Sligo using Mayo players

Well its one reason they were able to mix it with Galway, Using Mayo Players. Alan Costelloe. After all the nonsense that Sligo Posters come out with about Alan Parsons playing for us (he plays his club football in Mayo)

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 12:55:04    326325

Who's Alan Parsons??

P.Joycestick (Galway) - Posts: 158 - 29/06/2009 13:51:56    326422

Pardon my french, Tom Parsons. I was listening to Alan Patridge at the time

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 13:54:07    326429

Ah haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

Back of the net.

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 29/06/2009 13:57:02    326432

Well I thought Costello was poor yesterday so to attribute Sligo's spirited performance to him is a bit rich!

P.Joycestick (Galway) - Posts: 158 - 29/06/2009 13:59:02    326435

Is it the alan parsons project? :D Ya i know paddy he's playing in the league for them all year. Costello played underage for mayo too. They can never bring this one up again.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/06/2009 14:01:10    326442

Costello works in Sligo, moved to Sligo, and played club football in Sligo for the past year or two.

Tom Parson's does not live in Mayo, and never has. It's not Mayo's fault he chose to paly in red and green, more the fault of Sligo County Board who should have ben pushing to get him into underage teams in years past.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 29/06/2009 14:15:45    326479

Tom Parsons plays for Charlestown!!!!!!! what part of that cant Sligo people understand. He played at all levels for Mayo. Tom Parsons never played Underage or Senior Football for Sligo. At least we dont go Robbing other Counties star players........such as Alan Costelloe

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 14:19:26    326483

The situation is the same all over the country.
There are a cluster of clubs on or close to the Derry, Tyrone boarder and the Derry/Antrim boarder that I am aware of. You often get lads born in Tyrone playing for Derry and lads born in derry playing for Antrim. It goes by where you play your club football.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 29/06/2009 14:36:43    326517

CheFinny
County: UK

But the situation is different here with Alan Costello. Born and raised in Balla, Co.Mayo played his Club football for Balla. Played at All levels for Mayo including Senior. A once great Club was Balla, The likes of maurice Sheridan and Pat Fallon Played for them. Unfortunately they fell on hard times and got relegated to Junior Football and look firmly rooted to the bottom. For shame Sligo taking away a Junior Clubs Star Player. He could of been better then Ciaran MacDonald.........................................he is going to badly missed in Mayo and Very Badly Missed in Balla

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 14:55:30    326542

Costello wasn't exactly poached by Sligo. He moved to Sligo for WORK a few years ago, and transferred to the club in his new parish, Coolera. He played a season or two with them before he broke into the Sligo panel, so you can hardly accuse Sligo of poaching him away from his club.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 29/06/2009 15:27:32    326597

black&white
County: Sligo

326597 Costello wasn't exactly poached by Sligo. He moved to Sligo for WORK a few years ago, and transferred to the club in his new parish, Coolera. He played a season or two with them before he broke into the Sligo panel, so you can hardly accuse Sligo of poaching him away from his club.

He is in Sligo I.T Alan Costello, he is not there for work. This means No Mayo Player is safe, if they go to College in Sligo does this mean they are fair game for Sligo to Poach? will some one please think about the Children here!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 15:44:30    326622

Maybe that Aussie guy Nixon is really an undercover Sligo spy (a Splygo?!), and the young talent going out to Oz is for development and repatriation as future Sligo stars? Who knows what lengths they'll stoop to now they've got a taste for it with Alan Costelloe?! Today Alan Costello, tomorrow Pease Hanley, Marty Clarke etc and an A-I title in 2012? It's all very strange..!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/06/2009 16:56:10    326724

Pericles

326724 Maybe that Aussie guy Nixon is really an undercover Sligo spy (a Splygo?!), and the young talent going out to Oz is for development and repatriation as future Sligo stars? Who knows what lengths they'll stoop to now they've got a taste for it with Alan Costelloe?! Today Alan Costello, tomorrow Pease Hanley, Marty Clarke etc and an A-I title in 2012? It's all very strange..!

I agree Pericles, there is some thing fishy going on in Sligo. But do you know what has me stumped. How did they Convince a guy of sumpreme Natural talent such as Alan Costello to play for them? this guy has it all.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/06/2009 17:03:48    326736

Will if he didn't Paddy, he does now... the lure of that black magic jersey!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/06/2009 17:17:03    326760

You'd think that if Alan wanted to just broaden his horizons he would have joined one of the exotic Castlebar outfits down the road, like Breaffy, the Mitchells, or even gone as far as Ballintubber! And if it was education and not wanderlust that took him away from us, what's wrong with GMIT? I think this strange affair opens up a whole raft of questions and serious doubts about why anyone would want to be a Mayoman (or woman... just being pc...)! Maybe BW can explain what Sligo have (Costello apart) that we don't?!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/06/2009 17:32:57    326781

is this tread serious, fair play to alan if he is playing for sligo as for poaching - oh my god embarassing....

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 29/06/2009 17:50:38    326805

Can we have some spare Mayo players please?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 29/06/2009 17:53:16    326809

Chefinny, is that true? Would the players in that case have a choice of which county they play for?

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1149 - 29/06/2009 17:57:06    326814

Paddyogall If you want to vent your fury I think you should direct it at Alan Costelloe-quite clearly he decided himself to represent Sligo,It's not as if he is being held against his wishes and is forced to play for the all-blacks.It is quite clearly his own decision.He wasnt that good yesterday,would not have been in the top 5 Sligo performers against Galway,and as for being potentially better than Ciaran mac Puh-lease.I dont think even we would have him and that is sayin something!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 29/06/2009 18:06:05    326826