Funniest sayings in GAA

he couldn't score his ''' off barbed wire!!!

tyroneled (Tyrone) - Posts: 69 - 28/03/2010 12:24:54    601080

drive it like ya stole it

elmatador (Westmeath) - Posts: 89 - 29/03/2010 08:26:25    601835

Drive it like your late for Mass!

PortL.abu (Waterford) - Posts: 28 - 12/04/2010 15:23:20    614972

Sayings from the South East Radio Comentator Liam Spratt:

"He let the line go out over the ball"

"A long ball in. Its a goal. A goal. A goal. A goal for Wexford...... Its NOT a goal."

Or before another Wexford match

Spratt: "The traffic was terrible coming up today Billy. What was it like for you?"

Billy:" Much the same Liam, I was in the same car as you!"

shnappy (Wexford) - Posts: 220 - 12/04/2010 17:39:16    615207

Meath lad behind me at the Kerry match last August when Colm Cooper got the ball: "Stay tight on that ****** he's on the lucozade sport!"

Person from the side line at a match of ours: "Girls would yas use your arses! That's what they're there for!" *cue all of us laughing*

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 12/04/2010 18:16:50    615263

"Pat Fox has it on his hurl and is motoring well now ... but here comes Joe Rabbitte hot on his tail ...... I've seen it all now, a Rabbitte chasing a Fox around Croke Park!" Michael o Muircheartaigh

the circle has 2 sides (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 12/04/2010 19:28:49    615377

He wouldnt beat the skin off a boiled potato

kilruane (Tipperary) - Posts: 155 - 12/04/2010 20:00:57    615421

Westmeath v Cavan a few years ago in the league.Heavy snow shower started coming down out of the blue and everyone was trying to shelter under their programmes .The announcer starts calling out the first half injury time, "There will be at least 3..." Cavan lad shouts out "inches of snow before half time!" It didnt seem so cold after that!

jarhead (Westmeath) - Posts: 285 - 12/04/2010 21:48:15    615618

stranded
County: UK

Also heard a full back say to his 2 corner backs at a hurling game''when the first ball comes in lads,drop the cutting blade''.

Heard a similar story about the Tipp Hells Kitchen in the 60s. They were playing Cork and when the forwards were running down towards them Carey said to John Doyle "Jaysus they look very small." To which Doyle apparently responded: "Lower the blade."!!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/04/2010 09:41:21    615704

Sur that lad wouldnt bait eggs if the were already baited.

shnappy (Wexford) - Posts: 220 - 13/04/2010 17:20:56    616281

shnappy
County: Wexford

616281 Sur that lad wouldnt bait eggs if the were already baited.

As a compliment yeah?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12436 - 13/04/2010 17:31:25    616294

thon wan couldnt hurl a stone at a landy...

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 13/04/2010 17:43:11    616315

AT a mayo junior match years ago was standing beside a fella and after our goalie lets in 5 goals he says jaysus he's dad would be proud of him today the amount of stuff he's taken out of that net, he's dad being a fisherman!!!!!

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 14/04/2010 12:04:24    616885

'Ref, get your hair out of your eyes' - Ref was bald as a coot.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 14/04/2010 13:07:29    617010

The manager of our hurling team roared at a lad struggling to pick up the ball 'Jesus would you rise it , if it was a ******* skirt you'd rise it quicker'.

TomRyan (Westmeath) - Posts: 53 - 14/04/2010 16:50:32    617445

Orlaith
County: Derry

616315 thon wan couldnt hurl a stone at a landy...

WA?????

shnappy (Wexford) - Posts: 220 - 14/04/2010 17:21:09    617502

JimmyK

617010 'Ref, get your hair out of your eyes' - Ref was bald as a coot.

Whats a coot, when its at home?

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 14/04/2010 19:04:26    617638

What I'm about to relate happened just before the throw-in at the start of the senior football final in Louth in 1980. A particularly ruthless full back, who shall remain nameless, shouted over to his corner back, who was marking a very skilful and talented, but ever so windy corner forward, " hey our fella, break his two legs up around his **** where they can't be fixed". It worked.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 14/04/2010 19:45:26    617693

after our goalie let in another very soft shot one of our selectors says to the manager ''jesus christ, that fella wouldn't block a ******* toilet...''

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 14/04/2010 20:05:18    617709

shout from the sideline at an over zealous ref at an under 21 hurling match,ye ****** yed get get a job in an orchestra the way your able to play tunes on the whistle

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 539 - 14/04/2010 20:44:16    617751