Hand on Heart....Our National Anthem??

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

329119 Know it in Irish and English and find it very disrespectful when people shout way before the end of it. Yhis doesn't happen at soccer or rugby games but yet always happens before our national games. (I actually started a thread on this a few months ago and most people seemed to have no problem with people shouting half way through)

Remember at the rugby they play that god awful anthem to political correctness, Irelands Call.

Like with most things I learnt at school I have forgotten it much to my eternal shame!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/07/2009 20:05:58    329182

Hand on heart I don't know the word's either in English or Irish but I do respect it when it's being played! shame that alto of people have to shout out before its finished.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 01/07/2009 20:08:07    329184

brendtheredhand - Great point. I would take people hollering all through it before I could sit through that Irelands Call rubbish. Easily one of the worst songs written.

It was written in English before it was Irish? Jaysus next thing you know you'll be telling me there's an English word for an telefón!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/07/2009 20:29:56    329195

Ah festinog im off college for the summer and you remind me of the tuiseal ginideach.

premierman21 (Tipperary) - Posts: 429 - 01/07/2009 20:50:36    329208

I think that it should be sang at every match! Because at the Derry ones no one sings and it makes you feel like a reject!

hope09 (Derry) - Posts: 52 - 01/07/2009 20:56:23    329212

I actually had to learn it off my own accord, we were never taught it in school.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 01/07/2009 21:15:13    329229

brendtheredhand

At home rugby internationals they play both amhran na bhfiann and irelands call and Amhran na bhFiann is sang with pride and gusto unlike at GAA matches where people do there best to drown it out way before the end,

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 01/07/2009 21:15:41    329230

what's the big deal if people don't know it anyway?

corrinshego (Armagh) - Posts: 305 - 01/07/2009 21:19:57    329240

Cavan_Slasher

Patrique, whats wrong with the lyrics ? Its a brilliant Anthem !!

A bit militaristic for me, like many anthems.

In a country with literally a thousand beautiful, haunting slow airs, I would go with one of those.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/07/2009 21:30:05    329249

i.v known it since i was 11. it was drilled into us by our national skool teacher

all.star (Wexford) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2009 21:52:04    329277

01/07/2009 21:52:04
all.star
County: Wexford

i.v known it since i was 11. it was drilled into us by our national skool teacher

He obviously sacrificed spelling and grammar time so he could teach you it ;)

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 01/07/2009 21:58:36    329285

We were never taught it in school either! We were too busy learning about World war one and the 1066 battle

hope09 (Derry) - Posts: 52 - 01/07/2009 21:59:38    329287

I know it in Irish, heard the english version and it's not as good.
Also know Ireland's Call, never taught either in school..

Galway11 (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 01/07/2009 22:11:04    329309

Primary school principal taught me. Probably the first proper thing I learned 'as gaelige' and have belted it out with pride at every opportunity since.
Principal went on to be President of the Association, a one Sean McCague

Plink (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 01/07/2009 22:12:25    329315

We were taught irelands call

hope09 (Derry) - Posts: 52 - 01/07/2009 22:24:18    329334

the national anthem of the republic
Amhran na bhfiann is and will always be the offical anthem of the Island
Never mind that rugby anthem to keep 3 or 4 boys happy
Watch the anthems when we played England in croker
WE know ..............

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 01/07/2009 22:55:43    329363

I dont think too many of ye boys would like to be beside me at a match. I more or less scream and shout all the way through the anthem, roaring abuse at the opposition players like a maniac. Its all part of the craic

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 02/07/2009 00:22:30    329453

Tipperarylad (not your name, but these damned user names are nonsensical and near impossible to remember at the best of times. Like Festinog. What kind of bloody name is festinog? Who in the name of all that's holy chooses to name themselves after a small town in Wales that is famous only for it's miniature railway?) - An Tuiseal Ginideacht haunted me up and down the halls of my secondary, and to this day I still have no clue. And my Irish teacher also went on to become President of the Association. A certain Galway hurler....

Dr Shepard, away with ya. The roar that follows hot on the heals of the Anthem is delivered out of fervour and excitment. You might prefer the drab, dreadful, dreariness of a soccer game, or the stiff upper lip of a rugby field. But for my money give me a stadium packed to the rafters with farmers and JCB drivers, solicitors and scholars all roaring on their county players for the coming battle at the end of what is, after all, the Soldiers Song.

Amen and Gaillimh Abú

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/07/2009 00:30:44    329461

Paddyogall, the tyrone players learnt it before the start of the championship of 2003 to build unity. michaela harte printed off 30+ copies as she is an irish teacher, at my school incidentally, and gave one to everyone on the panel and all the backroom staff and mickey told the players they had to learn it off by heart before the start of the championship. i am proud to say that i know it off by heart but am absolutely appalled at how little people know it at club games in tyrone and at their county games. i think mickey should make it compulsory at all of our matches from now on that any tyrone fans who want in to the ground have to know it. it would take a lot of effort and would waste time before matches but a small price to pay for having pride in the anthem

galballygael23 (Tyrone) - Posts: 235 - 02/07/2009 00:48:12    329478

I know most of it but I usually mess it up near the end. That still doesn't stop me belting it out at the All-Ireland finals here in Edmonton, Canada. (The games start at 8:30AM and the beer usually starts flowing by half-time).

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1034 - 02/07/2009 08:08:59    329540