To be fair Wexford have allowed an earlier start time because the Offaly hurling match is on the same day. Think we need to accommodate eachother. Why would it be a bad thing for Donegal to allow an different time? If good reason fair enough. ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 04/07/2009 02:07:47 331717 Link 0 |
By the way this whole thing about being the busiest day blah blah blah is a load of you know what. Donegal should be glad to get the business in the current economic climate. Make hay while the sun shines and all that. ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 04/07/2009 02:09:49 331719 Link 0 |
Y could the game not have been played at 3.30 on sunday?? Its nt like its being televised or anything... Rf (Donegal) - Posts: 291 - 04/07/2009 11:54:41 331820 Link 0 |
ColinWex Alvin (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 04/07/2009 12:27:09 331847 Link 0 |
Grow up Lifford gael.It's not like there would be a big crowd at it neway,why could the game not be moved to a bigger town such as letterkenny.How would you like to be headin to Carlow for 7pm?Hope donegal are bet or get Kerry away at 7pm in Killarney the next day. fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 04/07/2009 14:55:48 331961 Link 0 |
Fred-dead-wood! Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 04/07/2009 15:30:38 332000 Link 0 |
Just back from the game. Brutal stuff. Was chatting to a few Carlow lads in Jacksons who said they came up for the weekend to stay for the craic. Not saying everyone would want/afford to do this but anyway. Just a point about the timing/location of the match. I remember Kerry griping a few years ago about having to travel to Letterkenny for a league game instead of Ballyshannon. In the Donegal Democrat Manus Boyle made a very good point when he said you wouldn't have the Kerry Board paying us to much heed if we started dictating to them where their home league matches should be scheduled. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9897 - 04/07/2009 22:22:01 332292 Link 0 |
And now the Banner boys are at it!! This whinging must be catching. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 07/07/2009 15:37:28 335785 Link 0 |
squidword Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 07/07/2009 15:53:49 335818 Link 0 |
Thanks for that info Fredthered. squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 07/07/2009 15:59:54 335829 Link 0 |
I myself had no problem in staying up, as my wife is from God's country and I love going up there. However, the Carlow team were home at 335am after having dinner in The Mill Park on the way home. You can imagine these boys were feeling very sorry for themselves at that hour of the morning after losing by 10 points. There would be no difference to traffic between either 3pm or 7pm, as McElhinney's, the main cause of all traffic, is open until 7! Harps playing the same evening, also didn't help traffic matters. A little bit of common sense should have been used. Twohop (Carlow) - Posts: 19 - 07/07/2009 16:33:36 335897 Link 0 |
Dont mention it Squid. Im here to please. Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 07/07/2009 17:07:09 335950 Link 0 |
Well the Donegal CB and Gardai and Fans can make all the excuses they want, but the digrace is that these games are fixed for Ballybofey when they SHOULD be in Ballyshannon. Bringing Carlow and now Clare up the extra 45mins at 7pm to ballaybofey is a disgrace when they have to pass through ballyshannon on the way. A disgrace, ye use that pitch in Nfl and its not like it wont hold the crowd. Theres the solution, fix it for 3 pm in Ballyshannon would be showing consideration to others and common sense would prevail. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1884 - 07/07/2009 17:13:50 335960 Link 0 |
07/07/2009 17:13:50 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 07/07/2009 17:32:10 335987 Link 0 |
07/07/2009 16:33:36 RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 07/07/2009 17:34:26 335991 Link 0 |
For Christ sake lads. Ballyshannon is only half an hour away from Ballybofey. I would like to hear yous if the game was fixed for Malin Head. Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 07/07/2009 18:04:27 336036 Link 0 |
Sligonian Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/07/2009 19:32:02 336132 Link 0 |
I'm not surprised with this. Dempsey has an excuse for every game he loses. ChungLad (Longford) - Posts: 351 - 07/07/2009 21:13:11 336253 Link 0 |
Lifford Gael - how can Sligo paly there home gams in Ballyshannon? Is Ballyshannon not in Donegal? Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 07/07/2009 21:55:53 336318 Link 0 |
Dee- It was a joke. Though Ballyshannon is as near to Sligo as it is to Ballybofey give or take a few miles. Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/07/2009 23:06:11 336534 Link 0 |