Ronan McGarrity

I was at the match on Sunday, and whilst I have every sympathy for Ronan McGarrity and do agree that it is a massive loss for Mayo. It has to be said that the whole game was marred from beginning to end with off the ball incidents... and whilst a player gets sent off for Ballina on his way off made an attempt to kick a Crossmolina player... Thats normal is it? off the ball behaviour? not even in the heat of the moment seen as the lad he went to kick was not near the area he got red carded for.. and that very same player also was at his antics before the ball was even thrown in, and when he won a side line ball proceeded to kick it at a Crossmolina player.. I wouldnt mind but that very same player is well capable of shooting a point from that position... makes me wonder was he that interested in scoring or attacking his marker... Neither team were angels.. and whilst another lad gets stitches from a stamping incident.. nothing mentioned cos lets face it he was not a county player.. It will however be interesting to see when the County Board view both unedited videos, when they see every other incident that went unmentioned. When you see a scoreboard at half time and no score for one team it makes one wonder what they were doing in the first half. If you have not been at the game and making idle comments I also would add that maybe ye too should wait to see the both teams unedited videos before making off the cuff remarks about something that was not witnessed, because at the end of the day there was 2 teams playing a match that had plenty of off the ball incidents, not just one.. Crossmolina had the better standard of football on the day, the scoreboard does not lie and they were very unlucky not to have much more registered. It is a pity that Ronan may not see the Connacht Final and do hope he makes a speedy recovery.

MurphyMc (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 07/07/2009 20:07:14    336180

was at the game as a neutral feel sorry for ronan, but it takes two to tango there was punches exchanged. wish him a speedy recovery.

mayo.fan (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 07/07/2009 20:24:50    336192

An awful lot of first time posts on here, and all of them defending crossmolina.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/07/2009 21:48:15    336305

Yes The Master... But have u also noticed the amount of people defending Ballina players that were not even at the game.. So it is important to give both views unbiased as a GAA supporter who just wanted to see the Mayo lads playing last Sunday.

MurphyMc (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 07/07/2009 22:25:21    336415

well respected members of society did witness this incident.ronan was struck in the face and the evidence is there,the injury tself is enough evidence.the game was full of incidents on both sides but that guy breaking ronans jaw set the pattern.remember it happened early in game,what does anyone expect if one team see their team mate with a broken jaw.the crossmolina player who has facial injuries is the same player who broke ronans jaw.ronan was not swinging punches at his opponent.the county board need to take action against this guy.he has form for this type of thing.john maughan should go back on jimmy magees radio show when whatever action is taken is complete and explain why he said it was accidental.,hopefully action by county board or in courts.i certainly hope both.
some ballina players didnt do themselves justice in their actions either but do not let anyone put anything in the same bracket as what that guy did.

hoh (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 07/07/2009 23:08:40    336543

i agree totally with murphymc.i to was at the game on sunday and people shouldnt be making comments on events they didnt witness.we wish ronan a speedy recovery.he playing great stuff this year.it was shocking what happened to him.i just wondering did people witness the stamping incident which if only few more inches higher could have left a man with a series eye injury.to put a boot into someones face is low.ballinas tactics left alot to be desired on sunday trying to slow the game down at every possible oppurtunity by any means possible.they didnt learn since 2006.

aj (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 07/07/2009 23:43:56    336611

I totally agree with u hoh... But I would like to point out the differences between the 2 incidents.. when you hit a guy across the jaw u never expect to break his jaw, and I know that whilst that action was wrong no matter how many ways it is debated.. I will point out that when you stamp your boot down on someones face you pretty much know the damage your doing and whilst the lad that was stamped on was the guy who hit Ronan... Two wrongs never made a right.. so it is unfair that the guy that stamped his boot into someones face goes unpunished..

MurphyMc (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 07/07/2009 23:52:58    336626

Bloody disgrace...that player shud be taken care of...what a disappointing blow a week before a connacht final in salthill. Mcgarrity has done so much over the past year with illness etc to get himself back into a position where he can lead the county - the cross player is a disgrace to his parish, and county. .... i'm far from being a ballina supporter...but i'm really saddened by this attack.

Up Mayo.

Mayonaze (Mayo) - Posts: 426 - 08/07/2009 00:02:01    336638

ur missing my point 'MurphyMc', I was pointing out that its the same one or two with numerous accounts

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/07/2009 00:39:36    336693

Right....mayo.fan....in response to your it takes two to tango....i would normally suggest a person like yourself to bring your glasses to a game next time, however i feel binoculars are warranted in your case... Totally agee with hoh there and The Master makes an interesting point. Regarding MurphyMc's comment on how the Crossmolina player didn't expect to break his jaw..ridicluous statement to make...mind readers in Cross these days too.....eh did he expect???

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 08/07/2009 09:31:23    336815

Funny the master i thought the same thing yesterday.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2009 10:26:30    336863

336693 ur missing my point 'MurphyMc', I was pointing out that its the same one or two with numerous accounts

I agree Themaster. Why would a Galway man be a nuetral at a game played in the far reaches of North Mayo?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/07/2009 10:50:30    336886

team without mcgarrity fo the final...

1.David clarke if fit if not o malley
2.Liam o malley
3.Ger cafferky
4.Keith higgins
5.Peader gardiner
6.Tom cunniffe
7.Trevor howley
8.Tom parsons
9.David heaney
10.Pat harte
11.Alan dillon
12.Trevor mortimer
13.Aiden kilcoyne
14.Aiden o shea
15.Mark ronaldson

cesc4 (Mayo) - Posts: 238 - 08/07/2009 11:49:33    336972

correct the master, it has happened in the past with the same player(s) doing the same disgraceful actions on the pitch, all guilty of second or third offences,(and first if its dangerous to fellow players) should be severly dealt with by the Co. Board

ronburgundy (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 08/07/2009 12:51:12    337088

Clearly Ballinaman I may have hit a nerve.. But if you look again at what I was saying.. As while no one condones anyone hitting anyone on the pitch, the intention of a player hitting another one in the face while it is very out of order no doubt, that one hopes that no player hits another with the intention of breaking a jaw. However If u have a football boot on and stand on someones face the intention in any doubt is far more malicious and that player while he may have been the lad that hit Ronan was also at the foot of an incident that also needed bringing to the attention of the officials.. Because regardless of who any of these players are the offences were wrong on both counts. The intent is different however when u have studs/cleats protruding from your footwear, would the feelings still be justified if that lads eye was taken out? Or is it a case of one rule for a Ballina/County player and another rule for everyone else. I am mostly appalled not at the players but the officials as when these incidents occur they should be reprimanded regardless, when they go without notice, players get frustrated and yes it does set a tone for the game. However do not make this all about one county player (that yes will be greatly missed if he is not fit for the Galway game) when there was much more going on on the field also.. you cannot have tunnel vision to one incident in the game that is unless you left after McGarrity got hit. No one is condoning anything that happened but please remember that that game was dogged with off the ball incidents, there was no angels on the field.

MurphyMc (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 08/07/2009 12:57:54    337108

Well i hardly left the game after the McGarrity incident. Well, the Crossmolina player in all honesty probably didn't go out to break his jaw but he obviously meant to cause some damage to throw a punch of such force that is required to give 3 fractures in a cheek bone. I think the use of the word "stamping" is an attempt to muddy the waters, however, the ballina player did leave his studs showing and this was worng, all players should be treated equally. People want to see good football,good football which Ballina and Crossmolina have produced down through the years, not a game littered with offences and malice.

Parsons for Mc Garrity. Don't mess with the half forward line, keep Harte in there to keep Bradshaw occupied. I'd leave Howley where he is, Cunniffe is a quality player but a half back line with Gardner,Cunniffe and Moran could be prone to leaving the full back line wide open.

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 08/07/2009 14:06:47    337232

Have seen these teams play a good few times over the past few years. There has always been a good bit of dirt involved. I remember in 06 about two weeks after all ireland final when they played. I could not get over the amount of abuse David Brady got from the Cross fans that day (men, women and children). It was unreal the level of hatred they had for a man that was probably mayos best player two weeks earlier. Everything that happened that day seemed to be his fault. The dirt was dished out equally by both sides that day. However as Crossmolina seem to have far more supporters than Ballina, the story was mainly told from one side and Ballina came out looking bad.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2009 14:14:25    337250

Some of these comments are bordering on disgusting,i can just picture some of ye stereotype sort ,clubmen to the core **** mayo attitude .Ronnan is one of the most gentle footballers we have his downfall if you were to pick one,his jaw was broke by a striking blow to the face ,no ifs or buts thats completly out of order ,As for JM i have lost all respect for him.Apart from the huge loss of ronnan for mayo is it goin to unsettle things in the mayo camp.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 08/07/2009 14:31:45    337295

xxx seeing as you remember the 06 game so well can you remember who received a straight red card for a striking offence off the ball??

TheWildRover (Mayo) - Posts: 6 - 08/07/2009 14:35:46    337306

Think it was Enda Devenney Why?

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 08/07/2009 14:54:08    337337