Brilliant one from a Wicklow County Final in the 1950s. My grandad told me about it. The players still had the same blood-soaked jersies from the week before. The ref was about to throw-in the ball, when one of the midfielders roared 'Throw away that feckin ball and we'll start the match.' Classic Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 18/07/2009 09:43:05 350463 Link 0 |
heard this at a hurling match where the full back wouldn't hit the ball just handpass it. manager lets a roar at him "hit the ******* ball its no relation" full back cleared the ball stares over at the manager and shouted back "aye and neither are you" thumper (None) - Posts: 95 - 18/07/2009 11:00:39 350496 Link 0 |
lads dish out the f---in timber!!!! lads if they're dishin out the f---in timber dat means we're not dishing out enough f---in timber!!!! LADS DONT LET THEM DISH OUT THE F---IN TIMBER!!!!! treatyfan09 (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 18/07/2009 12:38:44 350554 Link 0 |
"You have to be up his **** all day" Soldja Boy (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 18/07/2009 14:43:07 350637 Link 0 |
We were outside the Ground in Ballybofey and a county Derry man said to a real donegal farmer, I got my ticket to the Paddy Bradley show. what made it funny was that there was no tickets for the game and it was pay at the gate! Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 18/07/2009 23:30:21 351184 Link 0 |
mozsyh (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 18/07/2009 23:42:02 351201 Link 0 |
'Meath make football a colourful game-you get all black and blue' - Cork fan 1988 meathgirl (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 19/07/2009 02:19:56 351298 Link 0 |
Armagh v Donegal at Croker. McConville (and most of Armagh players for that matter were kicking fierce wides). Bloke sitting behind me in the Cusack Stand roars..."For F**K sake Oisin you're from South Armagh; would you F**king shoot!!!"..classic! Mac32 (Armagh) - Posts: 10 - 19/07/2009 03:21:37 351308 Link 0 |
Heard bout a team talk before an under-21 hurlin club match played there a few years ago.The manager told the captain to get the rest of the players in a group n get them fired up.he gathers the players round him and says "It's like this lads...if we're losin this game with 10 minutes to go break the hurl off the lad you're markin and we'll get it abandoned".... Townie4Life (Laois) - Posts: 24 - 19/07/2009 09:31:16 351358 Link 0 |
an ould fella one day referring to a cowardly player. ``hes a great player but ud want a fence around the field to keep him in it`` footballmad1982 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 19/07/2009 10:06:48 351369 Link 0 |
That lads so hungry for the ball hed eat a small chaps a*** with the bars of a cot! MrWingForward (Wexford) - Posts: 66 - 19/07/2009 13:59:58 351525 Link 0 |
The all ireland is Dublins to lose-ha ha beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 19/07/2009 15:08:47 351558 Link 0 |
Hey number 10, warm up you're coming off. Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 19/07/2009 15:49:15 351588 Link 0 |
was at the Donegal-Derry game on Sat and paddy Bradley who had Karl Lacey in his face all day, went off after a knock on the head, possibly concussion. Phsio was examinng his vision and ma behind me said "theremust be something wrong with his eyes". Wag beside replied Yeah - he can see nothing xcept Karl Laceys ChurchRdBun (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 20/07/2009 20:00:29 354042 Link 0 |
"There's only two Joe McNally's", from a smartalec young lad sung in the direction of St Anne's former Dublin player. To be fair Big Mac found it funny too. Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1067 - 20/07/2009 20:19:45 354072 Link 0 |
Junior b championship saying...."The longer we stay in the dressing-room, the longer we stay in the championship" Treaty (Clare) - Posts: 5 - 21/07/2009 13:58:08 355193 Link 0 |
my dad once said about a team, "their like a packet of woodbine, theres not a player among them" yoyoyo22 (Monaghan) - Posts: 167 - 21/07/2009 14:10:32 355227 Link 0 |
beat them on the scoreboard!!if i had a euro for everytime i heard that durin a hurlin match i played last nite!!!!! lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 28/07/2009 14:18:26 366151 Link 0 |
I remember playing in a Minor Championship game a few years ago as goalkeeper. Was pretty decent so I am told but was always carrying a pound or two extra. One of our current county stars was running through on goal and lashed one towards the top corner. I dived full length, strangely defying gravity and pushed it round the post. There was a fair crowd there, upwards on 2,000 and a great round of applause went up. Jaysus I was proud of myself,all the lads patting my back and whatever. When the noise settled some oul boy at the back of the goals guldered to our manager " For God's sake whatever you do keep feeding him the cream buns" Well the whole place near wet themselves including me. Hard to beat the oul boys. omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 28/07/2009 16:12:57 366451 Link 0 |
Played a SH Tournament in Galway a few years ago & a well known Galway hurling family had a son playing.I happened to be marking him & when a ball came down the wing we bost wrestled for the ball hit a few shoulders.Eventually he won but he cudnt rise the ball.While he was trying to rise it I think it was his girlfriend starts roaring "Johnny get it up get it up" Well I fell to my knee's in laughter.The poor girl didnt know what she was saying & poor aul Johnny was as red as his jersey!!! RazorRed (Tipperary) - Posts: 18 - 28/07/2009 18:42:22 366872 Link 0 |