Tipperary - The potential to be the Greatest!

Lads i felt compelled to sign up to hoganstand and reply to this drivel, apologies but these views do not represent tipperary supporters as a whole !!

Itsalongway (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 24/06/2009 15:42:50    321890

The team has improved but has a long way to go until we can talk abot 1 all ireland never mind three in a row, no wonder tipp supporters get the name of being cocky when lads r posting about "the greatest" and "three in a row", lets just see how the summer goes

Itsalongway (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 24/06/2009 15:46:37    321895

lets see if they get past louth in the qualifiers first

IB
xxx

inniskeenbull (Monaghan) - Posts: 682 - 24/06/2009 16:05:56    321922

Not ruthless enough yet to be great.Kilkenny would have destroyed Clare on Sunday.

Tipple30 (Tipperary) - Posts: 77 - 24/06/2009 16:34:16    321960

To be fair to Tiobraid,he did say he didn't think they were by a long shot....so relax everyone....

Tipple30 (Tipperary) - Posts: 77 - 24/06/2009 17:16:19    322006

I'd love to see Tipp coming back at Kilkenny.....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/06/2009 17:38:24    322025

i think tipp still have a wee bit to go just yet , i know leauge is diff from championship but the they showed they were not afraid of kilkenny, When we wanan turn it on we can rally play well and look like a serious team but when we get nervous and iit get close its hard to watch.But tipp never do things the easy way:).In reply to the guy who thinks we'll do 3 in a row. Ill take 1 plz now thank you.We gotta get over the croke park factor aswell. i can see us in the final come september but its anybodys game then.Best not to peak to soon guys.its only June. Best is yet to come

thurlesman (Tipperary) - Posts: 3 - 24/06/2009 18:07:20    322063

Tipp are building, Galway have the players but not the system or county support, Cork will eventually come again.

Kilkenny may win 4, maybe 5 in a row, but someone else will be along by then.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 24/06/2009 20:58:21    322192

Firstly welcome back tiobraid how was Oz.

Tipperary have the makings of a team that can win all-irelands in the comming years but at the moment they seem the lack a bit of ruthlessness the last two games should have been closed out easily and even the league final for that matter but they did well in the end to win them. Maybe they need a bit more self belief. Also depends on what the other counties bring threw kilkenny seem to have an assembly line of hurlers comming threw all the time and even with the tipp u21's this year with i think about 12/13 of the players that contested the u21 final against kilkenny still u21 this year they were pushed all the way by cork recently have the say i expected tipp to win that easily so cork do have some young hurlers commin threw galway with JC are going to be a challenge if they can build a team around him, wexford offaly seem to be rebuilding and dublin have some great players coming threw, clare have found a few more hurlers colin ryan mightly impressive. Antrim still a bit off of challenging, I'd worry if i was a waterford or limerick supporter there just dosen't seem to be much new blood commin threw.

So the long and short of it yes tipp have the potential for a few all-irelands in the next few years if they can get out of kilkenny's shadow but i just hope they reach their potential which i think they can

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 24/06/2009 22:20:44    322289

Ye are all so fickle. Now Galway are better than Tip and have better players? What is this being based on? One good game against Kilkenny.
Come on lads. Galway could not do this every week. Galway would not be close to Kilkenny without Cooney. Without him they would struggle to beat many of the teams out.
He was what kept them in the game last week. Tip are a more complete team but I think they also have a long way to go to even consider themselves at the same level as Kilkenny.
I'm not saying they cannot beat Kilkenny, they most certainly could and there are a few teams out there who have that potential.
Tip are the second best team out there at the moment I believe but not by alot as the display against Clare showed however they unlike Galway have a good few very good players. They are a more complete team than Galway.
Nobody out there could beat the current KK team playing at their best with all their best players playing but Tip, Galway and some of the others definitely have the potential to beat the cats on an off day. So ye better start praying they have a few off days in the next few months. I'm hoping they will have one against the Dubs and yes then even a hungry Dublin team can beat them. Still not many people here would put their house on any team beating them lets face it.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 24/06/2009 23:38:18    322410

Tipp have pulled through 2 tough games this year & that will stand to them.First game vs Cork we didnt know what type of a Cork team was going to show up.We knew they had the hurlers but we had the hurling done in the early season & the finish to the game proved it. We did not win easy & rightly so Cork should never be written off. Against Clare I admit we were poor but again we came up against a side who had a poor league & who had a point to prove. They proved a point that they are not a bad team & been honest i never expected us to beat Clare handy as many again had predicted.We are not like Kilkenny just yet who can have teams beat in the first half but they have been doin that in Leinster against teams who have no fight like Offaly & Wexford.They just lay down after KK ran them over.Look where those teams ended up.Div 2.Fair enough Offaly came up at the first attempt & Clare went down but I reckon Clare come up first attempt and Offaly go back down.Dublin are the second best team in Leinster excluding Galway of course from the equation. Tipp maybe not this year will run Kilkenny close but I feel we have to play them first in either a semi final or All-Ireland Final to see where we are with them.Remember Cork in 2004 everyone again was saying KK would do 3 in a row.2003 final KK ran amuck in first half vs Cork and Cork didnt know what to do.In 2004 Cork lost Munster Final but when they met KK they had a plan and used it effective.However they were overturned in 2006 as KK won so I reckon KK wont have it all easy this year.I wouldnt be suprised if KK didnt even make the final as Cork Galway Waterford & Tipp i reckon have a say this year yet.u read it here first!!!Lets enjoy the rest of the hurling year & see 2 great finals in Leinster & Munster!!!Dublin (by 2 points) & Tipp (by a point) winning!!!!!!!

RazorRed (Tipperary) - Posts: 18 - 25/06/2009 00:19:32    322436

Thanks Hag...great craic, have an itch to go back already!

Lads I was simply putting a point out there. I don't recall saying they will be the greatest team ever but I was putting the point out there that perhaps there is the potential for a really good team, who knows. By potential I mean 3 or 4 years down the line so this year is irrelevant.

I agree Tipp got beat in last years U21 final by a poor KK team (kk people will agree on that) but the difference is Tipp only lost two players from that team (one was the keeper the other a fringe player that cant make his club team) compared to KK who only have 2 underage.

One point I found quite funny was that most of this team was apparently beaten by Wexford 2 years ago...what a load of ....!!! Only 3 of that team have started cship matches this year
G Kennedy; E Buckley, D Fanning, A Byrne; E Corcoran, C O'Mahony, S Maher; H Maloney, S Butler; J Carroll, B Dunne (Captain), D Hickey; L Corbett, D Egan, W Ryan.

Anyway just something I was putting forward....relax with the harsh remarks.

And really lads ye think Tipperary supporters are more cocky than KK supporters? When do you ever here Tipp supporters claiming they were born with a hurl in their hand!!??

Time will tell on how Tipp will do...who knows it mightn't be long before Dublin will be cleaning up!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/06/2009 00:37:18    322441

In fairness Hag, not tying to make excuses but that U21 team have 10 players on the senior team and 8 of them i'm told got food poisoning after the senior game against Cork 3 days before and were far from 100%. Most of the senior panel got it and it stopped some of them playing for their clubs the following week, so I wouldn't read too much into that Cork U21 result. Another barrage of abuse to follow on excuses I suppose!!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/06/2009 00:43:52    322444

I honestly believe that Galway have the POTENTIAL, and the players, to be the 2nd best side in Ireland at the present time.

This is not based on one game. The last time the Cats were in a "real" test was in 2007, against Galway. Galway have great under-age pedigree, they just need to harvest it at senior level.

Let's face it, Tipp's revival is based on a few successful minor teams.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/06/2009 00:49:08    322447

Colinwex - I'm sure you meant Canning instead of Cooney. To say that Galway is built around one player shows a woeful ignorance of the Galway senior team. Galway's problems at inter-county level have nothing to do with the talents of the players; just their ability to play together. I don't doubt this team has the talent to win an A-I; I just don't know if McIntyre is the man to bring them together to do it.

Now, as for Tipp winning 3-in-a-row. That lad is clearly living in Clonmel and the wonderous smell of fermenting Bulmers has gone to his head. To win 3, you have to start by winning 1. Try that and then come back to us, a chara.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 25/06/2009 03:10:53    322473

I'm really starting to think we have an inability to close out games, we were brought to extra-time in the u21 hurling, and lost to a last minute Cork goal in the u21 football. Then last night in the minor hurling another late Cork goal brought the game to E.T. where we led by eight points at one stage, only for another late Cork score to level it. In the two senior hurling games we were in strong positions but still ended up hanging on in the end. I think we are going to have to get ruthless and start putting these teams away if we are to start winning All-Irelands.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 25/06/2009 09:43:41    322541

Cork/Tipp minor game last night 5-17 to 5-17 A.E.T.. Considering under 21 game also went to extra time and Senior game could have gone either way, it suggests that there is not much between Cork and Tipp either at present or in future prospects.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/06/2009 09:59:38    322551

re: patrique

I honestly believe that Galway have the POTENTIAL, and the players, to be the 2nd best side in Ireland at the present time. Is this based on having a few sucessful u21 and minor teams, don't get your point about tipp revival being based on successful minor teams u make sound like a bad thing that's where it starts these players are getting on the senior team now!!

re: Tiobraid i heard about the food poisioning alright but i thought only 3 of them on the u21's got got it.

re: Corkcelt
I think tipp have the better individual young players comming threw but cork two games underage were more of a team effort that'll take a while to gel in senior where as a few individuals comming into a team is easier to accomidate?? Anyways if cork persis they way they are sticking to the older players and not giving the new lads a chance they won't have much hope.

re:Sisco87
Agreeded Tipp have to develope a ruthless streak but in all games they did battle back well i thought the had the games lost.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/06/2009 10:57:27    322611

yes your footballers have potential hurlers long way from closing in on the best team EVER!

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 26/06/2009 04:20:55    323529

Ha Ha! Good one!

Tipp are a long way off the finished article. Yes they may be Kilkenny's closest rival but at the moment they are the very same as the Dublin Football team in that they dissappear for about 20mins every match.
I am not saying either that Kilkenny are unbeatable because I do not for one second believe that but just because you have good minors and U21s it does not guarantee anything. Ask Limerick or Galway.
While I do want to see all teams put it up to Kilkenny and provide a close hurling championship as opposed to the ones we have seen recently I think Tipp are still a good bit off

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 26/06/2009 11:39:40    323713