Derry v Monaghan-Mark two.

Ding round 2... I'm in disbelief! Anyway onwards upwards.. Think we should win this one again, with Fergal and Brian back as well as Muldoon reportedly back we should be more than a match for Monaghan, especially with Freeman out. I hope they have learned from the last time and there will be more interventions from umpires to protect the forwards, Dessie Mone was at the same craic last night and Rory Woods. I know Derry have a couple of trouble makers ourselves. Fergal will be ready for Dick this time, and won;'t make the same mistake again. Doire Abú

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 05/07/2009 18:28:05    332813

Will either team like to play football this time??

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 05/07/2009 18:31:36    332819

They still managed to play more football than you lot did v Dublin.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 05/07/2009 18:34:57    332825

oh I didnt see that one coming

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 05/07/2009 18:37:48    332833

I cant wait for this one as it should be a cracker. Hope its on T.V. !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/07/2009 18:38:07    332834

Another tough draw for Monaghan. What the hell have we done to deserve such bad luck?? Anyway, really looking forward to next week. I think we have learned alot from last nights game and Im sure Banty will be using Joe Brolly for motivation so ironically Brolly might end up been the inspiration for putting Derry out of the championship;)
Will this game be televised considering the slating it got the last time?? Will the Neutrals watch it???

Funny, i think they will!!

Farneyarmy1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 89 - 05/07/2009 18:38:27    332836

Juan,
Will Westmeath like to play football this time??

Farneyarmy1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 89 - 05/07/2009 18:39:22    332840

sparks will fly

dubsforsam09 (Dublin) - Posts: 205 - 05/07/2009 18:39:46    332841

Yes i wanted dis draw. In clones we are ready..If mullin plays it a disgrace on behalf of the gaa.. Bring it on. We beat yous last year without finlay and mc guckin suspended for derry.

Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 05/07/2009 18:44:31    332850

Touché Niamh!

I'm in real disbelief about this myself, seems like the gods really are against us.

Don't know how to call it to be honest. Tommy being missing definately doesn't help our cause, we'll need Finlay and McManus to again step up and improve a great deal from last night, and Woods, Ronaghan etc. need to pull their finger out and play football. One positive is that we improved gradually in midfield last night, and after Lennon being anonymous against Derry the first day out he needs to be on top form next week. I'd still be confident of our backs doing a good job, it's up front where we need to do the business. Even the first day out we could have took it but for some awful wasteful shots in front of goal. It was nearly the same last night when it definately shouldn't have went to ET. It's a bonus being in Clones but that won't be a deciding factor, we're very much up against it.

Don't know what more to say, need to go lie down and let this sink in.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 05/07/2009 18:44:39    332851

Ouch JuanVeron you just got served

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 05/07/2009 18:49:36    332863

I dont think Monaghan will ever be more motivated to win a match than this one.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1912 - 05/07/2009 18:51:37    332866

I think that one will be aired on RTE just for insomniacs to try find a cure to their ailment...oh dear..

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 05/07/2009 18:52:28    332869

Of course neutrals will watch it. Even if it turns out to be worse than the last time(god forbid), their eyes will be glued to it. Like a car crash you can't take your eyes off it!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 05/07/2009 18:58:37    332881

Clearly We cant play football anymore, At least ye play to yer strengths, which our lads could learn from, but its god awful to watch for neutrals

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 05/07/2009 19:02:27    332887

It is hard to believe that this is not designed by a greater power

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 05/07/2009 19:16:57    332922

This is goin to be another fiercely fought contest again.Monaghan will look to get revenge for last time out while derry will look just to progress to next stage.Hard one to call this time out...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 05/07/2009 19:33:32    332951

another slugfest with cheap shots and off the ball stuff going on all over the place.ulster football matches are just dreadful to watch..take tyrone out of there and its a sorry enough affair.wicklow proving last night that leinster football is still ahead of ulster football.a game of football might break out amongst all the other stuff in this match..as for a winner i suppose i'll give monaghan the nod

der_bomber (Kildare) - Posts: 149 - 05/07/2009 19:37:41    332961

We are in for another bout of vicious fighting and nastiness!!!Another reason not to watch football. Good lord, is there no way these two could have been kept apart? At least one of them has to lose so that can only be good for the rest of us.

Was hoping Monaghan would draw Kerry and put them out but not to be. Some interesting games though.

galwaycelt (Galway) - Posts: 307 - 05/07/2009 19:43:43    332967

god i hope they domt show this match on tv

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11717 - 05/07/2009 19:44:02    332969