Limerick v Wexford

gusseraneman we will see. Wexford are no world beaters themselves. will be fairly tight but we will prevail. Lucey will eat your fat bearded full forward!!!

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 23/06/2009 19:48:26    321047

I wonder who's fingers they will try to break this time !! Seriously though we should win this game but not by much. We have gone down in the last 2 years but Wexford have dipped more. Wexford won't be easy away but if we are to be seen to making any progress under Justin we have to win this.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1145 - 24/06/2009 18:17:10    322070

Pinkie. Where would be a good place to stay over for the night,reasonably priced and centrally located?Have been to Wexford Park before but would like to make a night of it.

borderlad (Limerick) - Posts: 35 - 25/06/2009 06:09:39    322499

Lads, I have to agree with Gusseraneman. Where is this Limerick confidence coming from? Or the idea that we are a better side than Wexford? If we come away from Wexford Park with a point win, I'd be a really happy man. Wexford have a great record against us in championship hurling and they're a hard physical team. Wexford Park will be a fortress; no place for the faint-hearted. Limerick really need to be prepared for backs-to-the-wall stuff. Let's be realistic about it, Wexford (Div 2), Clare (Relegated), Offaly (Div 2) and the Dubs would, after our two showings against Waterford porbably all fancy their chances against us. And justifiably so. What teams did in the league or what division is tagged after their name is totally irrelevant come championship throw-in. I'm a lot more hopeful than confident. It's a big ask to take Wexford at home, but one, should we pull it off, that may actually get a lot of momentum going...

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 25/06/2009 06:59:54    322500

You could laugh but you could go camping for a night. Way cheaper than a hotel and caravan and camping park about 5 mins from wexford.

Why are Wexford being considered this huge mountain to climb and since when is wexford park a fortress?? if you ignore league form (which everyone does) then when was the last time they played a championship game there?? Ok they beat offally this year but i was at the league final and the standard there was shocking. Yes wexford will be tough to beat but we should be favourites to go through. (prob even money 2 point handicap) Wexford friend of mine said wexford were fortunate enough to be alot further behind to the dubs at half time last week. So yes wexford will be tough but they would rank well below waterford or clare or galway. THis is the best draw we could have got. I think we will win by 3. This is not overconfidence but everyone has a blind spot when it comes to there own county (heard dubs fans on newstalk on sunday night syaing how they would put it up to kilkenny!!!)

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 25/06/2009 13:46:13    322802

SirShaughs
County: Limerick

You are right everybody has a blind spot. Wexford have been put down in the press for years in relation to their decline however I think alot of this is a bit unfair. Our record in the championship in recent times is actually not that bad. We've been in 9 Leinster finals (I know Offaly have not been good and the Dubs really have only started to get the ball rolling). We lost to Waterford by 1 point last year take note what happened to Waterford in the final. We beat a hot Tip team the year before this and of course who hammered us (yes Kilkenny). If you take Kilkenny out of the equation we probably have a more consistent return than Limerick over the last 4 or 5 years. No we are not World beaters but where does Limerick come in? Not World Beaters I believe. They are probably at present the worst team in Munster (I think that is probably a fair comment although it might not go down well). As for Wexford if we play like we did against Offaly you won't beat us. Alot of the players who were our top performers in the Offaly game unfortunately did not perform for us against Dublin, Kehoe, Banville, and Waters. They were best on field against Offaly and then worst against Dublin. We have a couple of players getting back too.
It's funny everytime we play somebody they are always confident of beating us. Also I cannot see Wexford making the same mistake of giving away 7 points at home.
My only concern is, if we don't get a goal or two against ye we will be in trouble. Our defence has been pretty strong so far in relation to stopping the opposition getting goals.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 25/06/2009 22:19:24    323326

county man
County: Limerick

Cannot believe ye guys are still harping on about the Liam Dunne/Kirby incident.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 25/06/2009 22:20:24    323330

Like i said on the wexford forum if Limerick can get over the low confidence and self doubt then I would expect them to win convincingly. However there has been no evidence of such so far in the championship. Still i remain hopeful

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 26/06/2009 09:02:30    323563

Limerick to win easily enough.Justin McCarthy is no fool & this a young & coming Limerick team who will fear no-one.Wexford got beaten by an average Dublin team which it was in a sense good to see the Dubs getting to a leinster final & all-ireland quater final.Limerick should be in a Munster Final themselves shud have bate Waterford out the gate first day.No team in recent times has ever held Waterford scorelss from play in the second half not even KK.Get Shocks back on form Niall Moran banging over points & get rid of Breen from the starting 15 anyway (impact sub) he is more better that way & id give ye a shot at making the quaters.Keep Munster teams in this championship for as long as possible!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/06/2009 14:37:57    323987

Any truth in the news that ONLY 7 players bothered to turn up for training last night? Not all well in the camp yet again?

4thofficial (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 26/06/2009 16:45:35    324162

To 4th Official .

Look I realise that your only making an enquiry but that sort of enquiry is extremely unhelpful .

Do not be making something up out your mind just because you think it may be possible .

It's positive spin we need now not ngative .

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 26/06/2009 16:57:51    324180

jeremy i understand but its fine being positive all da time but if the players are not whats da point in us travelling all over da country supporting a team thats not interested or not happy..i for one will b travelling to wexford but as i said the news i heard didnt sound good yet again.. All da managers cant b wrong!

4thofficial (Limerick) - Posts: 20 - 27/06/2009 14:12:48    324742

All the managers arent wrong. Justin cany go out and take the 65's himself. The players must know that their are no excuses left. we have one of the best managers in the country right now. However they looked like a team giving their all over the last 2 games against waterford. Could be any number of reasons why a few missed a session. Keep faith (if only for now)

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 27/06/2009 19:27:12    324851

hey lads, have to say that ye're alot more optimistic than i though ye would be. justin is a fine manager, no one questions that, he's obviously building a team and i saw glimpses of promise against waterford - browne, moloney(especially), breen and ryan showed up well enough. hickey has the makings of a centre back of the makings of corcoran or mc mahon....good team in the making. few things must be admitted with regard to the wex match though. 1. stamp and rossiter will be back, they're both savage hurlers especially rossiter. 2. limerick forwards are terrible, just not clicking at all. shocks is a shadow of his former self. 3. wex lost narrowly to a fine dublin team, o'carroll, mc crabbe, rushe and dotsy callaghan would make almost any team and be the first names down for limerick. dub are now a serious force and i expect them to lose by five or six to kk and then reach an AI semi once they avoid cork and gal. 4. mark foley is not playing well,he should have retired. playing him beside geary is suicidal. stephen nolan or the likes could have him for breakfast at this stage. that's how i see it. hope it's a good game. beir bua.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 27/06/2009 21:01:01    324886

The brother text me there a while ago to tell me that Offaly beat Limk by 4 points over the weekend . Any views on this lads ? Anyone at the game ?

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 29/06/2009 11:55:13    326201

Limerick lost to Offaly 1.12 to 1.17 (i think). Dont know what the team was but from what ive heard no forward scored from play throughout the whole game (apart from Sheehan who came on as a sub and scored the goal in last few minutes). Not a great return from forwards coming up to the Wexford game.

Decie (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 29/06/2009 12:39:21    326282

Challenge games are pointless and meaningless. No idea who played and most likely they were put through a training session an hour before the game. Forget about it.

SirShaughs (Limerick) - Posts: 388 - 29/06/2009 13:11:34    326351

It is posted elsewhere that Limerick lost by seven, and would have lost by 13 except for two late goals.

habanerocat (Limerick) - Posts: 48 - 29/06/2009 13:31:23    326386

Borderlad, a good place to stay would probably be the Talbot hotel, right in the centre of the town and a residence bar Otherwise the Quality hotel is about 5 minutes drive out of the town centre, you will pass it on the way to Wexford. If ya have no joy with these come back to me!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/06/2009 13:36:30    326397

Lads, I think when all is said and done this is a game that can go either way. There is no clear favourite in this and it all depends on which team turns up and performs on the night. Home advantage is a huge bonus IMO, the crowd against Offaly really got behind them and that does help a lot. But I think people like Gusseraneman are just talking rubbish, this is an average Wexford team (and deservedly lost to a fine Dublin team, to not give credit where it's due to them is unfair because I think they might gain another scalp or two before the summer is out) but it is also an average Limerick team I think. Both teams have decent enough backs but the forwards seem to be where they struggle.
May the best team win.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/06/2009 13:44:43    326407