Shocked at Galways performance.

In the Parish,what are you on about the average age being high?You havent a clue what you are on about,fair enough Joyce is 32 or 33.Who else?Dec Meehans 1st game in a long time and wont play again this year.Meehan,Hanley,Bergin,Clancy,Cullinane,Armstrong,Hanley,Blake,Coyne,Sice,Alan Burke,Damien Burke-all mid twenties.Conroy,Faherty,O Donnell all early twenties.So what are you on about?In fact Id say the Mayo team is as old.

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 29/06/2009 21:02:50    326999

Liam sammon has to talked about. His decisions were very poor in team selection, tactics and substitutions. Firstly, I cant understand why a player like Gary O Donnell is on the county panel. Why declan meehan started i will never no. Great servant to galway football but should be axed from the panel. Has Sammon forgot that he has one of the most naturaly gifted footballers in the country in Alan Burke. Wing back should be burkes spot for the last 2 to 3 years. Why isnt Greg Higgins or De Paor on the panel, the higher standard of training would do wonders for them. Galway have the potential but with his almost random generated team selections it will be another waste of a few years for galway. "Fancy Dans" was the quote from the Sunday game post match analysis and it couldnt have been more true. galway football is lacking hunger, ruthlesness and i hate to say it pride. SAMMON MUST GO!

critic101 (Galway) - Posts: 97 - 29/06/2009 21:03:20    327000

To the Mayo fan talking about Galway's lack of support its true but that comes from being successful in Connacht and winninjg 6 AI's since yere last one in 1951. You see huge support for unsuccessful counties like Mayo - that's nothing new and when ye fail to win the AI yet again this year ye'll still have huge support to watch ye fail next year and for years to come!!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/06/2009 21:51:04    327029

Spot on critic101 and agree with your possible inclusions of DePaor and Higgins in midfield. Also I would like to see the likes of Joe Canney given a chance - he's small but I was impressed with his performances for Corofin this year and is a gutsy little character. Bane is very inconsistent as some other poster mentioned i.e. great one match, anonymous the next. A pity Michael Comer is injured as he is a very tight marking corner back and he wouldn't have given Sligo's corner forward Kelly the room that Coyne gave him constantly. If I was manager my team would be: Faherty, Fitzgerald, Hanley, Finnegan, A Burke, Bradshaw, Mullaghy, Higgins, DePaor, Bergin, Joyce, Conroy, Armstrong, Meehan, Canney.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/06/2009 22:09:26    327051

tommy k, poor excuse,galway supporters?? truth is we are miles ahead of galway,at every level, but barry cullinane is coming good , when was the last time galway got to a semi final, we might not have won sam but ill tell you we have come alot closer than ye, hope ye get a favourable draw in the qualifiers,nah actually i dont.

mayoultras100 (Mayo) - Posts: 138 - 29/06/2009 23:01:53    327119

lads think ye being a small bit harsh on o donnell when i dont htink he's a natural midfielder. he wasnt winning ball in the air but he was linking up well with the half forward line with short passes.. sendin off, i belive it was harsh. o hara busted one of our players with his elbow after winning a free. the ref played to the crowd and wouldnt make big decisions. thelinesman sent o donnell off. the minor selection is a joke. however there wasnt more north players on the panel is a joke.

footballskin (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 29/06/2009 23:06:45    327128

It's as simple as this, sammon obviously has a problem or a bone to pick with An Cheathru Rua football. Anyone who has a bit of sense will agree that cillin de paor should be on this galway team. How on earth or some of these lads ahead of him? Not as if he has an attitude or discipline problem, he is a role model for any young lad wishing to play!!! Sammon please, please open your eyes.

Conamara (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 30/06/2009 00:04:05    327193

tommy k, poor excuse,galway supporters?? truth is we are miles ahead of galway,at every level, but barry cullinane is coming good , when was the last time galway got to a semi final, we might not have won sam but ill tell you we have come alot closer than ye, hope ye get a favourable draw in the qualifiers,nah actually i dont.

In fairness what use is coming close. There are no prizes for best loser. You either win it or you don't and only one county wins it any given year. The rest are nowhere. Some just feel better than others for having won a couple of games.

And since Mayo's last All-Ireland Galway have won six All-Ireland's (6). Not one. Or two. Or three. Or four. Or even five. But six (6). That's just the cold hard facts sonny. If there were medals handed out for talking about winning All-Ireland's then Mayo lads would have wheelbarrows full of them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2387 - 30/06/2009 00:56:40    327217

Totally agree with Connamara; Great young lad; Must be given a chance, like his brother was, and we all know what happened after that;

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/06/2009 01:19:30    327236

get alan mulholland in the job!!! only man ta bring an all-ireland ta galway in ages!!! or at least give him the u21 job wer he has same team as minor 2007!!!!!! lets et an all-ireland back ta galway!!! gaillimh abú

scan (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 30/06/2009 01:45:03    327254

I agree with you scan he is the man for one of the jobs!!! galway need to be winning more all irelands.. sammon should bring in a few players from that winning team what about toto and mike martin why doesn't he give them a chance he gave joe joe greaney a chance against sligo and didn't look with it and got subbed again...

MAYO2 (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 30/06/2009 12:19:12    327481

To the Mayo contingent who promote that they nearly this, nearly that, nearly the other. Nearly didn't bull the cow.

Tribesman09 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 30/06/2009 12:39:11    327506

i know this galway team is not old but there is a fair few of them there for a while now apart from o donnell conroy and faherty i,d say the rest were all involved against cork in the quarters a few years back and west meath back then as well.its starting to be like the hurlers same faces year after year and the same result but i,m not gettin too hung up about it, theres plenty of examples of teams being poor early in the championship and goin on to great things galway 98 and 01 tyrone last year mayo in 04 got to the final after a brutal conn final kerry do it all the time poor in muns and then pick it up afterwards. i think we will beat mayo but i think we would be better losin and gettin an extra game in the qualifiers.

pateen (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 30/06/2009 14:15:37    327667

pridengalway County: Galway Posts: 174 320669 Lads im surprised myself that other galway posters are totally ruling out sligo. galway footballers, like the hurlers have never being a team that done things the easy way and i dont see them changing their ways against sligo. i cant see us losing because i think over all we are better in most positions, but i think sligo will scare us for a while in the match. _______________________________________________________________________________________________ lads i posted this on the mayo webpage last week and what i predicted occured. im not gloating about the fact, but i am actually shocked at how close sligo got to an upset. i was at acdc, and im glad i was by the sounds of the match report, as i would have had a stroke watching them. but im not that worried. we dont have a midfield, but we have the players in the team that, if hungry enough, can still go along way. mayo are now favourites coming to pearse stadium, we have much to prove & we aren't peeking to early. if we lose (god forbid) we have the qualifers to get some momentum going like in 2001 to go far. if we win, we are in another quarter final, however we must IMO be in an AI semi-final this year to show any hope for the future. we cant have another 32 year episode, and by the minor result, it shows galway football has to have al good look at its self and start doing things right because we have the talent, but not the right system it seems. i hope that sunday was a good kick in the **** to the team, because like our hurlers, they need it from time to time. gaillimh abu!!!!!!

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 30/06/2009 14:32:08    327689

Mayo chokers, mayo have no bottle, we've won 6 all irelands since 1951, can't win in Pearse......blah blah blah!!!Fact is, it's 2009 and the game on July 19th will have nothing to do with the past, what will the jibes be WHEN mayo do actually win something, probably not this year but it WILL happen, too much good football played here....Agree that Galway aren't an ageing team..far from it but Galway do rely on Joyce and Meehan to pull games out of the fire...
Galway have serious problems at midfield and as much as Galway supporters love to talk about mayo's past...it'll count for nothing on the day
Expect a geat game and may the best team win!

ballinaman (Mayo) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2009 15:29:18    327766

Two terrible performances the last day. Start with the minors.. I really thought Gerry Fahy had a good team this year after the success of the ted webb teams in 2007.Could question some of the team selection but personally i think Galway just werent as good as Mayo too individual, a bad day at the office for some..

Sligo game. Great start.6 points up before Matt Clancy went off and his departure through injury was imo really significant.He was at the heart of all Galway's attacks and was full of energy and running,hope he's back for the mayo game hel be a very important player for Galway.
The way we totally faded out of the game has to be a concern for Sammon.Very inexperienced midfield didnt win enough possession at vital stages in the match.Defence especially corner backs could be better.
To the people calling for Sammon to go: Are ye mad?1 bad game and sack the boss???Look at the strides we made last year and in the league this year..I think this was a case of get the win no matter how ugly and go from there. Hopefully things will be sorted and wel improve for Mayo.Saying that there are some serious questions to be asked.

Faherty- Did nothing wrong,good saves 8
Coyne-Disaster.poor game.more suited to halfback 4
Hanley-Very good display.excellent 8
D Burke-Could be better
Bradshaw-played well at times,good solid running,his best position 7
Blake-Ok game.. wasnt very tight on his man 6
Meehan-Shouldnt start.Not as good as he was in days gone by.Would go for A Burke or Mullaghy any day 4
Conroy- Did reasonably well considering age,needs Bergin beside him.Get on ball more 6
O'Donnell-Flattered to deceive again.Not much of a fielder but looks good on the ball but doesnt demand or show enough for it.needs aggression for the ball 4
Bane- Faded out badly,does this too often maybe better in corner? 5
Joyce- his experience,compusure and true skill showed in the end when everyone around him lost theirs.. 7
Bergin-Good point at the end,not good game needs to be midf. 6
Clancy- started brightly,Galway missed his energy when he went off.
Meehan-not his best game didnt get enough quality ball inside. 7
Armstrong-Man of the match.showed well,never stopped running. 9

gaillimh15 (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 30/06/2009 17:42:56    327965

Marooned What your saying is what nottingham supporters would say to arsenal,you have to go back to almost a decade till the last time ye got to a semi final.. In that time we have had some incredible summers along the way, been 8 points down against the dubs in croker and winning in an all ireland semi-final etc. the cold hard facts is ye are about as far away from winning an AI as the limericks, donegals.. and sonny the cold hard facts are its not going to get better, we have won last 3 or 4 u21 connacht titles an Ai u21 title been in final, won everthing in connacht minor for i dont know now how long.We bet the Roscommon after 10 minutes whereas ye won by the skin of yer teeth against a team just as bad.

mayoultras100 (Mayo) - Posts: 138 - 30/06/2009 18:44:51    328019

ballinaman - I can assure you that there will be no jibes when Mayo finally win an A-I. The world will be too busy dealing with the Apocalypse to care.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 30/06/2009 19:11:05    328048

What your saying is what nottingham supporters would say to arsenal,you have to go back to almost a decade till the last time ye got to a semi final.. In that time we have had some incredible summers along the way,

Yes the last time was in 2001 when remind me again I do believe we won the All-Ireland didn't we?

Sure what use are incredible Summers when you are empty handed at the end of it? The only thing that matters is winning. People can barely remember who the losers in the final are every year never mind the semi-finals. Sure it's a bit of craic at the time and an excuse for a night of two in Coppers if that's your sort of thing but it isn't any kind of success.

Sorry to be hard on you but there are a number of Mayo lads mouthing off non-stop on this forum so they can expect to get it back tight in return. I haven't even seen any Galway lads over on the Mayo forum. They obviously have a bit more sense.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2387 - 30/06/2009 21:36:36    328121

marooned

Fair point. Thats right ye did win the all ireland and in a way its fitting ye bet meath,even though they have got further since ye are both on the same level almost. We have not won an all ireland for over 50 years true but we are the only team from the west that have a chance to bring sammy back... In the last 7 years ye have not got to even got to the semi stage.. so as we mix it with the big boys in late august i hope you enjoy reading your history books

mayoultras100 (Mayo) - Posts: 138 - 30/06/2009 23:46:06    328246