Sligo using Mayo players

Look lads this is clearly a bit of craic, but i think what paddy is saying is fair. Costello signed for a sligo club and so plays for sligo. Parsons signed for a mayo club and so plays for mayo. The lads made the decisions themselves so could the sligo fellas please give the parsons stuff a rest

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/06/2009 15:41:24    327787

Anyways i'll have the last word. Sligo are just as bad as Mayo at taking Players from Other Counties. You Sligo numpties remind me of the supportes that abuse Aiden McGeady and James McCarthy in the SPL

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 30/06/2009 15:50:46    327799

No worries there Frederick... in Mayo we bear no ill will for ye taking Dermot the Great... when it comes to that territory around Ballagh, and others up towards Sligo, and Cavan apparently, we take what cones to us, and we're more than willing to share our obvious abundance of riches. What are neighbours for, if not for that?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/06/2009 19:08:34    328047

ye cant say just let it rest, the 2 situations were clearly different and the thing is ye dont know the facts of either. just stirring

brett favre (Sligo) - Posts: 659 - 30/06/2009 19:45:54    328069

Paddyogall Ballinlough is in Roscommon.End of story.Who cares if it is on the border,it's on the roscommon side.
Pericles,We did'nt take Dermot the great,he was ours in the first place.u guys need to grow up,Paddyogall u are fast turning into a laughing stock on these pages.
Very sad and indeed a bit enlightening to see how desperate Mayo and their Supporters are to claim other counties players,Past or Present.It smacks of insecurity.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 01/07/2009 00:10:16    328267

My God some lads just cant understand tounge in cheek posts. Get a sense of humopur for God sake, your worse then the Nordies

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/07/2009 09:37:29    328411

It is no joking matter in Sligo, Paddy. When the GAA means feck all to ya its easy to be tongue in cheek especially when you havent a clue what your on about. Ive let the parsons thing go, nothing I can do about it only hope we dont lose anymore inside our border.

Sligeach abu.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1877 - 01/07/2009 10:35:22    328454

I'll again have the last word. You cant blame a lad for wanting to Play for Mayo when at least he will have a chance at possibly winning an All ireland. Its sad when Sligo people have to resort to petty insults such as "you know nothing about gaa" He plays his football in Mayo then why should he not play intercounty football for Mayo. Its very hypocritical of them when Mayo Players play for them. "I dont know the facts" what facts do i need to know he plays club football for Charlestown thats the only fact you need to know. There is nothing stoping him for playing For Sligo, its people like Sligonian that would put him off. Anyways i'll have the last word here.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/07/2009 10:46:59    328468

Paddyogall u are fast turning into a laughing stock on these pages.

I think he's been there for a while boys.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 01/07/2009 11:24:34    328505

Sticks and stones may break my Bones but names will never hurt me. Its gas when people know there argument is wrong so they resort to petty insults

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/07/2009 11:51:46    328548

Gud win Paddy! I don't know how you get those people so wound up!!

ronburgundy (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 01/07/2009 12:00:23    328558

Hes not winding us up, Im relaxed. Get the last word all you want which is childish in itself. Im going to leave by saying this, Parsons is from Bellaghy and Bellaghy is Sligo whether you like or not. He never lived a day of his life in mayo or ctown for that matter. He plays with a club and county he is not from FACT.

Isnt costello living in Sligo, oh ya he is, would mayo want him eh no.

Your turn Paddy,

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1877 - 01/07/2009 12:09:11    328575

Ryan Mellan's family home is inside Armagh but he is a Tyrone man through playing for the Moy. Likewise McGuickan the Derry player has been born and reared in Tyrone, he plays for Derry because he is a Ballinderry player. Ramie Wilkinson - whose family is all pure Tyrone and proud of it - is in the same boat as McGuickan. In my opinion you should play for the Parish club (which all of the lads above do) and if good enough the county they are in. Cargin are one of the elite teams in Antrim football and they have must draw players that live round the Elk on the Derry side of Toomebridge. The Loughshore area in particular is a strange one because famalies from Tyrone, Antrim and Derry in the Area are intertwined and the strongest football teams usually come from the region.

Must have similar situation in Newry on the Armagh Down boarder and the Down Antrim boarder in Belfast.

That said I am sure people represent the county they feel the biggest affinity with.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 01/07/2009 12:30:32    328606

Sligonian
County: Sligo

328575 Hes not winding us up, Im relaxed. Get the last word all you want which is childish in itself. Im going to leave by saying this, Parsons is from Bellaghy and Bellaghy is Sligo whether you like or not. He never lived a day of his life in mayo or ctown for that matter. He plays with a club and county he is not from FACT.

Isnt costello living in Sligo, oh ya he is, would mayo want him eh no.

Your turn Paddy

If you relaxed then i'm Gandi. There is no need to get your knickers in a twist at all. The fact of the matter is he plays for Mayo not for Sligo. No one can blame him for his decision. Another fact to point out is that Costello is a temporary student in Sligo. A Part time resident in Sligo. Similar situation when Parsons went to School in Charlestown, so this means he is a part time resident in Mayo if you see what i'm saying

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/07/2009 12:41:00    328622

Give it a rest paddy, ur not talking sense.

airmax (UK) - Posts: 56 - 01/07/2009 13:38:21    328718

Part-time resident? So you're saying he moved over the border and had a home in Charlestown while he was in school there? Must have been a rich young lad!

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 01/07/2009 13:49:48    328727

On another a different matter, Should Sligo now rename themselves as the Mayo 'B' team? it has a nice ring to it

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/07/2009 13:52:31    328732

Tom Parsons situation is the exact same as Padraig Doohans one. Padriag Doohan was born and bred in Co Mayo a mile from Sligo border, went to school in Bunninadden Co Sligo and played underage football for them. He went on represent Sligo at minor Under 21 and Senior level for almost 15 years.
Don't think we in Sligo are in any position to complain about Tom Parsons playing for Mayo so.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 01/07/2009 14:14:09    328754

That last post had me in stitches, hilarious stuff, temporary resident, great stuff.

Just in relation to the above post regarding tyrone, Bellaghy is in Currys parish. All the people in Bellaghy had to vote in Curry box no6 for a Sligo candidate in european elections. Also they qualify only for ctown and mayo through the school rule. These lads do not play for the parish there from, Also this is for everyones benefit they are first generation of players to play with ctown from bellaghy. Even parsons great uncle played for Sligo. All facts.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1877 - 01/07/2009 14:17:03    328760

Gud wrk PAddy, Ur not winding any1 up here at all, but if Sligonian could get a hold of you on a Sligo/Mayo football pitch they woul beat the bejaysus outta ya!! Not wound up at all.. But I thought Parsons lived in Roscommon

ronburgundy (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 01/07/2009 14:35:14    328792