered92 (Derry) - Posts: 296 - 22/04/2010 10:44:45 625367 Link 0 |
before a fermanagh v monaghan game in 08, tommy freeman shot himself in the hand with a nail gun. in the build up to the game joe brolly remarked that "even at the height of the troubles they knew not to give a gun to a monaghan man". lakedistrict (Fermanagh) - Posts: 3 - 22/04/2010 12:00:37 625454 Link 0 |
if it(football) was a pair of t**s you'd hold dem.. pressup (USA) - Posts: 72 - 22/04/2010 20:43:53 626203 Link 0 |
Probably not true but could be. Sparrowhawk (Tyrone) - Posts: 107 - 22/04/2010 20:59:02 626224 Link 0 |
Heard one about a really bad full forward who was missing open goals and shooting wide from the 21 all day long. After another failed effort, he threw his hands up to heaven and shouted: "Fk me!". hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/04/2010 15:47:48 627029 Link 0 |
ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 23/04/2010 16:14:15 627072 Link 0 |
This is an actual real happening. It's funny, but unlike many of the humerous stories on here, nothing was said (at the time). This was back in the day when only 3 subs were allowed, about 20 years ago. A certain club in Limerick had 2 of their subs already used up, and were down a few points with about 10 mins remaining. A certain sub, who in his own mind must have deemed himself good enough to be on the team, took matters into his own hands. He ran into the referee with his own piece of paper, handed it to the ref, and told 'Johnny So and So' in the half forward line (who happened to be the nearest player to the ref) that he was wanted over on the line by the selectors, i.e., he was being substituted. It worked a treat for the 'self-sub', as the 3 subs had now already been used up and the selectors as vehement as they were couldn't do a thing about it. This 'super-sub' went on to score 1-1, in the last 10 mins and the game ended in a draw. Out of pure malice if for no other reason, because I for one could never figure it out, the 'gallant sub' wasn't started in the replay, nor indeed did he get any 10 minutes, 'his own' or legitimate, in it. shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 23/04/2010 17:44:32 627220 Link 0 |
was at the Donegal-Derry game on Sat and paddy Bradley who had Karl Lacey in his face all day, went off after a knock on the head, possibly concussion. Phsio was examinng his vision and ma behind me said "theremust be something wrong with his eyes". Wag beside replied Yeah - he can see nothing xcept Karl Laceys Patch_eyes88 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 23/04/2010 18:32:45 627285 Link 0 |
Stewarts and Gardaí resort to Plan B dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 24/04/2010 15:18:09 627771 Link 0 |
dammon Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 24/04/2010 15:37:16 627788 Link 0 |
wouldnt block sheep. wouldnt sidestep a lamp-post 2handsondahurl (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 24/04/2010 15:44:47 627798 Link 0 |
Anything to the effect of "2 for 1 at specsavers" dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 24/04/2010 21:25:13 628091 Link 0 |
Somone said to Tom Spillane YOUR A POO FOOTBALLER he replies I MUST BE THE WORST FOOTBALLER WITH 6 ALL IRELAND MEDALS castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 25/04/2010 12:37:40 628318 Link 0 |
Heard a classic at the match yesterday. A derry and Armagh man were discussing the referee. Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 17/05/2010 09:21:10 649150 Link 0 |
A few good ones lads: JGiles (Limerick) - Posts: 88 - 18/05/2010 17:13:38 651188 Link 0 |
Heard an absolute cringe attack on in Celtic Park, My lord it was bad Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 18/05/2010 18:36:42 651314 Link 0 |
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/05/2010 19:14:25 651372 Link 0 |
fortyfive dannyone (Mayo) - Posts: 176 - 18/05/2010 21:51:27 651649 Link 0 |
PULL! There's nothing funnier than when you have a scramble for the ball and about 5 lads around it trying to get it and some lads in the crowd, baying for blood, are roaring PULL, even though if anyone pulls it will definitely result in a loss of limb without any surgical procedure!! Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 19/05/2010 13:04:25 651980 Link 0 |
Pinkie, that'll be you when you finish playing (if indeed you are still playing) and you are bitter fat and old like me! perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/05/2010 12:36:19 653203 Link 0 |