Limerick v Wexford

I would encourage all supporters to give support to the boys in Wexford on Saturday. The hurlers wrongly get bad press but I can assure you (contrary to what the knockers would have you believe) that they have given it everything for the last 6 months to be successful. It really maddens me to see the most genuine guys of the group consistently being knocked on this site. No one knows the effort and the sacrifices these guys have made over the last few months, and it is all too easy for "hurlers on the ditch" to post negatively in relation to Limerick hurling and Limerick hurlers.
The reality is that we are one win away from getting back on track, and although Wexford will provide stiff opposition at home, I think there will be a sting in our tails yet.
Please get behind our hurlers, and if you have nothing positive to say, then say nothing at all. There is too much negativity surrounding Limerick hurling, 99% which is totally unfounded. There is not too much wrong with Limerick hurling that one win wouldn't fix.

Mick_Mackey (Limerick) - Posts: 91 - 07/07/2009 23:05:59    336533

shud be close!limerick need to win or they cud get relegated!

arravale (Tipperary) - Posts: 244 - 07/07/2009 23:10:37    336547

Best of luck to the hurlers on Saturday. There is a serios chance of a 1/4 final place as the winners play Laois if Galway win v Clare. After that who Knows. I think they will have got a boost from the display of the footballers last Sunday. LIMERICK ABU

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 07/07/2009 23:16:43    336558

Anyone know the Limk team that lined out against Offaly 10 days ago, lost 2-19 to 2-11 which should be a cause for great concern. I hear that training is not going that well at the moment compared with earlier in the year and that confidence in particular is low. Then again, i've been part of lots of teams where confidence is low and one good performance changes things. A win and good performance on Sat could set us up on the long recovery road.
I don't expect us to win All-Irelands any time soon so i think that the way to go for the Limk mgt is to concentrate on rebuilding and focus on medium term progress . This allows one or two of the experienced players to be played such as Geary, Ollie or Mark Foley but certainly not all three. Bearing in mind the positions that Ollie and Geary play in, and the apparent dearth of alternative options, i would play these two and leave out Mark Foley (play O'Mahoney instead). I would use Mark Foley as an impact player with 15-10 mins to go.
My team for Sat would be:
Murray
Reale Lucey Riordan
Moloney (or Hickey) Geary O'Mahoney
O'Grady Hickey (or Moloney)
JRyan MO'Brien (coz its Wexford) NMoran
Shaugh OMoran Breen
Subs:
Backs: Foley (2nd half only when others are feeling the heat), Condon, Walsh
Forwards: JO'Brien & DRyan (impact players only in my opinion and should not be started), Tobin (difficult to deal with but would like him back as an impact sub)

south gael (Limerick) - Posts: 263 - 08/07/2009 10:55:21    336893

Their are no special buses or trains running but their is however their are normal bus services to wexford bus will leave limerick station at 8.30 in saturaday arrive in waterford at at 10.55 have break then leaves waterford station at 11.30 arrive in wexford station at 12.30 or 9.30 leaving the station in limerick and arrive in waterford at 11.55 longer break here then depart waterford at 1.15 then arrive in wexford at 2.10p.m. lads i ring wexford gaa this moring and asked how far is wexford bus station from the wexford park and i was informed less than 15mins walk. Now coming home bus will leave station at 7.25p.m from station arrive in waterford at 8.20p.m depart at 8.50p.m and be back in limerick at 11.15p.m not too bad. So for those wo dont drive or usually take public transport to games their are buses running. weither you go by bus or car it is going to be a long journey. i for one am travelling to the game by bus. Supporters i urge you to make an effort to attend the game. limerick still have a chance to redeem themselves if we dont have a good run in the championship.the media critics and general public will have a field day a crtisise us again and again. i jusrt hope that the hulers could show us the passion and effort of the footballers and most of all the will to win. i know every county player and team puts in effort. just looking at the highlights of the cork v offaly game last sunday night it was evident from the spread of red in the crowd. i just hope that their is a good spread of green in wexford park and shouts of limerick limerick can go uo in the stand and we get behing our team. I was at the football final and the passionj shown by limerick fans was great we did our best coud have done with more though. Best of luck to limerick and the lads.

grounds73 (Limerick) - Posts: 17 - 08/07/2009 11:44:03    336964

Hurleycarrier, I just dont understant why Limerick can only get Laois. By your reckoning (and all goign well for Limerick) the 4 teams are Galway, Cork, Limerick and Laois and none of these teams have played each other in earlier rounds so why will there not be an open draw with the four teams? Why is it Laois? What am I missing?

Roll on Saturday!!!

ninja45 (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 08/07/2009 13:46:24    337187

ninja45-

The winners from phase 1 are paired against the winners from phase 2. Therefore, assuming Limerick and Galway win, It could only be Limerick v Laois and Cork v Galway because Galway and Laois have already played in the first round of the Leinster championship.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 08/07/2009 14:00:49    337216

Thanks Mick14 - I have it now :)

ninja45 (Limerick) - Posts: 12 - 08/07/2009 14:38:36    337311

Is it just me or is everyone else way more excited about this game than the waterford game. Maybe its the knock-out element or the fear of a relegation or the possibility of laois and dublin standing in the way of an all-ireland semi but this game has got me buzzing

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 08/07/2009 15:28:53    337396

Anyone know if RTE are showing this match on the internet

JohnnyBravo (Limerick) - Posts: 35 - 08/07/2009 15:43:56    337441

no its not on rte online.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 08/07/2009 16:01:28    337484

I think its just you SirShaughs thats excited about this more than the Waterford match. The 'hissyfitters' will break our hearts once again Sturday. If they dont, they will break it in the next match

bookie (Limerick) - Posts: 438 - 08/07/2009 16:07:26    337498

Bookie .

I been reading through your comments and they're all negative pops at the team . Your comments really aren't helpful . If you have nothing good to say then you really should not say anything at all . Switch your veiwpoint and think positive .

Luimneach Abú .

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 08/07/2009 16:45:03    337551

Agreed JeremyWendell - I think SirShaughs has the right mind frame to approaching the match. How can our hurlers show passion on the field when our own supporters can't even get behind them with postitive thinking. I for one am exciting about the match and I'll be in Wexford park shouting on the men representing our county. And I believe they will win it too. Far too much cynisism from our own camp these days. If its a bandwagon ye want I suggest rugby.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 08/07/2009 17:04:48    337582

It's exactly the likes of Bookie Limerick hurling can do without. A hurler on the ditch only too eager to criticise amatuer players who give their heart and soul for their county.

Mick_Mackey (Limerick) - Posts: 91 - 08/07/2009 17:10:48    337595

is the train not goin from Limerick to Wexford on saturdays ?

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 08/07/2009 17:14:42    337605

Hi Lads,Whats the craic with tickets for the match on Sat evening. I presume we can just pay cash to go into terrace?
On the match itself I think we will know after bout 10-15mins what way this is going to go. Its a 50-50game no more no less.
If we do win on Sat evening I would prefer to be tested the next day, ie.Cork or galway before we can even think about a semi final. If we are good enough we might aswell play these teams now if not its only prolonging the aggony! Put it another way I don't think we are in the top 4 in Munster not to mind Ireland.

4thofficial (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 08/07/2009 17:49:22    337680

tickets are pay on the day. They are 20 stand, 15 terrace. Wexford are expecting a big crowd so would recomend getting in before the football (that could be very dull game) Glad i'm not alone in the enthuasiasm stakes. We may not be one of the best 4 teams on paper but the right attitude can make up for alot of short comings.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 08/07/2009 19:14:09    337801

Why is there trouble every year in the hurling camp? Why is it that the whole hurling world expect a scandal out of Limerick every year? Manager trouble, player trouble, alcohol on the Dock rd trouble?
A couple of years ago the squad loved Richie when we beat Tipperary and the following year they wanted to hang him out to dry? Now theres talk of Justin's calls in Thurles and maybe he's not the man for the job.
All I ask is for the hurlers to go out and fight for their supporters and win down in Wexford. To do what asked of them by Justin and have pride in the jersey.
I for one dont want anymore heresay. Just do it!!!

bookie (Limerick) - Posts: 438 - 08/07/2009 21:19:33    337970

I like the way the Limerick build-up to this game is low key. This is going to be a tough game and a defeat would be a big blow to Limerick hurling. If we match Wexford's work rate and keep it tight in our backs, we might sneak it.
There was way too much space in front of our full back line the last day and this must be addressed.

TrueSport (Limerick) - Posts: 33 - 08/07/2009 22:24:04    338076