07/07/2009 21:55:53 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 07/07/2009 23:07:40 336539 Link 0 |
I'm not sure if I would refer to it as Luke Dempsey's rant, I think I would call it an assertive response to a bad decision made by the fixtures committee in the first place and the DL Co. Board then for not agreeing to a change of venue and/or throw in time. He was after all thinking about the wellfare of his players and supporters and the expense incurred. The Gardai, the Co. Board, and the Chamber of commerce apparently all objected to the change because of the way it would affect business in the town so on that point, St. Conleths Park is one venue that I have gone to down through the years to Hurling and football, club and county, and the park is situated smack in the center of Newbridge, Co. Kildare which is one of the busiest towns in leinster, and life goes on in the town and so does its business. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3204 - 07/07/2009 23:52:07 336623 Link 0 |
The Offaly county board asked Wexford county board to get the game put back to mid afternoon to accomodate the supporters goin back to Tullamore for the hurling,I read nothing in the papers about CLG Ceatharlach asking for the game to be put back to mid afternoon Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 07/07/2009 23:52:58 336625 Link 0 |
Clowns, 30mins in yer boy racer cars maybe, even 45mins is optimistic. County ground or not, would ballyshannon hold the crowd, yes no problem. I though north Donegal was all soccer, joking. My point being 3pm would suit everyone even the Donegal fans in Malin or gweedore to travel to ballyshannon for that time. ie common sense the right time and venue for everyone. Can ye not see that? Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 08/07/2009 08:10:16 336762 Link 0 |
Sligonian, Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 08/07/2009 10:59:27 336898 Link 0 |
From reading the Clare message board we could have agreed to reverse the fixture to Ennis and there still wouldn't be much Clare support on the day. Give over lads. I enjoy all this whinging craic when it comes to people having to travel to Donegal for a match. Christ I forgot that we play ALL our games at home so we'd be oblivious to the difficulties associated with travelling long distances to an away match. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9896 - 08/07/2009 11:51:55 336975 Link 0 |
Sligonian- you would do it in 45 mins easy. You are forgetting about the by pass in Donegal Town. No need to go through the town now at all. Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 08/07/2009 12:50:23 337081 Link 0 |
the supporters and the team shouldnt have bothered training sorry travellin cos im sure they knew theyd get beaten.you dont hear london teams moanin bout having to come here for matches,days lost at work time away from loved ones ,etc mucker (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 08/07/2009 13:20:58 337141 Link 0 |
Well the Donegal CB and Gardai and Fans can make all the excuses they want, but the digrace is that these games are fixed for Ballybofey when they SHOULD be in Ballyshannon. Bringing Carlow and now Clare up the extra 45mins at 7pm to ballaybofey is a disgrace when they have to pass through ballyshannon on the way. A disgrace, ye use that pitch in Nfl and its not like it wont hold the crowd. Theres the solution, fix it for 3 pm in Ballyshannon would be showing consideration to others and common sense would prevail. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 08/07/2009 20:24:17 337909 Link 0 |